Is it possible to use Pi GPIO & Domoticz as an existing alarm keyswitch?

Topics (not sure which fora)
when not sure where to post, post here and mods will move it to right forum.
Post Reply
leecollings
Posts: 146
Joined: Tuesday 30 June 2015 18:09
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Is it possible to use Pi GPIO & Domoticz as an existing alarm keyswitch?

Post by leecollings » Thursday 28 June 2018 17:23

I have an existing home alarm, which allows Zone 8 to be configured to be a keyswitch which allows setting and unsetting of the alarm.

The idea here is to have a security wall switch that when held open for a set amount of time activates the set / unset action.

I was thinking of utilising the GPIO ports of the Pi, and connecting to this zone and wondering if a switch in Domoticz can set one of the GPIO pins to send a voltage for the set time the alarm requires for the action.

Is this possible?

In the manual it states when using Zone 8 as a keyswitch:
Open = ON, Closed = OFF
Turn and hold for 0.5 sec = FULL SET
Turn and hold for 2.3 sec = PART SET

Any ideas on how to do this?


Alarm is a Intellisense 800L

User avatar
Antori91
Posts: 79
Joined: Sunday 12 February 2017 18:12
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to use Pi GPIO & Domoticz as an existing alarm keyswitch?

Post by Antori91 » Friday 29 June 2018 12:18

Based on my own experience, I assume you have to use a relay. The Raspberry GPIO is going to be used to control the relay and the relay output (N-NC) are connected to your alarm (two pins on your alarm pin connector).
IntelliSense800 keyswitch wiring.JPG
IntelliSense800 keyswitch wiring.JPG (43.57 KiB) Viewed 168 times

leecollings
Posts: 146
Joined: Tuesday 30 June 2015 18:09
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to use Pi GPIO & Domoticz as an existing alarm keyswitch?

Post by leecollings » Monday 02 July 2018 13:33

Any information / idea as to what this relay would look like, it's size? functionality / costing?

Is it possible first of all to be able to control the GPIO pins to be on/off for a set amount of time in Domoticz?

User avatar
Antori91
Posts: 79
Joined: Sunday 12 February 2017 18:12
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to use Pi GPIO & Domoticz as an existing alarm keyswitch?

Post by Antori91 » Monday 02 July 2018 19:35

leecollings wrote:
Monday 02 July 2018 13:33
Any information / idea as to what this relay would look like, it's size? functionality / costing?

Is it possible first of all to be able to control the GPIO pins to be on/off for a set amount of time in Domoticz?
You can use low cost chinese relay like this one : https://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B00YGP ... UTF8&psc=1

leecollings
Posts: 146
Joined: Tuesday 30 June 2015 18:09
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to use Pi GPIO & Domoticz as an existing alarm keyswitch?

Post by leecollings » Friday 06 July 2018 16:15

Hmm okay thanks for the info.

I'm getting a clearer picture of what I need to try and do this. Logistics and placement of the Pi and the alarm are now the issue, as they're in different rooms.

I've found some relay hats, that mention they are high output... I don't want to send anything high voltage down to the alarm, as it's just imitating a PIR sensor that open/closes the circuit when switched on or off.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Raspberry-Expa ... +relay+hat

so I've found this, and imagine just connecting a two core cable from one of the relays, into Zone 8 of the alarm. Based on the documentation of the alarm above, what connections are needed, and would the power issue I mentioned be a concern?

leecollings
Posts: 146
Joined: Tuesday 30 June 2015 18:09
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to use Pi GPIO & Domoticz as an existing alarm keyswitch?

Post by leecollings » Friday 06 July 2018 16:17

Sorry, I'v just realised it was you who posted the alarm documentation, and mentioned N-NC - would that be common and normally closed?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest