v 4.9700 - Start as a s'Service' & Cannot create/edit scenes

On various Hardware and OS systems: pi / windows / routers / nas, etc
Post Reply
KevinR
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday 07 May 2016 22:10
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

v 4.9700 - Start as a s'Service' & Cannot create/edit scenes

Post by KevinR » Sunday 29 July 2018 9:25

1) In Windows 10 ,I uninstalled a working v.8153, reboot, then installed 4.9700 no problem, selecting 'Run as a Service.

Then restored my Domoticz database from a backup, and cleared the browser cache (Chrome). Reboot Windows.

Result - No switches or scenes.

2) Did same again, but without selecting 'Run as a Service'.

Result - All switches and Scenes available and working, but....Cannot create/edit scenes.


Anyone have experience of or a fix for this, please?

User avatar
waaren
Posts: 1061
Joined: Tuesday 03 January 2017 15:18
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: v 4.9700 - Start as a s'Service' & Cannot create/edit scenes

Post by waaren » Sunday 29 July 2018 10:18

KevinR wrote:
Sunday 29 July 2018 9:25
1) In Windows 10 ,I uninstalled a working v.8153, reboot, then installed 4.9700 no problem, selecting 'Run as a Service.

Then restored my Domoticz database from a backup, and cleared the browser cache (Chrome). Reboot Windows.

Result - No switches or scenes.

2) Did same again, but without selecting 'Run as a Service'.

Result - All switches and Scenes available and working, but....Cannot create/edit scenes.


Anyone have experience of or a fix for this, please?
A lot of the problems users experience after a domoticz update are gone when the browsercache and appcache are cleared. There are also quite a number of posts on this forum related to these kind of problems.

To summarize and sorted from little effort to a bit more effort take these steps and check after each step if it address the issues you encounter.

- clear browser cache and appcache
Chrome: chrome://appcache-internals/#
Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/storage

- in www/js look for domoticz.js.gz, if its there remove it, (KEEP domoticz.js !! )
- use incognito mode using
Chrome [control] [shift] n
Firefox: [control] [shift] p

- restart domoticz
- rename the location of the original installation and install the new version to an empty target directory. Next copy database and scripts from the old location and fire it up.


Hope this will also solve your problem.
Raspberry (debian stretch via berryboot on Synology DS916+) , Domoticz (almost) latest Beta, , dzVents 2.6, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Harmony, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, HomeWizard, Zwave, Amazon echo

KevinR
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday 07 May 2016 22:10
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: v 4.9700 - Start as a s'Service' & Cannot create/edit scenes

Post by KevinR » Friday 03 August 2018 8:20

Hi waaren,
Many thanks for the reply.

Followed your guidance and have 4.9700 running with all my switches/scenes restored from a backup, and can edit as required.

However, it will not work if I install Domoticz as 'Run As A Service'.

Any Ideas?

KevinR
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday 07 May 2016 22:10
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: v 4.9700 - Start as a s'Service' & Cannot create/edit scenes

Post by KevinR » Friday 03 August 2018 9:11

Hi waaren,
Solved starting Domotixz after a reboot by adding Domoticz to the Windows Common Startup folder.

Now working well.

Thanks for your input.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests