Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Topics (not sure which fora)
when not sure where to post, post here and mods will move it to right forum.
Post Reply
rowanbradley
Posts: 33
Joined: Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:28
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.9025
Location: Newmarket, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by rowanbradley » Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:36

I have just installed Domoticz, so am early in the learning process. Can I use it to read temperatures from a OneWire (Dallas/Maxim protocol) sensor? I have a DS9490R USB to OneWire adapter (which I think creates a virtual serial port). Do I need any additional hardware or software to make this work? If so, where do I get it from?

If this doesn't exist at present, can I write a driver for the OneWire temp sensor? What is involved in this? What tool chain do I need, what language do I write in, are there documents explaining what I have to code in the driver?

Thanks - Rowan

SweetPants
Posts: 2250
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.9999
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by SweetPants » Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:54

Did you search the forum already? There is a lot of information about OneWire support
Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

rowanbradley
Posts: 33
Joined: Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:28
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.9025
Location: Newmarket, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by rowanbradley » Thursday 08 March 2018 13:22

SweetPants wrote:
Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:54
Did you search the forum already? There is a lot of information about OneWire support
Yes, I tried. Much of the information in the forum is concerned with running on an Arduino or a Rasp-Pi, which is (I imagine) very different to trying to run on Windows, which I am. If there is a relevant discussion that will help me, please can you point me to it?

Thanks - Rowan

SweetPants
Posts: 2250
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.9999
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by SweetPants » Saturday 10 March 2018 13:27

As far as I can see there is no 1-wire interface to domoticz for Windows, you need a raspberry PI for that. I'm not 100% sure when you add a domoticz slave (raspberry PI with 1-wrie) will work.
Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

rowanbradley
Posts: 33
Joined: Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:28
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.9025
Location: Newmarket, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by rowanbradley » Saturday 10 March 2018 13:42

Surely some people would find this useful?

Surely it can't be that difficult to do? I can use the DS9490R USB-to-OneWire interface, which I believe emulates a serial port...

If it doesn't exist, can I write this extension to Domoticz myself? Is there some documentation and sample code for starting Domoticz development? What tool chain do I need to use? What language do I need to write in?

Thanks - Rowan

SweetPants
Posts: 2250
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 21:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.9999
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by SweetPants » Saturday 10 March 2018 13:47

rowanbradley wrote:
Saturday 10 March 2018 13:42
If it doesn't exist, can I write this extension to Domoticz myself?
Yes you can, it's an open source project https://github.com/domoticz/domoticz
rowanbradley wrote:
Saturday 10 March 2018 13:42
Is there some documentation and sample code for starting Domoticz development? What tool chain do I need to use? What language do I need to write in?
See https://github.com/domoticz/domoticz, language is C++
Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS, Intel NUC, MySensors 2.3.0-alpha, Pro Mini 3.3/8M RFM69(HW), ESP8266 (SDK2.2.0), Sonoff, RFLink, RFXcom, MQTT, NodeRed, Domoticz Beta (from source)

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 584
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by StanHD » Sunday 11 March 2018 12:11

Have you checked out the Domoyicz wiki? I used to have 1-wire working under Windows. (Replaced now with Z-wave Fibaro module which accepts the 1-wire temperature sensors).
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

rowanbradley
Posts: 33
Joined: Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:28
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.9025
Location: Newmarket, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by rowanbradley » Sunday 11 March 2018 13:47

I just checked the Wiki. It told me where to find a file called OneWireDomoticzServiceInstaller.msi, but when I go to this location, there is no such file. Where do I find this file?

Thanks - Rowan

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 584
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by StanHD » Sunday 11 March 2018 15:53

rowanbradley wrote:I just checked the Wiki. It told me where to find a file called OneWireDomoticzServiceInstaller.msi, but when I go to this location, there is no such file. Where do I find this file?

Thanks - Rowan
Have sent you a PM.
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

akost
Posts: 2
Joined: Tuesday 12 June 2018 23:48
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by akost » Tuesday 12 June 2018 23:57

Hi,

I'm in the same situation as Rowan. Have also find the link/information about OneWireDomoticzServiceInstaller.msi but no file. Did the PM sent to Rowan solved the problem? Any information that can be shared to others with the same problem?

BR,

Akost

akost
Posts: 2
Joined: Tuesday 12 June 2018 23:48
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Can I use Domoticz with Onewire sensors?

Post by akost » Friday 15 June 2018 19:02

Thanks for your PM Rowan,

I'm not allowed to send any PM (yet?) but I will let you know how I get on with the 1-wire. If weather is poor here in Sweden I will have some time over for some testing...

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests