Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Python and python framework
simon_rb
Posts: 699
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Post by simon_rb » Friday 29 June 2018 22:54

Is this plugin working for people with the new stable release? Its crashing my Domoticz so I've had to remove it for the time being.

Many Thanks

rkx1rkx1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sunday 29 April 2018 17:57
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Contact:

Re: Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Post by rkx1rkx1 » Monday 02 July 2018 20:47

Simon_rb,

Since updating to the latest stable release, the Bravia plug in from gerard33 is no longer working for me either. Which is a nightmare! I had to roll back to the previous version of Domoticz as i rely on the plug in to control the TV from home assistant. (Kids are always loosing the remote control!)

There were previous conflicts with DzVentz/PIR plugin and a python segmentation issue. I had to disable DzVentz to get it working in the previous release otherwise a restart didn't bring the Domoticz service up. It could be a similar issue again. I am following this thread to see if anyone comes up with a solution. There are other basic scripts out there that can be pulled together to give some basic functionality but i did love this plug in.


Cheers Rich
Last edited by rkx1rkx1 on Tuesday 03 July 2018 13:26, edited 1 time in total.

simon_rb
Posts: 699
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Post by simon_rb » Tuesday 03 July 2018 13:05

Hi Rich,

Thats a shame, I was hoping it was my setup :(

I don't think the developer uses domoticz anymore so we might need a new, clever sole to take over. Hopefully I'm wrong.

Many Thanks

rkx1rkx1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sunday 29 April 2018 17:57
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Contact:

Re: Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Post by rkx1rkx1 » Tuesday 03 July 2018 13:30

His github also states 'This plugin is no longer maintained'.

I have freshly installed the latest stable Domoticz on a separate Pi and will continue to do some testing to see if it can be fixed otherwise I may start to make my own. Will share if anything good comes of it.


Cheers Rich

simon_rb
Posts: 699
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Post by simon_rb » Tuesday 03 July 2018 13:41

rkx1rkx1 wrote:
Tuesday 03 July 2018 13:30
His github also states 'This plugin is no longer maintained'.

I have freshly installed the latest stable Domoticz on a separate Pi and will continue to do some testing to see if it can be fixed otherwise I may start to make my own. Will share if anything good comes of it.


Cheers Rich
I noticed the same Rich, I modified the original slightly so that the volume dimmer switch when powered off would turn the TV off and powered on would turn it on. Then using HomeKit I could say turn on the living tv or set living room to to 30 etc.. Worked well :D

Good luck and if you need help testing.. let me know.

Many Thanks

User avatar
lmet
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 19 July 2017 22:35
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: v3.8153
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Post by lmet » Tuesday 03 July 2018 15:35

For me too the plugin does not work anymore. I took over the work of StefanPuntNL (thanks to him) here and after some additions/modifications I have a lua code to turn on and off the TV and a script to change channels including channels greater than 9. It's basic nothing about sound or channel like NetFlix or other features.
It works on my Sony Bravia KDL-50W755c and with Imperihome and Homekit.
If that interests I can publish this work here.

simon_rb
Posts: 699
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Python plugin: Sony Bravia TV

Post by simon_rb » Tuesday 03 July 2018 20:54

Hey,

Anything is better than nothing. For me the most important is controlling volume from within Domoticz

Cheers

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests