Python plugin on Windows?

Python and python framework
Post Reply
Ricard1
Posts: 73
Joined: Saturday 07 November 2015 13:30
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Python plugin on Windows?

Post by Ricard1 » Thursday 11 January 2018 15:40

Hi,

I am running Domoticz on Windows 10, is it someone here that had success in installing/running Python plugin system on Windows/10 and that runs stable?

I tried before some months ago but at that point(s) no success, Domoticz loop crashed so I gave up... maybe it is a story based on past issues?

Any feedback are welcome!

//Ricard

febalci
Posts: 306
Joined: Monday 03 July 2017 19:58
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Python plugin on Windows?

Post by febalci » Thursday 11 January 2018 15:55

I manage to run Domoticz with Python plugins on both Windows 7 and 10, both stable and beta Domotciz versions. Don't forget to install Python3 on Windows first.

zak45
Posts: 480
Joined: Sunday 22 January 2017 12:37
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: V3.9056
Contact:

Re: Python plugin on Windows?

Post by zak45 » Thursday 11 January 2018 18:57

yep.. run on windows 10 x64 since many months without any problem...
installed python 3.x x86, for all users, and include into path.

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 561
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: Python plugin on Windows?

Post by StanHD » Thursday 11 January 2018 19:13

I have tried to install on Windows 7, Domoticz crashes and restarts continuously. I have tried various versions from Stable to v3.8740. I gave up and installed a 2nd Domoticz on a small linux box and run it as a slave with the excellent Sonos and Broadlink python scripts.
Versions of python tried are 3.x and x86.

Like @Ricard1 I am also Interested if anyone might know why this happens.
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

febalci
Posts: 306
Joined: Monday 03 July 2017 19:58
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Python plugin on Windows?

Post by febalci » Thursday 11 January 2018 19:43

zak45 wrote:
Thursday 11 January 2018 18:57
installed python 3.x x86, for all users, and include into path.
Yeah forgot that, x64 python never works with Domoticz on Windows, always install x86.

Ricard1
Posts: 73
Joined: Saturday 07 November 2015 13:30
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Python plugin on Windows?

Post by Ricard1 » Friday 12 January 2018 11:33

Hi all,

Ok thanks for sharing your experiences, will give it another try :)

//Ricard

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests