Cheap chinese z-wave products

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz
User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Saturday 01 July 2017 8:44

havnegata wrote:Thanks for the feedback! I have a general question about testing a smoke detector. Apart from pressing a test button, how do one actually test if a detector works?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Just an idea: burn a piece of paper next the sensor, etc.

User avatar
gielie
Posts: 172
Joined: Tuesday 12 January 2016 12:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest β
Location: The Netherlands (Alkmaar)
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by gielie » Saturday 01 July 2017 9:50

havnegata wrote:Thanks for the feedback! I have a general question about testing a smoke detector. Apart from pressing a test button, how do one actually test if a detector works?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Make an automatic signal to the fire department and then set your house on fire.
- Vision ZU1401 USB Stick
- Aeotec MultiSensor 6
- FIBARO FGS222
- FIBARO FGWPE Wall Plug
- Everspring AN157
- Neo CoolCam Power plug
- Neo CoolCam PIR Sensor
- Popp Smoke Detector
- Toon
- Kodi Media Server

User avatar
EddyG
Posts: 124
Joined: Monday 02 November 2015 6:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by EddyG » Sunday 02 July 2017 13:01

I saw that in openzwave the manufacturer ID of Domux is now 0x021c and Heiman is 0x0260
Regards,
Eddy

Slorf
Posts: 64
Joined: Friday 20 December 2013 12:55
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: Voorburg
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Slorf » Monday 03 July 2017 21:37

To come back about how to test your smokealarms without burning your house.

There are spraycans for sale ( I got one ), just spray the stuff ( don't know whats in there ) on the detector and it should go off.

https://www.google.nl/search?q=smoke+de ... 92&bih=882

Regards

Alex
A lot of stuff :[-)

Orange PI
Evohome with HGI-80
SmartMeter USB Cable
Solar panels
RFLINK 433 MHz
AeonLabs usb z-wave plus
My Sensors ( Lan Gateway )
Wemos sensors
Arduino sensors

User avatar
gtbuchanan
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 21 July 2017 21:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.7988
Location: Texas, United States
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by gtbuchanan » Friday 21 July 2017 22:09

LouiS22 wrote:
blacksn0w wrote:Just bought 2 plugs for 24$ each at Fasttech a few days ago, now they are 21$ at AliExpress... Think i have to order them there too :lol:
Wonder if it's a stock cleanup and sign of new, upgraded/better versions arriving soon?
I have a suspicion this is the case due to the fairly new Z-Wave Alliance security mandate for S2 support [1]. Manufacturers may be prepping new devices for this.

The new NEO Coolcam Motion Sensor (NAS-PD02Z [2]) isn't registered with the Z-Wave Alliance, even though NEO's other devices are. I imagine it's because the new device does not adhere to the mandate.

I've emailed support at NEO to find out if their existing devices already have S2 support, if they plan on manufacturing new devices to add S2 support, and to see if they plan on registering the NAS-PD02Z device. I was planning on purchasing a bunch of NEO devices, but now I might wait and see if some more secure devices are released.

[1]: http://z-wavealliance.org/mandatory-sec ... fect-today
[2]: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/NEO-COO ... 00186.html
Domoticz master on ODROID-C2 with Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Saturday 22 July 2017 17:32

gtbuchanan wrote:
LouiS22 wrote:
blacksn0w wrote:Just bought 2 plugs for 24$ each at Fasttech a few days ago, now they are 21$ at AliExpress... Think i have to order them there too :lol:
Wonder if it's a stock cleanup and sign of new, upgraded/better versions arriving soon?
I have a suspicion this is the case due to the fairly new Z-Wave Alliance security mandate for S2 support [1]. Manufacturers may be prepping new devices for this.

The new NEO Coolcam Motion Sensor (NAS-PD02Z [2]) isn't registered with the Z-Wave Alliance, even though NEO's other devices are. I imagine it's because the new device does not adhere to the mandate.

I've emailed support at NEO to find out if their existing devices already have S2 support, if they plan on manufacturing new devices to add S2 support, and to see if they plan on registering the NAS-PD02Z device. I was planning on purchasing a bunch of NEO devices, but now I might wait and see if some more secure devices are released.

[1]: http://z-wavealliance.org/mandatory-sec ... fect-today
[2]: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/NEO-COO ... 00186.html
Will Z-Wave devices that existed previously be able to upgrade to the S2 framework?

Wijgergangs: Yes. Not only will devices with S2 be able to be included in an existing network using the previous security model, Z-Wave devices featuring the 500 Series chipset that’s upgradeable over-the-air (OTA) can be upgraded to 6.7x and utilize the S2 framework. Z-Wave will always be backward- and forward-compatible regardless of the upgrades in future versions.

As an example, if the controller or hub within the network upgraded to S2, an existing device (i.e., door lock) will be able to be included as a S2 device if it’s upgraded. It’s even able to utilize existing nodes in the network as a repeater for the necessary S2 commands and messages. We expect manufacturers to be rolling out device updates and new certified Z-Wave devices with S2 within the coming months.

http://www.electronicdesign.com/embedde ... ty-support

But it's up to manufacturers to release a FW upgrade. Personally I've never seen an OTA FW update to any z-wave stuff, even Fibaro, Aeotec, etc. It's much more easy to stay: buy our new, upgraded, etc... device.

User avatar
havnegata
Posts: 108
Joined: Wednesday 10 September 2014 11:05
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: v3.6953
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by havnegata » Sunday 23 July 2017 18:11

Slorf wrote:To come back about how to test your smokealarms without burning your house.

There are spraycans for sale ( I got one ), just spray the stuff ( don't know whats in there ) on the detector and it should go off.

https://www.google.nl/search?q=smoke+de ... 92&bih=882

Regards

Alex
Thanks!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

User avatar
gtbuchanan
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 21 July 2017 21:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.7988
Location: Texas, United States
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by gtbuchanan » Monday 24 July 2017 16:52

LouiS22 wrote:Will Z-Wave devices that existed previously be able to upgrade to the S2 framework?

Wijgergangs: Yes. Not only will devices with S2 be able to be included in an existing network using the previous security model, Z-Wave devices featuring the 500 Series chipset that’s upgradeable over-the-air (OTA) can be upgraded to 6.7x and utilize the S2 framework. Z-Wave will always be backward- and forward-compatible regardless of the upgrades in future versions.

As an example, if the controller or hub within the network upgraded to S2, an existing device (i.e., door lock) will be able to be included as a S2 device if it’s upgraded. It’s even able to utilize existing nodes in the network as a repeater for the necessary S2 commands and messages. We expect manufacturers to be rolling out device updates and new certified Z-Wave devices with S2 within the coming months.

http://www.electronicdesign.com/embedde ... ty-support

But it's up to manufacturers to release a FW upgrade. Personally I've never seen an OTA FW update to any z-wave stuff, even Fibaro, Aeotec, etc. It's much more easy to stay: buy our new, upgraded, etc... device.
Good points. You're right in that it appears manufacturers are more likely to release new devices with S0/S2 support rather than release FW updates (which is what I was hinting at). I contacted Dome Home Automation about S0/S2 support for devices other than their door/window sensor (which already supports S0) and they had this to say:
Like we did with the Door Sensor and Door Sensor Pro we hope to add newer, better products that are overall improvements and will include security

Regards,
Michael S
Additionally, some of the cheaper devices (e.g. NEO) don't appear to have the "Firmware Update MD V2" command class built-in. I don't know enough about Z-Wave yet to know if this is just a more "advanced" command class for FW updates, or if this command class is required for any FW updates. Either way, I don't imagine we'll get major upgrades via FW. Most likely just bug fixes, if that.
Domoticz master on ODROID-C2 with Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Tuesday 25 July 2017 9:22

gtbuchanan wrote:
LouiS22 wrote:Will Z-Wave devices that existed previously be able to upgrade to the S2 framework?

Wijgergangs: Yes. Not only will devices with S2 be able to be included in an existing network using the previous security model, Z-Wave devices featuring the 500 Series chipset that’s upgradeable over-the-air (OTA) can be upgraded to 6.7x and utilize the S2 framework. Z-Wave will always be backward- and forward-compatible regardless of the upgrades in future versions.

As an example, if the controller or hub within the network upgraded to S2, an existing device (i.e., door lock) will be able to be included as a S2 device if it’s upgraded. It’s even able to utilize existing nodes in the network as a repeater for the necessary S2 commands and messages. We expect manufacturers to be rolling out device updates and new certified Z-Wave devices with S2 within the coming months.

http://www.electronicdesign.com/embedde ... ty-support

But it's up to manufacturers to release a FW upgrade. Personally I've never seen an OTA FW update to any z-wave stuff, even Fibaro, Aeotec, etc. It's much more easy to stay: buy our new, upgraded, etc... device.
Good points. You're right in that it appears manufacturers are more likely to release new devices with S0/S2 support rather than release FW updates (which is what I was hinting at). I contacted Dome Home Automation about S0/S2 support for devices other than their door/window sensor (which already supports S0) and they had this to say:
Like we did with the Door Sensor and Door Sensor Pro we hope to add newer, better products that are overall improvements and will include security

Regards,
Michael S
Additionally, some of the cheaper devices (e.g. NEO) don't appear to have the "Firmware Update MD V2" command class built-in. I don't know enough about Z-Wave yet to know if this is just a more "advanced" command class for FW updates, or if this command class is required for any FW updates. Either way, I don't imagine we'll get major upgrades via FW. Most likely just bug fixes, if that.
Haha, good old pr bullshit from Dome :D

User avatar
gtbuchanan
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 21 July 2017 21:52
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.7988
Location: Texas, United States
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by gtbuchanan » Thursday 27 July 2017 12:42

LouiS22 wrote:
gielie wrote:
LouiS22 wrote:
I've ordered a plug from them (Hank), once I have it, will post photos, and a review. One more thing: they don't have a B2C channel yet, but it's still possible to deal with them :)
Were did you buy this, id like to buy some multisensors.
I've wrote them a mail, and asked them if it's possible to purchase. It was ;)
Evidently this isn't possible anymore. Or maybe it's just because I'm in the US. Tried to buy some multisensors from them directly since I can't find them for sale anywhere. This was their response:
Dear Taylor

thanks for your contact
Sorry that we only do OEM right now, don't face to consumers directly, hope you understand our policy as we are factory with massive production


appreciate your contact really

best regards
Steven
Trying to find an affordable multisensor with encryption. Aeotec is far too overpriced. :cry:
Domoticz master on ODROID-C2 with Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Thursday 27 July 2017 13:29

Well, I had to sent mine back to RMA and the sales team is different now. Maybe one chinese sales person lost her job beacuse she offered me a piece before? :D

JohnBoy32
Posts: 11
Joined: Friday 04 March 2016 10:23
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by JohnBoy32 » Monday 31 July 2017 11:20

micha_pr wrote:
Luigi87 wrote:...but i am not sure if they are supported by open zwave yet...
The "NAS-RC01Z"
https://nl.aliexpress.com/store/product ... 96163.html
and:
the "NAS-SC01Z-2"
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Smart-Ho ... .44.6Lxajd
Hi,

products will be supported by Domoticz - we just have them in test.
The XML is missing in this time, but it is not a problem.

But please note - the products are not "safety certified" in this time (but very nice,... agree ;) ).

Michael
Hi Michael
Any news on this issue?
I am unable to use the double switch or do you have a hint how I can use it without "official" support?
Thanks!

westd001
Posts: 23
Joined: Friday 28 August 2015 21:41
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by westd001 » Saturday 19 August 2017 23:45

Hi guys,

I just made my own xml definitions for the Neo Coolcam NAS-SC 2 channel wall switch EU version because I can't find them on theOpen Zwave alliance site or Github. I am now able to switch off the LEDS. It's not exactly as described in the manual but I managed to switch them off. Here is the code,

In the manufacturer_specific.xml file I added this line at the end of the Neo Coolcam part:

Code: Select all

<Product type="0003" id="108b" name="Dual channel wallswitch" config="shenzen_neo/nas-sc02.xml"/>
and I added file nas-sc02.xml to the folder /home/pi/domoticz/Config/shenzen_neo with the following content:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Product xmlns='http://code.google.com/p/open-zwave/'>
  <!--
  Shenzhen NEO Electronics (Neo-CoolCam) Smart Power Plug
  http://products.z-wavealliance.org/products/xxxx
  -->
  <!-- Configuration Parameters -->
  <CommandClass id="112">
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="1" label="Back light Enable" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the back light state of the touch button.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="2" label="Relay On/Off indicate" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the relay state.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="3" label="Relay On/Off States Saved Enable" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the on/off status of relay needs to be saved.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
    <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="4" label="Root Device Mapped Setting" value="1" size="1">
      <Help>This parameter defines the relay state.</Help>
      <Item label="Disable" value="0"/>
      <Item label="Enable" value="1"/>
    </Value>
  </CommandClass>
  <!-- Association Groups -->
  <CommandClass id="133">
    <Associations num_groups="3">
      <Group index="1" max_associations="5" label="Lifeline"/>
      <Group index="2" max_associations="5" label="Sending Report Endpoint 1"/>
      <Group index="3" max_associations="5" label="Sending Report Endpoint 2"/>
    </Associations>
  </CommandClass>
</Product>
I wait for the official files but for the time being its OK for me.

Have fun with it.

Regards
JJ

nmaster
Posts: 101
Joined: Saturday 16 August 2014 17:17
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6304
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by nmaster » Saturday 02 September 2017 19:11

Hi,

Does someone tested Heiman / Domux sensors with domoticz ?

How does it compare with NEO ones ?

micha_pr
Posts: 362
Joined: Friday 24 October 2014 12:26
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Germany, Berlin
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by micha_pr » Saturday 02 September 2017 19:42

yes, we have tested.

If you can use translator - try : http://zwave-review.com/Geraete/heiman.php ;)

They are simple in use - in most cases no parameters can be set.
For motion sensor this maybe a missing feature.

Door sensor ia large comparing with others.

If special questions tell me ;)

Michael
Michael Pruefer
----------------------------
http://www.zwave-review.com (German only)
http://www.SmartHome-BB.de (German only)

nmaster
Posts: 101
Joined: Saturday 16 August 2014 17:17
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6304
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by nmaster » Sunday 03 September 2017 14:32

Thanks Michael, I'll read your reviews.

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Sunday 03 September 2017 15:50

nmaster wrote:
Saturday 02 September 2017 19:11
Hi,

Does someone tested Heiman / Domux sensors with domoticz ?

How does it compare with NEO ones ?
IMHO Neo sensors are better than Heiman. Neo's door sensor has a stylish design, while Heiman's is "just" a boring brick. On the other hand, Heiman's are using 2 AAA batteries (easier to replace, ie you can purchase them in every store), while NEO's using the not so common CR14250.

micha_pr
Posts: 362
Joined: Friday 24 October 2014 12:26
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Germany, Berlin
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by micha_pr » Sunday 03 September 2017 17:07

LouiS22 wrote:
Sunday 03 September 2017 15:50
On the other hand, Heiman's are using 2 AAA batteries (easier to replace, ie you can purchase them in every store), while NEO's using the not so common CR14250.
This is not correct for all devices:
  • Heiman HS1HT Smart temp. / hum sensor - CR2450
  • Heiman HS1MS Smart Motion Sensor - CR2450
  • Heiman HS1SA Smart Smoke sensor - CR123A
  • Heiman HS1CA Smart CO sensor - CR123A
But the flooting sensor and door sensor - yes, here is used the AAA battery - for door sensor, I think, device is to big because of this batteries...

Michael
Michael Pruefer
----------------------------
http://www.zwave-review.com (German only)
http://www.SmartHome-BB.de (German only)

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 448
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by LouiS22 » Sunday 03 September 2017 17:32

micha_pr wrote:
Sunday 03 September 2017 17:07
LouiS22 wrote:
Sunday 03 September 2017 15:50
On the other hand, Heiman's are using 2 AAA batteries (easier to replace, ie you can purchase them in every store), while NEO's using the not so common CR14250.
This is not correct for all devices:
  • Heiman HS1HT Smart temp. / hum sensor - CR2450
  • Heiman HS1MS Smart Motion Sensor - CR2450
  • Heiman HS1SA Smart Smoke sensor - CR123A
  • Heiman HS1CA Smart CO sensor - CR123A
But the flooting sensor and door sensor - yes, here is used the AAA battery - for door sensor, I think, device is to big because of this batteries...

Michael
Indeed, but I stated it's for door sensor ;)

nmaster
Posts: 101
Joined: Saturday 16 August 2014 17:17
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6304
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by nmaster » Monday 04 September 2017 14:02

OK LouiS22,

I already have power plugs and water leak sensors from NEO, giving me good results.

Now, I'm extending my home automation system with motion sensors and door sensors.

As I red, NEO devices have some parameters that can be adjusted contrary to Heiman ones.

I have no issue for CR123A, CR2 or 14250 batteries I use rechargeables ones successfully on mutiple devices.

So for now I will try NEO motion sensor and Door sensor.

But I probably order Temp / Hum sensors from Heiman.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bink, leby and 7 guests