Apply Settings not working

Please use template to report bugs and problems. Post here your questions when not sure where else to post
Only for bugs in the Domoticz application! other problems go in different subforums!
Forum rules
Before posting here, make sure you are on the latest Beta or Stable version.
If you have problems related to the web gui, clear your browser cache + appcache first.

Use the following template when posting here:

Version: xxxx
Platform: xxxx
Plugin/Hardware: xxxx
Description:
.....

If you are having problems with scripts/blockly, always post the script (in a spoiler or code tag) or screenshots of your blockly

If you are replying, please do not quote images/code from the first post

Please mark your topic as Solved when the problem is solved.
Post Reply
raymond
Posts: 92
Joined: Monday 12 October 2015 15:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.8275
Contact:

Apply Settings not working

Post by raymond » Tuesday 14 November 2017 12:10

I've tried to find a solution but did not see this problem anywhere.

When I hit Apply Settings in Setup -> Settings I does not update anything and sometimes even crashes Domoticz v3.8153 stable.
Some settings do get applied, but for instance changing the Cost T1 etc in Meters/Counters does not get updated.
When I go back into Settings, the old values are still reflected. My settings are also on Beta release channel which I do not want since I'm on stable. I still get the update notifications as this doesn't get applied also.

I'm wondering if I can do someting to the database, or might have missed some permissions. I'm running this for years now on a Pi3 without having this issue.

Any clues anyone?

Cheers,

Ray

MaikelK
Posts: 34
Joined: Saturday 01 November 2014 14:51
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by MaikelK » Thursday 07 December 2017 23:03

Hi Ray,

Im having the same issues, im almost thinking it has something to do with rights.

Hopefully someone can point us in the right direction...

MaikelK
Posts: 34
Joined: Saturday 01 November 2014 14:51
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by MaikelK » Monday 11 December 2017 20:38

Nobody can help us?

JvdW
Posts: 6
Joined: Friday 28 February 2014 0:16
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by JvdW » Tuesday 19 December 2017 22:06

Same issue here.

Version: v3.8794 right now. (have this problem since earlier versions)
Platform: Raspberry Pi 1B
Plugin/Hardware: none


I cannot apply any changes in the settings area.
When i click/change some settings system hangs a bit and settings do not apply.

When accessing the settings page it takes al long time to show.
Sometimes domoticz just stop working.

Some errors appear in the log:

2017-12-19 20:13:11.377 Error: [web:8080] exception occurred : 'std::bad_alloc' (need to run again)
2017-12-19 20:13:11.378 Error: WebServer(HTTP) exception occurred : 'std::bad_alloc'

raymond
Posts: 92
Joined: Monday 12 October 2015 15:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.8275
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by raymond » Wednesday 20 December 2017 12:41

I don't see any logfile errors at all, and it seems that some of the Settings do apply.
However when you go back into Settings, the old values are still reflected.

Rights or Database must be the problem, although I tried to clean the database earlier without any change.

Ray

druss67
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 22:52
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8942
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by druss67 » Sunday 25 February 2018 12:12

Hello,

do you have solved this issue ?
I am still having this problem, yesterday I perform a fresh install everything worked well.
Today, when I try to save parameters the system freeze and do not save anything.

In the log i can see this, as you already mentioned...

Code: Select all

2018-02-25 10:58:52.571 Error: [web:8080] exception occurred : 'std::bad_alloc' (need to run again)
2018-02-25 10:58:52.571 Error: WebServer(HTTP) exception occurred : 'std::bad_alloc' 
domoticz 3.8942

Xztraz
Posts: 129
Joined: Tuesday 31 January 2017 22:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by Xztraz » Sunday 25 February 2018 15:56

I've had this before. seem to have something to do with changing skins. clean all caches test in another browser. usually goes away after a while. very random bug..

druss67
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 22:52
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8942
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by druss67 » Sunday 25 February 2018 19:36

Ok, thanks for this information. I will try to switch on the default skin as it was before.

Xztraz
Posts: 129
Joined: Tuesday 31 January 2017 22:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by Xztraz » Sunday 25 February 2018 21:52

what skin where you trying?

dnacid
Posts: 6
Joined: Thursday 08 October 2015 11:10
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by dnacid » Thursday 01 March 2018 10:16

I also had this problem. Sometimes my domoticz even crashed after saving settings.
This was my solution (on a windows system):

1) Download and install "DB Browser for SQLite".
2) Stop your domoticz (Service)
3) Open "DB Browser for SQLite" and open your database (domoticz.db)
4) Right click "Preferences" and choose "Browse Table".
5) Find the key "HTTPPostContentType".
6) When i clicked the sValue for this key i noticed it was extremely big (it froze "DB Browser for SQLite" for a while)
7) Right click the sValue and choose "Set to NULL" (It may take a while for the menu to appear)
8) After the sValue is cleared, click "Write Changes".
9) Now click "File" - "Close Database" and close "DB Browser for SQLite".
10) Start Domoticz (Service)

When youre not on a windows system (pi) you could also make a backup from your databse whitin domoticz, edit the backup file and restore the edited backup in domoticz.

This fixed my problem and i could now save settings again.

MatsL
Posts: 12
Joined: Monday 24 February 2014 20:11
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by MatsL » Thursday 05 April 2018 12:41

Hi!

I had the same issue, but DB browser kept crashing when selecting the data that was corrupt
Ran this SQL command instead

update Preferences set sValue = 'application/json' where Key = 'HTTPPostContentType'

Then used the Compact database option in DB Browser

Unsure if application/json is the right value, found it in another post

Yatatoo
Posts: 5
Joined: Tuesday 23 February 2016 23:02
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: git pull
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by Yatatoo » Wednesday 11 July 2018 11:19

MatsL wrote:
Thursday 05 April 2018 12:41
Hi!

I had the same issue, but DB browser kept crashing when selecting the data that was corrupt
Ran this SQL command instead

update Preferences set sValue = 'application/json' where Key = 'HTTPPostContentType'

Then used the Compact database option in DB Browser

Unsure if application/json is the right value, found it in another post
Thank you so much !
This topic must be pinned on the board ;)


I've spend so much time trying from different cache, browser, OSes... and I had such a big lag to get access to mydomoticz server without having any possibility to change a setting !

Now it's clear, the Preference table was totally corrupted.

I only added a simple check by doing an "sqlite3 -header -csv domoticz.db "select * from Preferences;" > Preferences.csv" to check what was in this table and the output is a 97MB of jibberish...

Here's a sample of the output (via "strings Preferences.csv |less") - no clue how/what is encoded here -

"HTTPPostContentType,0,asODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoLDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKDw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCg8ODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoLDg8KCw4LCg8ODwoPDgsKDw4PCgsOCwoPDg8KDw4LCgsODwoLDgsKCw4PCg8OCwoPDg8KCw4LCgsODwoPDgsKCw4PCgsOCwoL...."

LAst thing I did was to run a VACUUM; via sqlite3: domoticz.db is back from 107Mb to 5,2MB 8-)


Anyway, it could be great that this value is 'checkable/reparable' in domoticz code in order to avoid this situation ;-)

jayeshgomes
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 22 July 2018 12:34
Target OS: OS X
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by jayeshgomes » Sunday 22 July 2018 12:38

hello,
I faced the same issue today, tried with both elemental and default themes (after clearing cache and appcache). Eventually I had to modify the database to enable the event system again. I tried with a few days old beta first, then updated to 3.8734 and tried again but no luck. No errors visible in the console, it goes to Dashboard after saving the setting as it normally does, but then when I go back to respective settings tab all tick boxes related to events / dZvents are empty.

jayeshgomes
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 22 July 2018 12:34
Target OS: OS X
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by jayeshgomes » Sunday 22 July 2018 12:38

hello,
I faced the same issue today, tried with both elemental and default themes (after clearing cache and appcache). Eventually I had to modify the database to enable the event system again. I tried with a few days old beta first, then updated to 3.8734 and tried again but no luck. No errors visible in the console, it goes to Dashboard after saving the setting as it normally does, but then when I go back to respective settings tab all tick boxes related to events / dZvents are empty.

quilae
Posts: 10
Joined: Tuesday 07 November 2017 22:57
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Apply Settings not working

Post by quilae » Sunday 12 August 2018 18:59

MatsL wrote:
Thursday 05 April 2018 12:41
Hi!

I had the same issue, but DB browser kept crashing when selecting the data that was corrupt
Ran this SQL command instead

update Preferences set sValue = 'application/json' where Key = 'HTTPPostContentType'

Then used the Compact database option in DB Browser

Unsure if application/json is the right value, found it in another post
A little bit late but I started a second Domoticz instance (a slave) and so I was able to verify this.
Actually the correct value appears to be:

Code: Select all

YXBwbGljYXRpb24vanNvbg==
which is the base64 encrypted version of

Code: Select all

application/json
and therefore the update statement will be:

Code: Select all

update Preferences set sValue = 'YXBwbGljYXRpb24vanNvbg==' where Key = 'HTTPPostContentType'
.

I did test it and this solves the inability to apply the settings.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests