adding blinds controlled via relays

Post Reply
Adso76
Posts: 6
Joined: Tuesday 28 August 2018 21:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

adding blinds controlled via relays

Post by Adso76 » Wednesday 29 August 2018 19:17

I want to control blinds using two relays. I know how to do this using two separate switches in domoticz, however I'd like to use icon designed for blinds

Image

I don't know how to do this.

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 585
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: adding blinds controlled via relays

Post by StanHD » Wednesday 29 August 2018 23:17

For my Velux windows I also use 2 relays, so this may give you some ideas for your blinds.

To start with I made 2 virtual dummy Domoticz Push-Buttons to operate the relays:-

Image

They are defined with scripts to address relays 7 and 8 on an ETH008 Board (This will be different according to your chosen hardware):-

Image

The "Off Delay" is because the relays are providing a "Pulse" and this will return the relay to "Off" after 5 seconds.

I then made this virtual or dummy switch:-

Image

This triggers my relays with this Blockly:-

Image

Note:- I found that "On" and "Off" worked when I created this, but it was a long time ago so with improvements to Domoticz, the "Open" and "Close" options may work just as well.

So that's the basics that I use. You can then go on to automate using further scripting. Here is an example of how I automated my windows. This has developed over the last 3 - 4 years but works really well. (I realise that there are probably far more elegant ways of achieving all of the above and below, however, this all just works for me) ;)

Image

So in Floor Plan I have a timer that sets nominal operating times, the blinds switch, a set-point for opening temp, a position indicator, and most importantly an auto switch that I have on each and every Blockly for when it all goes "pear shaped" :D (Or I just want manual control)

Image

Hope this may help you a bit,
Domoticz is awesome. :)
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

Adso76
Posts: 6
Joined: Tuesday 28 August 2018 21:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: adding blinds controlled via relays

Post by Adso76 » Thursday 30 August 2018 16:56

Thanks! I made it.
Now how do I hide those dummy witches? When I click "switches" I want there only this switch for blinds.

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 585
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: adding blinds controlled via relays

Post by StanHD » Thursday 30 August 2018 17:15

Add them to "$Hidden Devices" Room Plan
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

Adso76
Posts: 6
Joined: Tuesday 28 August 2018 21:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: adding blinds controlled via relays

Post by Adso76 » Thursday 30 August 2018 17:24

Thanks, in the meantime I found other solution by adding "$" as the first character in the name.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest