Adjustment for humidity values

Use this forum to discuss possible implementation of a new feature before opening a ticket.
A developer shall edit the topic title with "[xxx]" where xxx is the id of the accompanying tracker id.
Duplicate posts about the same id. +1 posts are not allowed.
Post Reply
janegils
Posts: 30
Joined: Thursday 03 October 2013 18:05
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Adjustment for humidity values

Post by janegils » Thursday 13 March 2014 11:07

I can see that when you click on 'edit' for a temp/humidity sensor you can enter an adjustment for the temperature readings.
But there seems to be not possible to enter adjustments for the humidity value, which would be even more useful since humidity sensors tend to be rather inaccurate.
A precision of +/-5% is fairly common.
As an example: I have two Esic temp/hum. sensors on my table now, and the temp. readings are identical, but the humidity values have a 9% difference.

Would others like to see this implemented?
Running Domoticz on Ubuntu Linux server
RFXCOM_Transceiver
Aeon Labs Z-Stick S2

User avatar
elythomaslumber
Posts: 305
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 13:29
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Solingen; Germany
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by elythomaslumber » Thursday 13 March 2014 19:19

9% is a big difference; but is the difference linear meaning always 9%?
Makes only sense to have an offset if the difference is always the same.

Regards

Hardy
Raspberry Pi & Domoticz 3.8153
RFXCOM FW1022
Wall panel APPLE iPAD 3.generation
Fritz!Box 7590 & Eurotronic COMET DECT Thermostat
https://www.qrz.com/db/DK5LH

janegils
Posts: 30
Joined: Thursday 03 October 2013 18:05
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by janegils » Thursday 13 March 2014 20:29

Well, with som testing one can find the average offset, and at least get closer to the truth...
Running Domoticz on Ubuntu Linux server
RFXCOM_Transceiver
Aeon Labs Z-Stick S2

marin849
Posts: 75
Joined: Tuesday 27 May 2014 10:36
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 2.4xxx
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by marin849 » Monday 19 January 2015 1:24

There are usually both an ofset and a scaling error!

I have just compared 15 sensors against each other. Tested sensors are the quite common Proove TSS320,Viking 02812. Both are using the Viking 2035/2038 protocol. Also 4 Viking temperature only sensors.

All of them are within +-0,5C for temperatures between 0-20C, and with ofset correction this is reduced to +-0.2. With linear correction its perfect. Of course it should be calibrated over a bigger interval than I did.

The humidity varies more: +-5% uncorrected. This is a lot since it means that one sensor can show 65% and another 75% which could be critical when monitoring or controlling humidity for corrosion or mold growth. With ofset corretion it is about +-3% and with linear about +-1,2%. The middle humidity point does look strange, maybe I had to short settling time on that one...

So with these observations linear correction would be really nice, especially for humidity!
Image

User avatar
ThinkPad
Posts: 1754
Joined: Tuesday 30 September 2014 8:49
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by ThinkPad » Tuesday 24 November 2015 11:43

I would also like to see this.
I have a Z-Wave sensor with combined temperature and humidity status, i can correct the temperature, but not the humidity (which is about 10% off from two other sensors).
ThinkTheme - theme for Domoticz
My (Dutch) blog: http://thinkpad.tweakblogs.net - My Domoticz scripts: Bitbucket
I'm not (very) active anymore on this forum as i don't use Domoticz anymore.

sharif
Posts: 17
Joined: Sunday 28 August 2016 17:48
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.5574
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by sharif » Tuesday 20 September 2016 21:18

Is this feature on the roadmap?

I got few sensors which are showing about 7% more humidity and I would like to adjust this value/offset.
Only thing I can adjust at the moment is temperature (as already stated)

michib
Posts: 6
Joined: Sunday 15 January 2017 13:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by michib » Sunday 22 January 2017 18:59

+1 for the correction feature for humidity values.

kubrik
Posts: 54
Joined: Wednesday 30 November 2016 16:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by kubrik » Thursday 02 March 2017 0:41

+1

mayyam
Posts: 50
Joined: Saturday 14 January 2017 12:29
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by mayyam » Thursday 02 March 2017 6:22

+1

____
may
_______________
- Raspberry Pi 3
- RFLink 433Mhz / NRF 2.4GHz
- 2x Xiaomi Gateway
- different species of ESP8266

StratosHF
Posts: 23
Joined: Sunday 18 September 2016 18:33
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by StratosHF » Monday 18 September 2017 9:55

+1

zhoblom
Posts: 1
Joined: Tuesday 07 November 2017 1:54
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by zhoblom » Wednesday 08 November 2017 5:39

Yeah, that would be a tremendously helpful feature. It's ironic that temperature sensors that are nowadays pretty accurate can be offset-calibrated, but humidity ones can not.

Interestingly, there is provision in the code to do that. There is already AddjValue and AddjMulti for temperature, but similar block for humidity (using AddjValue2 and AddjMulti2 columns from DeviceStatus table) is there, but disabled:

Code: Select all

/*
        AddjValue=0.0f;
        AddjMulti=1.0f;
        m_sql.GetAddjustment2(HwdID, ID.c_str(),Unit,devType,subType,AddjValue,AddjMulti);
        Humidity+=int(AddjValue);
        if (Humidity>100)
                Humidity=100;
        if (Humidity<0)
                Humidity=0;
*/
It seems to me that at least for experimentation purposes and for local builds uncommenting this block and then just populating correct AddjValue2 and AddjMulti2 for a specific device in the DeviceStatus table (using sqlite3 command line utility for example) will suffice.

Also note that DB schema allows for two-point calibration, not just one offset, as in the GUI. So with a few extra lines of code one can get even better results than just offsetting humidity by a fixed offset.

Of course, adding GUI support would be some extra work on top.

pa3gmi
Posts: 12
Joined: Monday 11 June 2018 20:48
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Location: Dinteloord Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by pa3gmi » Wednesday 20 June 2018 19:15

Also would like this option.

mpx2
Posts: 17
Joined: Friday 21 September 2018 18:28
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Adjustment for humidity values

Post by mpx2 » Sunday 07 October 2018 20:31

I think that setting two reference points like 11 % and 75 % with offsets is enough.

[video]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGycwfeHH_k[/video]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests