P1 cable no data on Linux

Post Reply
mariobrosch
Posts: 10
Joined: Friday 17 August 2018 20:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest
Location: Barneveld
Contact:

P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by mariobrosch » Thursday 23 August 2018 7:20

Hi,

Intro
I come from Samsung SmartThing, but decided to move to Domoticz because I want to have more historical data and I want to have weather information in and outdoor and I want to have monitored my power and gas information.

I bought a Pi 3b+, installed domoticz, plugged in my Aeon G5 zwave stick and all works like a charm.

The problem
I installed the P1 cable in my smart meter (ISKRA AM550) and attached it to Domoticz. Selected the correct baud-rate and of course the correct port and waited for about 30 seconds in the devices tab, but nothing showed up. No gas, no power devices.

What I tried
Of course I tried several things to solve/isolate the issue:
  • In raspbian I tried the following command:

    Code: Select all

    sudo apt-get install cu minicom
    sudo cu -l /dev/ttyUSB0 -s 115200 --parity=none
    This just gives me the result 'CONNECTED' in the console and nothing happens
  • Installed domoticz on my Synology and tried here, but no devices showed up
  • On the raspberry-domoticz tried every possible settings combination. No result
  • Yes, my domoticz accepts new hardware in the settings
  • Connected to windows and used the application HyperTerminal to test the cable. It connected with my P1 meter and got readable data back. So the cable is just fine
  • Installed domoticz on windows, connected the COM3 port (since that was the correct port), but no new devices :shock: in domoticz
  • back to raspberry, tried other USB-ports, but no result.
  • Tried on the latest stable and the latest beta.
There is also a topic on tweakers.net which mentions about the same issue, but no luck.

Planned next step
Wait for your expertise and hope there is a solution.

peet3kabo
Posts: 38
Joined: Thursday 05 July 2018 17:29
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by peet3kabo » Thursday 23 August 2018 7:55

Did you add p1 smart meter usb under hardware manually?
That's what I did and then the new devices power gas and voltage showed.


Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G935F met Tapatalk


mariobrosch
Posts: 10
Joined: Friday 17 August 2018 20:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest
Location: Barneveld
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by mariobrosch » Thursday 23 August 2018 8:38

Yes, I added it through hardware. Is there another way?

tun0
Posts: 11
Joined: Saturday 28 July 2018 9:30
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by tun0 » Thursday 23 August 2018 18:59

Sounds like the wrong cable. Like with no or wrong resistor in it. That resistor gives a signal to the smart meter to have it actually report data.

Edit: scratch that. Overlooked the successful test on Windows.

mariobrosch
Posts: 10
Joined: Friday 17 August 2018 20:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest
Location: Barneveld
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by mariobrosch » Thursday 23 August 2018 19:01

tun0 wrote:Sounds like the wrong cable. Like with no or wrong resistor in it. That resistor gives a signal to the smart meter to have it actually report data.
But why do I get result in windows with that application?

tun0
Posts: 11
Joined: Saturday 28 July 2018 9:30
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by tun0 » Thursday 23 August 2018 19:04

Yeah, had overlooked that part. You sure you used same serial settings? Wouldn't surprise me if HyperTerminal would play some tricks under the hood. Step 1 would be to get it to work though cu/screen/whatever command line tool. Only once that shows proper data, then try to get it to work within domoticz. I assume you double checked that you use the right device in /dev/?

mariobrosch
Posts: 10
Joined: Friday 17 August 2018 20:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest
Location: Barneveld
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by mariobrosch » Thursday 23 August 2018 19:48

Yep, tried everything, also in command line

mariobrosch
Posts: 10
Joined: Friday 17 August 2018 20:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest
Location: Barneveld
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by mariobrosch » Friday 24 August 2018 13:40

bought a new cable and it worked instant

For everyones information. I first bought my cable on a second hand website where someone sells them even with my meter type in de description. Had many messages send and in the conversation he offered me to send the cable back (which I will) and receive my money back. He told me more people had the same sort of issues but he didnt know how to resolve. I now bought my cable on a official webstore and instant issue solved.

It's not my intention to put the first seller in a bad daylight, he probably sells them with the confidence of sending working cables and I am sure he doesnt have the intention of sell you junk. The margins are not that high and obviously he's not selling the cables to become rich with the sales. Im writing this because you have to know the story. I will get my money back of the first seller, so he is trust worthy.

tun0
Posts: 11
Joined: Saturday 28 July 2018 9:30
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by tun0 » Saturday 25 August 2018 11:40

Still curious why the "old" cable would work with HyperTerminal. Guess we'll never know ;-)

mariobrosch
Posts: 10
Joined: Friday 17 August 2018 20:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest
Location: Barneveld
Contact:

Re: P1 cable no data on Linux

Post by mariobrosch » Monday 27 August 2018 9:15

Had a response from the supplier from Marktplaats. He told me someone else of his customers had it working with the following: https://github.com/nrocco/smeterd

Didnt try it for myself since i have a working cable now and am sending his cable back

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests