Switch & timer activation -beginners question

Post Reply
RoelofS
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 05 August 2018 22:46
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Switch & timer activation -beginners question

Post by RoelofS » Sunday 05 August 2018 23:09

Hello,
with the help of my son I have installed Domoticz on my Windows PC. or rather on a Synology-NAS connected to my windows PC.
It communicates with a (Chinese) Xiaomi Gateway device, which sends & receives data from temperature sensors, door-sensors,
and (Philips Hue) lamps/dimmers. Most of the system works as intended....
My question relates to the timer function in the "switches" application in Domoticz.
I can switch the (Philips HUe) lamps on & off by hand (clicking on the lamp icon ); I can control the dimming function , I can set "ON" and "OFF' times in the "Timers" window of the respective Switch in Domoticz... but the lamps don't switch On or OFF at all at the times I set them to...which is evident when you look at the lamp, but also the log file indicates no timer induced action whatsoever, only the "hand" commands...
I did tick the "enable" box in the "timers" window, set "everyday", clicked "update" - what more can I do ?
I tried multiple options of the timer settings - Sunrise , On Time,
which hidden box am I missing?
thanks for your help,
RoelofS
Synology-NAS, Windows, Xiaomi Gateway

SweetPants
Posts: 2397
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.10267
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Switch & timer activation -beginners question

Post by SweetPants » Monday 06 August 2018 8:29

Have you setup your location: Setup->Settings->Location?
Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

RoelofS
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 05 August 2018 22:46
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Switch & timer activation -beginners question

Post by RoelofS » Monday 06 August 2018 15:15

I tried, but the system refuses to accept it, ie it ignores it. I can let the system "automaticallly" find my location/ longitude & latitude.
Going out of the "setting" mode, and then back into it, the location is already forgotten. I can't find the "confirm new location" button, if there is such thing.
RoelofS
Synology-NAS, Windows, Xiaomi Gateway

SweetPants
Posts: 2397
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.10267
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Switch & timer activation -beginners question

Post by SweetPants » Monday 06 August 2018 15:33

Tried "Apply Settings" after change?
Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

RoelofS
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 05 August 2018 22:46
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Switch & timer activation -beginners question

Post by RoelofS » Monday 06 August 2018 16:36

I just did... couldn't find that button; because it was hidden under a persistent "update now" window that I couldn't get rid of!! ( see my question
"Update endless loop" )
I was able to temporarily remove that box, and then saw the thusfar hidden button that I had a strong feeling must be somewhere....
I'm still trying to get the "update now" window removed; it keeps reappearing. My current D. version# is V3.8153
Clicking on "Update Now" doesn't work (entering loop...) nor does "update Domoticz" under the Setup pulldown menu..
At least I can watch this evening if my system knows the sunset time now, and activates my outdoor light appropriately.
Thanks anyway, you confirmed my suspicion that there must be an "apply" button...
RoelofS

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests