Sky HD Box Test

Topics (not sure which fora)
when not sure where to post, post here and mods will move it to right forum.
leecollings
Posts: 174
Joined: Tuesday 30 June 2015 18:09
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by leecollings » Tuesday 21 November 2017 0:48

Hey guys,

I saw my name wa mentioned! My ears were burning.

I'd love to be able to contribute this if I can, I'm not sure how though, I'm not a coder, however I'd love to see a native Domoticz plugin for controlling Sky box.

From what I've used of Dal's stuff, the sky-remote-cli was the most useful for me for sending simple commands to a box in a script, however there was a lag in firing, finding the box and performing the action (usually around 5 - 10 seconds).

The main plugin was much better although that required a daemon running to be constantly connected to the box.

Is there any active progress on a plugin being developed?

User avatar
C4rtm4N
Posts: 73
Joined: Saturday 07 February 2015 22:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by C4rtm4N » Sunday 10 December 2017 15:36

I decided to revisit this topic yesterday to see if there was an easy way of detecting whether the Sky box was on or not. Thankfully I've found one which may be of interest to others, especially if a plugin is eventually going to be written.

Sky allow you to easily send a photo of resolution 1280x720 to your box and rather conveniently it returns an http code of 200 when the box is on, 404 if it's in standby. Even if a non-existent jpg is sent then the resultant codes are the same :)

As I mentioned I'd been specifically looking for a way to power my TV on as it doesn't have WOL functionality and this does the job perfectly (using Dal's Sky remote CLI). I'm seeing no delays, in fact I needed to throttle the commands as I was sending them too quick. If the box is already on I'm turning it off then back on as that triggers my TV to turn itself on.

There are other topics on the forum re sending messages to the TV screen - by having a number of different jpgs available this method will help out with those too :D

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
SkyStatus=`curl -i -s -o /dev/null -w "%{http_code}"  'http://SKYBOXADDRESS:49159/photo-viewing/start?uri=http://IPOFYOURCHOICE/null.jpg'`
echo $SkyStatus
if [[ $SkyStatus -eq '200' ]]; then
	sleep 0.5
	curl 'http://SKYBOXADDRESS:49159/photo-viewing/stop'
	sky-remote-cli SKYBOXADDRESS power
	echo "Power Off"
	sleep 1
fi

echo $SkyStatus
sky-remote-cli SKYBOXADDRESS power
echo "Power On"	

lolouk44
Posts: 3
Joined: Friday 05 August 2016 15:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by lolouk44 » Thursday 01 March 2018 15:52

Heyy C4rtm4N,

You're awesome, I've been looking for a way to get the status of my Sky box for such a long time, and your script work really well.
THANK YOU :)

lolouk44
Posts: 3
Joined: Friday 05 August 2016 15:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by lolouk44 » Thursday 01 March 2018 17:01

Any idea why it won't run as root?
as ny normal user it works, but as root I get:
sky_hd_status.sh: [[: not found

dextm80
Posts: 138
Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 4.10159
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by dextm80 » Thursday 01 November 2018 19:45

lolouk44 wrote:
Thursday 01 March 2018 17:01
Any idea why it won't run as root?
as ny normal user it works, but as root I get:
sky_hd_status.sh: [[: not found
sudo bash sky_hd_status.sh
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge

dextm80
Posts: 138
Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 4.10159
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by dextm80 » Thursday 01 November 2018 20:08

i've a MYSKY hd on demand. There is a way to check the status of the box?
i tried sky-remote-cli but nothing happends
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge

dextm80
Posts: 138
Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 4.10159
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by dextm80 » Sunday 02 December 2018 20:19

dextm80 wrote:
Thursday 01 November 2018 20:08
i've a MYSKY hd on demand. There is a way to check the status of the box?
i tried sky-remote-cli but nothing happends
no news? :)
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge

User avatar
C4rtm4N
Posts: 73
Joined: Saturday 07 February 2015 22:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by C4rtm4N » Tuesday 04 December 2018 0:40

What do you mean by Mysky HD on demand?

If it is a normal Sky HD box then I posted a script previously in this thread that can work out whether the box is in standby or not. Does it not work?

If it is Sky Q then I have no idea whether it will work or not as I don't have that service to test.

dextm80
Posts: 138
Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 4.10159
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by dextm80 » Tuesday 04 December 2018 0:45

C4rtm4N wrote:
Tuesday 04 December 2018 0:40
What do you mean by Mysky HD on demand?

If it is a normal Sky HD box then I posted a script previously in this thread that can work out whether the box is in standby or not. Does it not work?

If it is Sky Q then I have no idea whether it will work or not as I don't have that service to test.
Yes, it doesn't work :(

i've this decoder (pace):
xdecodersky.jpg.pagespeed.ic.UIw-U9U6V1.jpg
xdecodersky.jpg.pagespeed.ic.UIw-U9U6V1.jpg (12.26 KiB) Viewed 59 times
Can you help me to set your script?
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge

User avatar
C4rtm4N
Posts: 73
Joined: Saturday 07 February 2015 22:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by C4rtm4N » Tuesday 04 December 2018 1:01

What code do you get if you run this? Replace SKYBOXADDRESS with the IP of your Sky box, you don't need to replace the IPOFYOURCHOICE part for testing.

Code: Select all

curl -i -s -o /dev/null -w "%{http_code}"  'http://SKYBOXADDRESS:49159/photo-viewing/start?uri=http://IPOFYOURCHOICE/null.jpg'
If it's 200 then it means that the Sky Box is on, if it's 404 then it's off.

Your box looks to be a newer model than mine so there is a chance that they disabled this functionality now.

dextm80
Posts: 138
Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 4.10159
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by dextm80 » Tuesday 04 December 2018 1:06

C4rtm4N wrote:
Tuesday 04 December 2018 1:01
What code do you get if you run this? Replace SKYBOXADDRESS with the IP of your Sky box, you don't need to replace the IPOFYOURCHOICE part for testing.

Code: Select all

curl -i -s -o /dev/null -w "%{http_code}"  'http://SKYBOXADDRESS:49159/photo-viewing/start?uri=http://IPOFYOURCHOICE/null.jpg'
If it's 200 then it means that the Sky Box is on, if it's 404 then it's off.

Your box looks to be a newer model than mine so there is a chance that they disabled this functionality now.
Hi, thank you. When i try this line code nothing appends...
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge

User avatar
C4rtm4N
Posts: 73
Joined: Saturday 07 February 2015 22:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by C4rtm4N » Tuesday 04 December 2018 1:17

Looks like they changed things with their new box then :(

I assume that the box doesn't ping (neither of mine do although from memory they used to so Sky are clearly making functionality changes in their firmware) ?

Will sky-remote-cli change channels etc or is it totally dead too?

dextm80
Posts: 138
Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 4.10159
Contact:

Re: Sky HD Box Test

Post by dextm80 » Tuesday 04 December 2018 1:22

C4rtm4N wrote:
Tuesday 04 December 2018 1:17
Looks like they changed things with their new box then :(

I assume that the box doesn't ping (neither of mine do although from memory they used to so Sky are clearly making functionality changes in their firmware) ?

Will sky-remote-cli change channels etc or is it totally dead too?
Yes, i can’t ping my box, it is totally dead too
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: al300kr and 2 guests