Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Alexa, Google Home and Siri
Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Friday 30 June 2017 11:54

WAN port on https.
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

User avatar
heggink
Posts: 600
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 21:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V4.9999
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by heggink » Friday 30 June 2017 12:15

Unfortunately I am too dependent on alexa to test and fail (and suffer the wrath of 3 women in the house). I shall have to buy another echo dot for test purposes the week after next when I will be in Washington. I can run these side by side and give them different activation words. Given how dependent we are getting to be, maybe rename from alexa to domonatrix haha .
Pi3, latest beta
RFXCOM, z-wave (AEOTEC, switches, temhum, pir, contacts),
Plugwise2py, P1 'smart'meter & solar panel
Alexa, Wifi Cams motion detection
ESP: relays, PIR & Temp/TempHum
Geofence iCloud, Bluetooth & Wifi ping
Harmony hub, Nest

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Friday 30 June 2017 12:25

Well, if it's working, don't change it :)
Feedback so far is it works identically (backend is same), but without hassle of setup
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

User avatar
heggink
Posts: 600
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 21:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V4.9999
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by heggink » Friday 30 June 2017 12:27

Great to hear. In terms of new sw versions, how does that work?
Pi3, latest beta
RFXCOM, z-wave (AEOTEC, switches, temhum, pir, contacts),
Plugwise2py, P1 'smart'meter & solar panel
Alexa, Wifi Cams motion detection
ESP: relays, PIR & Temp/TempHum
Geofence iCloud, Bluetooth & Wifi ping
Harmony hub, Nest

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Friday 30 June 2017 13:30

there's the rub - if the complete solution goes live, which requires no effort from users, i'd look to stop developing both, and focus on the new one
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

Freemann
Posts: 88
Joined: Thursday 24 November 2016 15:55
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: >=Béta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Freemann » Friday 30 June 2017 14:20

OK, looks like the Lambda testing of "TurnOffRequest" and "TurnOnRequest" actions are working, but the Discovery isn't working...
Skill discovery finds my Hue lights, but not the Domoticz devices. Also running the Lamba test for discovery still returns the 1sec timeout.

Anybody an idea?

This is the logoutput of the Lambda test discovery;

Code: Select all

START RequestId: 7e2a4560-5d91-11e7-8f71-11428d14354e Version: $LATEST
2017-06-30T12:41:52.741Z	7e2a4560-5d91-11e7-8f71-11428d14354e	http://???:????@???.???:???:???:XXX/json.htm?type=devices&filter=all&used=true&order=Name
END RequestId: 7e2a4560-5d91-11e7-8f71-11428d14354e
REPORT RequestId: 7e2a4560-5d91-11e7-8f71-11428d14354e	Duration: 1002.10 ms	Billed Duration: 1000 ms 	Memory Size: 128 MB	Max Memory Used: 38 MB	
2017-06-30T12:41:53.675Z 7e2a4560-5d91-11e7-8f71-11428d14354e Task timed out after 1.00 seconds
Going to:
"http://???:????@???.???:???:???:XXX/json.htm?type=devices&filter=all&used=true&order=Name" (offcourse with the appropriate IP/Port number)
Then I see the big JSON (maybe to big JSON ? )
Domotica/graphs "freak" :)
Rpi3
Amazon Alexa (2 Echo Dots)
Aeotec Z-Stick S2(Gen5)
HarmonyElite
ETHRelayBoard
HUE(5 bulbs, 2 blooms)
NetAtmo(complete setup)
MiLight iboxV6(2 MiLightBulbs)
IP-Cam

https://www.frijduurzaam.nl

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Friday 30 June 2017 15:28

hi - without wanting to get too stuck into this, can you first try running domoticz against https ?
If the url is correct (and it looks it), it's possible (probable) the error is around the connection, rather than the JSON payload being too big. If that was the case, which is hugely unlikely, the connection time would be bigger.
also generally i'd recommend any comms should run over https
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 01 July 2017 20:20

Also, and this is totally my fault - you need to have the devices you want to be discovered in Room Plans in Domoticz first

I've just updated the manual, and put this in bold in big font at the beginning.
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

Freemann
Posts: 88
Joined: Thursday 24 November 2016 15:55
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: >=Béta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Freemann » Saturday 01 July 2017 21:01

Great update!

Question;
Whats the best practice for Lambda region, Dot language and Dot address?

I live in The Netherlands and my preferred Alexa language is English(UK).
Based on my Location I would say the Lambda should be hosted in Ireland.
But does it madder to which address I register the Dot to and on which language I set the Dot?

If so, whats for my situation the best combination of settings and is it possible to make a matrix for other users to ?
Domotica/graphs "freak" :)
Rpi3
Amazon Alexa (2 Echo Dots)
Aeotec Z-Stick S2(Gen5)
HarmonyElite
ETHRelayBoard
HUE(5 bulbs, 2 blooms)
NetAtmo(complete setup)
MiLight iboxV6(2 MiLightBulbs)
IP-Cam

https://www.frijduurzaam.nl

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 01 July 2017 21:05

lambda and language of skill need to be the 'same' - so it's easy:
host in Virginia - use English (US) in the skill;
host in Ireland - use English(UK) in the skill;

can't say about language of the Dot, my continental friends can probably help :)
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

Freemann
Posts: 88
Joined: Thursday 24 November 2016 15:55
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: >=Béta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Freemann » Saturday 01 July 2017 22:24

OK thanks again!

For me only the combination "Virginia <> English US" is working.
Tried the "Ireland <> English (UK)", but that's just not working (for me) and as soon as I switch to Virginia; It works.....
Domotica/graphs "freak" :)
Rpi3
Amazon Alexa (2 Echo Dots)
Aeotec Z-Stick S2(Gen5)
HarmonyElite
ETHRelayBoard
HUE(5 bulbs, 2 blooms)
NetAtmo(complete setup)
MiLight iboxV6(2 MiLightBulbs)
IP-Cam

https://www.frijduurzaam.nl

borcon
Posts: 35
Joined: Thursday 05 January 2017 12:15
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: BETA
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by borcon » Sunday 02 July 2017 13:09

@madgeni,
your current version on github does not find any scenes or groups from domoticz.

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Sunday 02 July 2017 13:33

Hey @borcon - There was an issue previously, where it was including any scenes/groups not just those in Room Plans, this line:

if (device.planID === '0' || device.planID === ' ') { continue }

*Should * fix that, ignoring devices/scenes & groups NOT in a plan. Can someone else corroborate that this is not working?

Thanks!
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

borcon
Posts: 35
Joined: Thursday 05 January 2017 12:15
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: BETA
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by borcon » Sunday 02 July 2017 18:38

Hey madgeni,
now it's working. I had only devices in room plans.
I thought the room plan restriction is only for devices. :-)
Thanks

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Sunday 02 July 2017 18:51

Hi
it wasn't supposed to be, but i just missed the scene logic out ages ago!
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

borcon
Posts: 35
Joined: Thursday 05 January 2017 12:15
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: BETA
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by borcon » Friday 07 July 2017 18:31

@madgeni,
if I ask Alexa "what is the temperature" in my room, then she speaks the temperature as a date.
I think the point in the temperature (26.5) from domoticz is the issue.
Can you help me to add a line in the alexa code to replace the dot with a comma? 26.5 --> 26,5
I hope this solves the issue.

Thanks

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Friday 07 July 2017 18:34

Hi there - is this the continental use of the comma for decimals? The issue is more with this being for the US/UK with Alexa, which use the full stop.
I'll do some tests
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Friday 07 July 2017 18:49

Looking at the doc, it expects a floating point -
"temperatureReading.value Floating point number that indicates the temperature in degrees."
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

borcon
Posts: 35
Joined: Thursday 05 January 2017 12:15
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: BETA
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by borcon » Friday 07 July 2017 18:51

@madgeni
yes, this is the continental use of the comma for decimals

Madgeni
Posts: 1337
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni » Friday 07 July 2017 18:53

think we might need to await the release into DE :(
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest