Cheap chinese z-wave products

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz
Nautilus
Posts: 666
Joined: Friday 02 October 2015 12:12
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Nautilus » Monday 04 September 2017 14:11

nmaster wrote:
Monday 04 September 2017 14:02
I have no issue for CR123A, CR2 or 14250 batteries I use rechargeables ones successfully on mutiple devices.
Out of curiosity, which kind of rechargeables are you using, especially with CR123A? When I was looking into this, I found they are hard to come by especially with a correct voltage so that the (security related) devices would work reliably? Would be very nice to find some good rechargeable options...:)

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Monday 04 September 2017 14:35

nmaster wrote:
Monday 04 September 2017 14:02
OK LouiS22,

I already have power plugs and water leak sensors from NEO, giving me good results.

Now, I'm extending my home automation system with motion sensors and door sensors.

As I red, NEO devices have some parameters that can be adjusted contrary to Heiman ones.

I have no issue for CR123A, CR2 or 14250 batteries I use rechargeables ones successfully on mutiple devices.

So for now I will try NEO motion sensor and Door sensor.

But I probably order Temp / Hum sensors from Heiman.
If you take my advice (and also mischa's, according to his review), you won't buy it! Heiman's temphum sensor is a battery eater. I got mine 3 weeks ago and the battery is nearly empty now! (I ordered rechargeable CR batteries for it). While it's temperature sensor seems ok (I've tested with 2 other sensors next to it, the results were pretty the same), I really don't think it's ok to empty a battery within a month. It's probably ok in a place where temperature and humidity is not changing so often (so it doesn't measure and send it again and again), but in a place where conditions are changing, it's a no go. My advice: take a 433 mhz sensor (if you have RFXCOM/RFLINK), or build one with an ESP8266 (much more fun :) ).

User avatar
Westcott
Posts: 542
Joined: Tuesday 09 December 2014 18:04
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: UK - Glos
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Westcott » Monday 04 September 2017 14:37

What you want is LiFePO4 rechargeables.
They have the same voltage as the non-rechargeable ones.
In my Fibaro motion sensors they last over 3 months.
I bought 4 complete with the matching charger.
Ordinary Li-on chargers won't work.
Zwave - Sigma Z+ stick, Fibaro 2x FGSD002, FGMS001, Horstmann - 2x HRT4, 2x C-stat-11,
4x ASR-ZW, Aeon Micro Switch, 2x TKB TZ68E
Max-EQ Cube, Valve
RFXtrx433E, RFlink - 1byone driveway, doorbell, Oregon and BangGood temp
Wifi - YeeLight RGB, 3x ESP8266

Nautilus
Posts: 666
Joined: Friday 02 October 2015 12:12
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Nautilus » Monday 04 September 2017 14:45

Westcott wrote:
Monday 04 September 2017 14:37
What you want is LiFePO4 rechargeables.
They have the same voltage as the non-rechargeable ones.
In my Fibaro motion sensors they last over 3 months.
I bought 4 complete with the matching charger.
Ordinary Li-on chargers won't work.
Thanks, any suggestions on where to buy? Would be most excellent if you could provide a link to a suitable product e.g. in Aliexpress or similar..:D

nmaster
Posts: 101
Joined: Saturday 16 August 2014 17:17
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6304
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by nmaster » Tuesday 05 September 2017 10:23

Hi Nautilus, I use LifePO4 batteries like this ones:

https://www.fasttech.com/product/1134102

nmaster
Posts: 101
Joined: Saturday 16 August 2014 17:17
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6304
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by nmaster » Tuesday 05 September 2017 10:34

Hi LouiS22,

Yes you are right for temp / hum sensor from Heiman, I misenderstood the battery issues because of the update notice at the begining of the review talking about Zwave+ compatibility.

As Zwave+ enable devices to use less engergy I thought the issue was more or less resolved, it was a misinterpretation on my part.

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Wednesday 13 September 2017 21:59

FYI, just provided xml for Neo Coolcam 1 channel light switch into openzwave. Should be in domoticz after Gizmocouz updates domoticz's database.

Goldwing1973
Posts: 105
Joined: Monday 08 August 2016 22:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Netherlands, Alphen aan den Rijn
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Goldwing1973 » Wednesday 13 September 2017 22:24

westd001 wrote:
Saturday 19 August 2017 23:45
Hi guys,

I just made my own xml definitions for the Neo Coolcam NAS-SC 2 channel wall switch EU version because I can't find them on theOpen Zwave alliance site or Github. I am now able to switch off the LEDS. It's not exactly as described in the manual but I managed to switch them off. Here is the code,

In the manufacturer_specific.xml file I added this line at the end of the Neo Coolcam part:

Code: Select all

<Product type="0003" id="108b" name="Dual channel wallswitch" config="shenzen_neo/nas-sc02.xml"/>
and I added file nas-sc02.xml to the folder /home/pi/domoticz/Config/shenzen_neo with the following content:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Product xmlns='http://code.google.com/p/open-zwave/'>
  <!--
  Shenzhen NEO Electronics (Neo-CoolCam) Smart Power Plug
  http://products.z-wavealliance.org/products/xxxx
  -->
  <!-- Configuration Parameters -->
  <CommandClass id="112">
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="1" label="Back light Enable" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the back light state of the touch button.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="2" label="Relay On/Off indicate" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the relay state.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="3" label="Relay On/Off States Saved Enable" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the on/off status of relay needs to be saved.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="4" label="Root Device Mapped Setting" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the relay state.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
  </CommandClass>
  <!-- Association Groups -->
  <CommandClass id="133">
    <Associations num_groups="3">
      <Group index="1" max_associations="5" label="Lifeline"/>
      <Group index="2" max_associations="5" label="Sending Report Endpoint 1"/>
      <Group index="3" max_associations="5" label="Sending Report Endpoint 2"/>
    </Associations>
  </CommandClass>
</Product>
I wait for the official files but for the time being its OK for me.

Have fun with it.

Regards
JJ

Thanks alot, it works like a charm, only strange thing, i get 3 on/off devices, Switch 1, Switch 2 and Switch 3.
Both Switch 2 and 3 control the same button.


[Turn On] 318 Aeon Labs Z-Wave+ USB 00001203 1 BG Woonkamer Switch 3 Light/Switch Switch Off - - [Set Unused] [Rename Device] [Log] 2017-09-12 16:53:41
[Turn Off] 317 Aeon Labs Z-Wave+ USB 00001202 1 BG Woonkamer Switch 2 Light/Switch Switch On - - [Set Unused] [Rename Device] [Log] 2017-09-13 21:58:38
[Turn On] 316 Aeon Labs Z-Wave+ USB 00001201 1 BG Woonkamer Switch 1 Light/Switch Switch Off - - [Set Unused] [Rename Device] [Log] 2017-09-13 21:58:04

But again, it works great, i ordered a couple more during the AliExpress sale. (€18,80 a piece) so i can replace all the wall switches with these cool switches.
Over 50 Z-Wave Devices (Fibaro and Neo), 4xLogitech Hub, 2xPhilips Hue Bridge+55 Lights, 1x Nest Thermostat, 2xNetatmo Weather Station, 1xSkybell v1 Doorbell, 3 Kwikset KEVO Doorlocks and Domoticz running on a Intel NUC

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Thursday 14 September 2017 8:53

Goldwing1973 wrote:
Wednesday 13 September 2017 22:24
westd001 wrote:
Saturday 19 August 2017 23:45
Hi guys,

I just made my own xml definitions for the Neo Coolcam NAS-SC 2 channel wall switch EU version because I can't find them on theOpen Zwave alliance site or Github. I am now able to switch off the LEDS. It's not exactly as described in the manual but I managed to switch them off. Here is the code,

In the manufacturer_specific.xml file I added this line at the end of the Neo Coolcam part:

Code: Select all

<Product type="0003" id="108b" name="Dual channel wallswitch" config="shenzen_neo/nas-sc02.xml"/>
and I added file nas-sc02.xml to the folder /home/pi/domoticz/Config/shenzen_neo with the following content:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Product xmlns='http://code.google.com/p/open-zwave/'>
  <!--
  Shenzhen NEO Electronics (Neo-CoolCam) Smart Power Plug
  http://products.z-wavealliance.org/products/xxxx
  -->
  <!-- Configuration Parameters -->
  <CommandClass id="112">
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="1" label="Back light Enable" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the back light state of the touch button.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="2" label="Relay On/Off indicate" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the relay state.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="3" label="Relay On/Off States Saved Enable" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the on/off status of relay needs to be saved.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="4" label="Root Device Mapped Setting" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the relay state.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
  </CommandClass>
  <!-- Association Groups -->
  <CommandClass id="133">
    <Associations num_groups="3">
      <Group index="1" max_associations="5" label="Lifeline"/>
      <Group index="2" max_associations="5" label="Sending Report Endpoint 1"/>
      <Group index="3" max_associations="5" label="Sending Report Endpoint 2"/>
    </Associations>
  </CommandClass>
</Product>
I wait for the official files but for the time being its OK for me.

Have fun with it.

Regards
JJ

Thanks alot, it works like a charm, only strange thing, i get 3 on/off devices, Switch 1, Switch 2 and Switch 3.
Both Switch 2 and 3 control the same button.


[Turn On] 318 Aeon Labs Z-Wave+ USB 00001203 1 BG Woonkamer Switch 3 Light/Switch Switch Off - - [Set Unused] [Rename Device] [Log] 2017-09-12 16:53:41
[Turn Off] 317 Aeon Labs Z-Wave+ USB 00001202 1 BG Woonkamer Switch 2 Light/Switch Switch On - - [Set Unused] [Rename Device] [Log] 2017-09-13 21:58:38
[Turn On] 316 Aeon Labs Z-Wave+ USB 00001201 1 BG Woonkamer Switch 1 Light/Switch Switch Off - - [Set Unused] [Rename Device] [Log] 2017-09-13 21:58:04

But again, it works great, i ordered a couple more during the AliExpress sale. (€18,80 a piece) so i can replace all the wall switches with these cool switches.
Yes, Indeed, and as far as I remember, the 1 channel one also created two identical devices. Not a biggie, deleted one, using the other. The important thing that it's working :D

Goldwing1973
Posts: 105
Joined: Monday 08 August 2016 22:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Netherlands, Alphen aan den Rijn
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Goldwing1973 » Thursday 14 September 2017 14:10

Today i recieved my iHomecam Motion Sensors, hoping that they would be recognized in Domoticz.
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Z-wave-P ... 65201.html

But as you might have guessed, they show up like this "Z-Wave+ node Reporting Sleeping Slave Home Security Sensor Kaipule Unknown: type=0003, id=0002"

Does anyone have a working XML file for this PIR sensor?

And does anyone know if its possible to disable the LED in the PIR? i want to put this one in a bedroom but don't want a red flashing light every time i turn in my bed.
Over 50 Z-Wave Devices (Fibaro and Neo), 4xLogitech Hub, 2xPhilips Hue Bridge+55 Lights, 1x Nest Thermostat, 2xNetatmo Weather Station, 1xSkybell v1 Doorbell, 3 Kwikset KEVO Doorlocks and Domoticz running on a Intel NUC

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Thursday 14 September 2017 14:41

Goldwing1973 wrote:
Thursday 14 September 2017 14:10
Today i recieved my iHomecam Motion Sensors, hoping that they would be recognized in Domoticz.
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Z-wave-P ... 65201.html

But as you might have guessed, they show up like this "Z-Wave+ node Reporting Sleeping Slave Home Security Sensor Kaipule Unknown: type=0003, id=0002"

Does anyone have a working XML file for this PIR sensor?

And does anyone know if its possible to disable the LED in the PIR? i want to put this one in a bedroom but don't want a red flashing light every time i turn in my bed.
Maybe you should read the manual (hopefully they provided one). If it contains references to the LED off, then it's probably possible.
As for the xml: this sensor doesn't look familiar (you can check the z-wave certified devices at the zwave alliance website). This is one of the downsides ordering from China: you take the cheapest ones, but it could be a cheap clone with counterfreit chips, etc. This doesn't mean it's not working, but it's hard to get supported by openzwave (if it's a counterfeit chipped one, they won't let you include it in openzwave database, because they don't want a legal case).
The id you provided ('type=0003, id=0002") belongs to a smart mini plug by permundo.

My advice: next time read back here to see there was a chatter about the specific device or not, or try to compare the product photo with the zwave alliance database.

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 719
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by sincze » Sunday 15 October 2017 14:45

Anyone having the NEO coolcam powerplugs connected to their refrigerator or freezer to monitor energy usage ? Some answers within this thread seem to go for a no-go. And others for a no go at all for the NEO powerplugs. Currently I have several attached to low power using appliances max 500w. The Quooker with 1800w is the max.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

geezerrr
Posts: 126
Joined: Tuesday 02 December 2014 23:16
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by geezerrr » Tuesday 17 October 2017 13:28

Yes I have! Working very well! One remark it’s a a+++ freezer. Max usage 170watt Image

User avatar
blacksn0w
Posts: 96
Joined: Friday 10 March 2017 23:27
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by blacksn0w » Tuesday 17 October 2017 14:14

Same here, using them with my fridge too.
Until today never had any issues with any of the 15 plugs ive installed in my system.
This post was made with ♥ in Cologne. Raspberry Pi 3B (with SSD), Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5, RFLink R47, MiHome

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 719
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by sincze » Tuesday 17 October 2017 20:02

Tnx guys. You just gave me a new project for the cooler and freezer.

Only problem is now I have to buy additional plugs for all the other stuff.

During night (lights off) time I am still using 300w... 50w I figured out already the mediaportal tv-server now probably the server room with all the switches / ups and WiFi on each floor will use some juice as well..

How much is still a mystery... Can't switch them off anyway :)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Tuesday 17 October 2017 20:52

sincze wrote:
Tuesday 17 October 2017 20:02
Tnx guys. You just gave me a new project for the cooler and freezer.

Only problem is now I have to buy additional plugs for all the other stuff.

During night (lights off) time I am still using 300w... 50w I figured out already the mediaportal tv-server now probably the server room with all the switches / ups and WiFi on each floor will use some juice as well..

How much is still a mystery... Can't switch them off anyway :)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Though you can plug them one by one into a smartplug, monitor them a few days to se how much they're using. Then plug into another device and so on. It's cheaper than buying several outlets :D

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 719
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by sincze » Friday 20 October 2017 11:34

LouiS22 wrote:
Tuesday 17 October 2017 20:52
Though you can plug them one by one into a smartplug, monitor them a few days to se how much they're using. Then plug into another device and so on. It's cheaper than buying several outlets :D
O so true indeed, but I like the graphs a little :D to much.
And I read in this long thread somewhere the NEO Cool don't like to get moved around.. the little screw inside 'breaks'.
Don't want to risk that ofcourse.
Koelkast.png
Graph
Koelkast.png (123.03 KiB) Viewed 491 times
Well we just have to wait for some discounts.
The Xiaomi power plugs are much cheaper, however... they don't fit in the EU sockets and if you are using adapters they seem to become realling big. Causing: "WAF = 0"
Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Friday 20 October 2017 16:06

sincze wrote:
Friday 20 October 2017 11:34
LouiS22 wrote:
Tuesday 17 October 2017 20:52
Though you can plug them one by one into a smartplug, monitor them a few days to se how much they're using. Then plug into another device and so on. It's cheaper than buying several outlets :D
O so true indeed, but I like the graphs a little :D to much.
And I read in this long thread somewhere the NEO Cool don't like to get moved around.. the little screw inside 'breaks'.
Don't want to risk that ofcourse.

Koelkast.png

Well we just have to wait for some discounts.
The Xiaomi power plugs are much cheaper, however... they don't fit in the EU sockets and if you are using adapters they seem to become realling big. Causing: "WAF = 0"
Have a try with Heiman's socket. Word of warning: it's kinda big, so it could be a problem fitting it into tight space.

N1co
Posts: 6
Joined: Thursday 26 January 2017 16:49
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by N1co » Tuesday 24 October 2017 12:02

I have a neo coolcam door sensor now for a month, but battery level is still at 100%. This can not be possible right?

TheCondor
Posts: 31
Joined: Thursday 18 June 2015 10:32
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by TheCondor » Wednesday 25 October 2017 12:42

I've a domux/heiman flood sensor, correctly paired and recognized. By the way every two days it turns ON without any logic. I already tried to repair, reset etc etc but nothing change. Stays off for two-three days and after.... bang, ON without sense.
Could be a fault unit or maybe an error in the xml? The flood parameter in the OWZW web gui is always at 254...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bink, leby and 7 guests