No log on latest betas Topic is solved

Please use template to report bugs and problems. Post here your questions when not sure where else to post
Only for bugs in the Domoticz application! other problems go in different subforums!
Forum rules
Before posting here, make sure you are on the latest Beta or Stable version.
If you have problems related to the web gui, clear your browser cache + appcache first.

Use the following template when posting here:

Version: xxxx
Platform: xxxx
Plugin/Hardware: xxxx
Description:
.....

If you are having problems with scripts/blockly, always post the script (in a spoiler or code tag) or screenshots of your blockly

If you are replying, please do not quote images/code from the first post

Please mark your topic as Solved when the problem is solved.
Post Reply
mrkrabs
Posts: 42
Joined: Sunday 12 March 2017 15:42
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9589
Contact:

No log on latest betas

Post by mrkrabs » Saturday 09 June 2018 8:09

Hi,

Version: 9599 (happened on previous release as well)
Platform: latest raspbian strech
Plugin/Hardware: All plugins are disabled/rasperry pi zero w

Currently domoticz do not log anything when started with loglevel=0. nothing was changed from my side apart from updating to latest beta, so it must be something in that release as 2 days ago logging was working fine. is someone experiencing the same behavior?

SweetPants
Posts: 2404
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.10270
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by SweetPants » Saturday 09 June 2018 8:41

I'm not sure if you can select 0 anymore.

domoticz --help shows:

-loglevel (combination of: normal,status,error,debug)
Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

Xztraz
Posts: 136
Joined: Tuesday 31 January 2017 22:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by Xztraz » Saturday 09 June 2018 15:19

had same problem. only start and stop logging with loglevel 0

"loglevel normal" works fine
Thanks!

Corrected the wiki to say normal

gerardosamara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sunday 23 October 2016 19:49
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9701
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by gerardosamara » Monday 11 June 2018 19:39

Hi ,

I had the same issue on the beta 9625 .

The domoticz manual also has to be updated page 8 :

Command Line parameters
The following command line parameters are available:

loglevel (0 =All, 1 =Stat us+Erro r, 2 =Erro r)

Thank you
Domoticz Remote server RPi3B+ & WD PI Drive Beta V4.9701 , Domoticz Slave Beta RPI3B V4.9701 + App Android Domoticz Lite V0.1.452 & Imperihome Pro V40107
Zwave+ Z Stick Z90 USB dongle + USB300 Ocean GW dongle

jake
Posts: 492
Joined: Saturday 30 May 2015 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by jake » Wednesday 13 June 2018 22:15

I change the domoticz.sh file from "loglevel 0" to "loglevel normal". This makes the log 'tick' again. However, I used to see the updates of all devices, but in the 'Status' tab in a green font all the 'status' of script output. This used to be nice to have a better focus on the 'status' log lines.

Only when I make it into "loglevel status", I see plenty of status messages, but zero device updates.

Is this behaviour for both settings normal? Does it differ from the "loglevel 0"?

jake
Posts: 492
Joined: Saturday 30 May 2015 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by jake » Monday 18 June 2018 7:37

jake wrote:I change the domoticz.sh file from "loglevel 0" to "loglevel normal". This makes the log 'tick' again. However, I used to see the updates of all devices, but in the 'Status' tab in a green font all the 'status' of script output. This used to be nice to have a better focus on the 'status' log lines.

Only when I make it into "loglevel status", I see plenty of status messages, but zero device updates.

Is this behaviour for both settings normal? Does it differ from the "loglevel 0"?
Should I use multiple statements, like 'loglevel normal, status, error' or something like that? I already tried the previous sentence, but that gives the same result as 'loglevel normal', only the normal logging.

Sergio
Posts: 58
Joined: Friday 12 December 2014 14:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9639
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by Sergio » Monday 18 June 2018 21:53

With no logs, are you referring to the log to disk or the Log page in the web gui?
I have a completely empty Log page since the "hiding error tab" change was introduced. Of course I've cleared cache and appcache several times.

SweetPants
Posts: 2404
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.10270
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by SweetPants » Monday 18 June 2018 22:30

Sergio wrote:
Monday 18 June 2018 21:53
With no logs, are you referring to the log to disk or the Log page in the web gui?
I have a completely empty Log page since the "hiding error tab" change was introduced. Of course I've cleared cache and appcache several times.
Do you see messages in domoticz.log?
Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

Sergio
Posts: 58
Joined: Friday 12 December 2014 14:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9639
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by Sergio » Monday 18 June 2018 22:43

No. But I'm using tmpfs. I'll investigate if the symlink is missing.

Enviado desde mi MI 5s Plus mediante Tapatalk


jake
Posts: 492
Joined: Saturday 30 May 2015 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by jake » Monday 18 June 2018 23:45

SweetPants wrote:
Sergio wrote:
Monday 18 June 2018 21:53
With no logs, are you referring to the log to disk or the Log page in the web gui?
I have a completely empty Log page since the "hiding error tab" change was introduced. Of course I've cleared cache and appcache several times.
Do you see messages in domoticz.log?
With loglevel normal I see the same log lines in the GUI as in domoticz.log.

However, print commands of lua scripts etc are not visible anymore. Normally a weather script throws in a few error lines a day, because it is running for more than 10 seconds. I now see none of that.

SweetPants
Posts: 2404
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.10270
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by SweetPants » Tuesday 19 June 2018 8:31

Try setting -loglevel normal,status,error
Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

jake
Posts: 492
Joined: Saturday 30 May 2015 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by jake » Tuesday 19 June 2018 9:09

SweetPants wrote:
Tuesday 19 June 2018 8:31
Try setting -loglevel normal,status,error
Thanks, that's it! I tried already "-loglevel normal, status, error" and I am pretty sure that this didn't work. Now I skipped the spaces in between normal, status and error, it does work. I finally have the status messages back.

sineverba
Posts: 26
Joined: Saturday 22 July 2017 17:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by sineverba » Tuesday 19 June 2018 17:43

Sergio wrote:
Monday 18 June 2018 21:53
[...]I have a completely empty Log page since the "hiding error tab" change was introduced. Of course I've cleared cache and appcache several times.
I'm also missing the error tab... where is the new option??? Thank you

Sergio
Posts: 58
Joined: Friday 12 December 2014 14:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9639
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by Sergio » Tuesday 19 June 2018 18:04

It's supposedly hidden until you've got an error.
sineverba wrote: I'm also missing the error tab... where is the new option??? Thank you


Enviado desde mi MI 5s Plus mediante Tapatalk


sineverba
Posts: 26
Joined: Saturday 22 July 2017 17:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by sineverba » Tuesday 19 June 2018 19:38

@Sergio right, I can confirm.
Thank you

SweetPants
Posts: 2404
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.10270
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by SweetPants » Tuesday 19 June 2018 19:42

Sergio wrote:
Tuesday 19 June 2018 18:04
It's supposedly hidden until you've got an error.
sineverba wrote: I'm also missing the error tab... where is the new option??? Thank you


Enviado desde mi MI 5s Plus mediante Tapatalk
Did you ever read the posts before? viewtopic.php?f=6&t=23773#p183897 The solutions is in there
Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

sineverba
Posts: 26
Joined: Saturday 22 July 2017 17:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: No log on latest betas

Post by sineverba » Wednesday 20 June 2018 0:52

Yes Sweet Pants. And I thanked the answer.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest