Tado Thermostat plugin

For heating/cooling related questions in Domoticz
dotms
Posts: 28
Joined: Monday 01 May 2017 22:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by dotms » Monday 30 April 2018 19:04

As of recently Tado support is available in the development versions of Domoticz.

In order to keep the feedback a bit channeled I created this topic to collect issues and suggestions.

This plugin is based on the my.tado.com web application. Unfortunately Tado does not offer an official API so all functionality is using the unofficial API. Subsequently this can result in things breaking if Tado decides to change things around. Let's hope they don't and will eventually provide a stable API (it's on their roadmap after all).

Current features implemented:
  • Zone setpoint
  • Zone temperature/humidity
  • Zone away
  • Zone Heating On (is zone currently being heated)
  • Zone heating power %
  • Zone heating enabled (is zone allowed to turn on heating)
  • Zone manual setpoint override (turn off only)
This plugin is currently in development (by me) and I'm trying to figure out what features/use cases would make sense and which don't.

Note that I work on this plugin quite irregularly so there might be some time without (meaningful) responses or between plugin updates.
Last edited by dotms on Friday 11 May 2018 21:11, edited 1 time in total.

dotms
Posts: 28
Joined: Monday 01 May 2017 22:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by dotms » Monday 30 April 2018 19:10

rjblake@github wrote:really appreciate your effort and work on this. I 'turned it on' yesterday and working well. In looking to replace my PHP script, wondered if you would consider the following enhancements:

Away indicator - change from switch to alert. Also with additional parameter for proximity (currently I have these as Home, Close and Away)
Outside temperature - since Tado already reports this, it is possibly one less call to Wunderground or OpenWeather
Away: I'll see if I can implement something that provides the actual status. Switch to alert wouldn't be too useful though imho, unsure what it would add. If you want to respond to status changes I'd suggest you use blockly or lua to act on a device event.

Outside temperature: should be doable. I think I saw this coming along with some other information in certain API responses.
Last edited by dotms on Monday 30 April 2018 20:54, edited 1 time in total.

rjblake
Posts: 153
Joined: Friday 21 October 2016 9:25
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by rjblake » Monday 30 April 2018 20:24

Thanks for all your hard work and brilliant that you picked this up. The changes/suggestions I made are not critical in any way, but perhaps some logic as follows:

Away Indicator - having this as an alert allows for simple logic to be used on status changes and more importantly allows for more than an On/Off status (e.g. if from Away to Close, it'll know you're heading in the direction of home) and can act on that as a different action. Can also be done in dzVents or Lua programs). Also, regards setting proximity, this comes from the API "/api/v2/homes/<homeID>/users" and the "relativeDistanceFromHomeFence"

Outside Temp/Weather - this comes from the "/api/v2/homes/<homeID>/weather" API response. It'll return the following (for example):

Code: Select all

{
	"solarIntensity": {
		"type": "PERCENTAGE",
		"percentage": 6.50,
		"timestamp": "2018-04-30T17:52:26.384Z"
	},
	"outsideTemperature": {
		"celsius": 7.49,
		"fahrenheit": 45.48,
		"timestamp": "2018-04-30T17:52:26.384Z",
		"type": "TEMPERATURE",
		"precision": {
			"celsius": 0.01,
			"fahrenheit": 0.01
		}
	},
	"weatherState": {
		"type": "WEATHER_STATE",
		"value": "DRIZZLE",
		"timestamp": "2018-04-30T17:52:26.384Z"
	}
}
From what I've seen, the following 'Weather_State' can be returned (not sure if this is complete):

night_clear, night_cloudy, cloudy, cloudy_mostly, cloudy_partly, foggy, drizzle, scattered_rain, rain, snow, thunderstorms, sun, windy,

dotms
Posts: 28
Joined: Monday 01 May 2017 22:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by dotms » Monday 30 April 2018 23:03

Thank you, this is helpful. I'll take a look at it when I get the chance.

Also in the works is implementing a setting where the override mode when changing the setpoint for a zone (schedule/timer/ until manually ended) can be configured.

pnieuwla
Posts: 1
Joined: Sunday 06 May 2018 22:29
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by pnieuwla » Sunday 06 May 2018 22:34

Strange. I can see tado as hardware in the list and can select it, but when I click 'add' the tado is not added as hardware. Any other item I select is added succesfully. I am running v3.9379

Onrust
Posts: 42
Joined: Saturday 24 June 2017 10:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9208
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by Onrust » Thursday 10 May 2018 16:03

dotms wrote:
Monday 30 April 2018 19:04
As of recently Tado support is available in the development versions of Domoticz.
I assume you're saying it's available in the beta release, right? Or is a development version something else? :oops:

dotms
Posts: 28
Joined: Monday 01 May 2017 22:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by dotms » Thursday 10 May 2018 16:05

I'm not entirely sure what defines a beta release. I was referring to the git development branch (which may very well be the same thing).

Onrust
Posts: 42
Joined: Saturday 24 June 2017 10:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9208
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by Onrust » Thursday 10 May 2018 23:08

Just decided to update my Domoticz test system to the latest beta an yes, it appears to be 'Tado enabled'! :D So this is really really cool! Thnx for creating this!

manutremo
Posts: 48
Joined: Saturday 19 November 2016 18:02
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by manutremo » Friday 11 May 2018 19:35

Plugin installed on my Domoticz over Synology and working perfect over here! Available for testing :D

markk
Posts: 433
Joined: Tuesday 14 January 2014 15:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by markk » Sunday 13 May 2018 0:25

Hi. I just updated to the latest beta and added the Tado hardware on my windows test machine, added my my.tado.com details but no data is received. I get this error in the log:
2018-05-12 23:21:16.569 Tado: StartHardware() called.
2018-05-12 23:21:16.570 Tado: Init() called.
2018-05-12 23:21:16.571 Tado: Worker started. Will poll every 30 seconds.
2018-05-12 23:21:21.790 Tado: Attempting login.
2018-05-12 23:21:22.026 Tado: Retrieved webapp environment from API.
2018-05-12 23:21:22.566 Error: Tado: GetAuthToken: Received token is zero length.

Any idea what might be wrong please?
Running Domoticz on Pi3 with RFXtrx433e. LWRF power sockets and dimmer switches. Integrated my existing wirefree alarm PIRs and door contacts with domoticz. Geofencing with Pilot. Harmony Hub. Tado for Heating. Now playing with mysensors.

dotms
Posts: 28
Joined: Monday 01 May 2017 22:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by dotms » Sunday 13 May 2018 10:32

Since you got the environment data from My Tado it shows that your Domoticz installation is able to access the internet.

Getting this error either means that Tado has an issue or authentication is failing. Can you please double check that your username/password is correct (no spaces or line feeds leading or trailing). Do you happen to have any special characters in your password which might get sent incorrectly?

markk
Posts: 433
Joined: Tuesday 14 January 2014 15:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by markk » Sunday 13 May 2018 11:10

So sorry, schoolboy error, I did have a digit wrong in my password :oops:

I've now corrected this and all the devices from my Tado heating and two Tado cooling devices have been found and added to Domoticz. thanks for this. i'll have a play with this over the next few days.
Running Domoticz on Pi3 with RFXtrx433e. LWRF power sockets and dimmer switches. Integrated my existing wirefree alarm PIRs and door contacts with domoticz. Geofencing with Pilot. Harmony Hub. Tado for Heating. Now playing with mysensors.

Onrust
Posts: 42
Joined: Saturday 24 June 2017 10:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9208
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by Onrust » Saturday 19 May 2018 12:47

Despite the higher temps these days I have been testing this plugin and it seems to be working very nicely.

One request though: When I set 'Heating enabled' to Off, it goes into 'Until next automatic change' (in Dutch: 'Tot de volgende automatische verandering'). It would be nice to be able to set it to 'Until ended by user' or any of the other modes manually from within Domoticz. Otherwise it starts to follow my heating schedule again during the evening, which might lead to a heated living room in the morning. Nice in winter, but totally unnecessary in summer, even if temperature drops below 20 or so.

dotms
Posts: 28
Joined: Monday 01 May 2017 22:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by dotms » Tuesday 22 May 2018 12:15

@Onrust: I agree. In some cases the scheduling mode that is currently hardcoded in the plugin is not desirable. The difficulty is that I cannot just say "leave it as is". When setting a new setpoint I am required to specify one of the modes (schedule/until manually ended/timer). For the initial release I opted for schedule.

I'm planning on implementing this as a configurable switch.

Onrust
Posts: 42
Joined: Saturday 24 June 2017 10:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.9208
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by Onrust » Saturday 26 May 2018 10:47

dotms wrote:
Tuesday 22 May 2018 12:15
I'm planning on implementing this as a configurable switch.
Nice!

Jabes
Posts: 6
Joined: Friday 08 June 2018 23:03
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by Jabes » Friday 08 June 2018 23:07

I ditched my tado heating, but have it controlling my ACs in my house. The temperature/humidity devices seem to work and correspond to my evohome devices in the same room. My AC devices seem to have been picked up as a "lighting 2" type "heating enabled", but I've just added them to switches to see if this corresponds to the on/off - assuming we have a hot day soon!

dotms
Posts: 28
Joined: Monday 01 May 2017 22:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by dotms » Wednesday 13 June 2018 18:42

Happy to hear if they work correctly. As I do not have the luxury of a Tado-controlled cooling system I'm curious how it will work in practice :)

Jabes
Posts: 6
Joined: Friday 08 June 2018 23:03
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by Jabes » Saturday 16 June 2018 18:50

Air conditioning on/off switch logging doesn't appear to be working (ie I can't see when it is turning on/off through a switch). I can add you as a user to my tado account if this would help? Or anything else I can do to debug this?

Jabes
Posts: 6
Joined: Friday 08 June 2018 23:03
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by Jabes » Tuesday 19 June 2018 17:57

Looking at this further, I guess you aren't able to see when the device is actually on/off as that isn't revealed in the web interface.

gcannar
Posts: 1
Joined: Sunday 01 July 2018 16:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Post by gcannar » Sunday 01 July 2018 16:28

pnieuwla wrote:
Sunday 06 May 2018 22:34
Strange. I can see tado as hardware in the list and can select it, but when I click 'add' the tado is not added as hardware. Any other item I select is added succesfully. I am running v3.9379
Same thing to me...looking deep i see that in my domoticz/config/ there is no Tad plugin folder...

Any clues?

Thanks. G.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DarkG, l0gic, mvzut and 1 guest