RTL_433, helping set it up

Others (MiLight, Hue, Toon etc...)
Post Reply
stuiow
Posts: 182
Joined: Saturday 18 April 2015 18:56
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.6857
Location: Isle of Wight, United Kingdom.
Contact:

RTL_433, helping set it up

Post by stuiow » Wednesday 20 September 2017 11:57

Hey everyone,

I've had the hardware and a sensor to get this going ages ago but its bene on the back burner.
SInce then, RTL_433 has been added to the hardware list in domoticz.

I just tried to set it up, an error was appearing in the domoticz log stating its not been installed correctly.
Got that sorted (re-installed rtl_433), but now i'm getting Rtl433: Failure! Retrying in 30 seconds...

I've got in the hardware screen this line for the parameters
-d 43

Can anyone assist on this? - 43 is the sensor i've got that i want domoticz to log = its an oil tank sensor.

Cheers
Stuart
Now setup on a RPI3.
Also using Evohome HGI80, RFXTRX433E and a Aeotec Gen5 stick. Mainly a Gen5 Z-Wave system.
My weather (Davis vantage Pro2) data is obtained by weatherunderground
Now collecting rtl_433 data from Apollo Ultrasonic meter

kolleykibber
Posts: 3
Joined: Thursday 28 September 2017 18:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Contact:

Re: RTL_433, helping set it up

Post by kolleykibber » Sunday 01 October 2017 21:09

Hi Stuart,

I had this problem. It was another program using the RTL_SDR, in my case the dump1090 of piaware. Stop this and it connects. However, at the moment the rtl433 code only accepts temp, humidity, battery, rain and pressure.

So in the logs I get:

2017-10-01 18:15:49.828 Rtl433: Unhandled sensor type, please report: (2017-10-01 18:15:49,Oil Ultrasonic STANDARD,12975,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,96,,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,0,41,
)

The CSV output of RTL_SDR is :

time model id flags binding_countdown alarm depth_cm
30/09/17 23:24 Oil Ultrasonic STANDARD 12975 96 0 0 41

So to get the watchman working we need checking of depth_cm added to the parsing loop in the file hardware/Rtl433.cpp.

This is a little beyond my knowledge. But if there's someone I can pass this info on to... :D

peahonen
Posts: 6
Joined: Sunday 28 May 2017 11:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: RTL_433, helping set it up

Post by peahonen » Wednesday 29 November 2017 17:43

kolleykibber wrote:
Sunday 01 October 2017 21:09
time model id flags binding_countdown alarm depth_cm
30/09/17 23:24 Oil Ultrasonic STANDARD 12975 96 0 0 41
How would you like to have this sensor represented in Domoticz?
Since you have the sensor and know how it works, would you be able to suggest how it would be mapped these operations:
https://github.com/domoticz/domoticz/bl ... .h#L52-L92

mikethebike3
Posts: 3
Joined: Monday 02 April 2018 2:48
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: RTL_433, helping set it up

Post by mikethebike3 » Tuesday 17 April 2018 4:34

I've installed and am running rtl_433 on a RPi3B running Jessie lite, but when I try to set it up in Domoticz all I get on the log is:

"2018-04-17 03:26:52.207 Rtl433: rtl_433 startup failed. Make sure it's properly installed. (https://github.com/merbanan/rtl_433)"

....repeating every 30 seconds. The original poster overcame this by reinstalling rtl_433, but I've had no such luck.
I've tried reinstalling rtl_433 in various places on the SD card, all to no avail.
Any pointers anyone?
Thanks
Mike

gropi
Posts: 3
Joined: Thursday 26 April 2018 20:03
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.9269
Contact:

Re: RTL_433, helping set it up

Post by gropi » Thursday 26 April 2018 20:33

I have the same issue, as soon as I start the rtl HW, i get following error in the log:
Spoiler: show
2018-04-26 20:25:52.917 Rtl433: rtl_433 startup failed. Make sure it's properly installed (rtl_433 -F csv -q -I 2 -d 1 2>/dev/null). https://github.com/merbanan/rtl_433
The command can be executed without issues from the command line.
I already reinstalled rtl_433, tried 2 sticks and searched a lot on the web but without success.

Is there any hint/solution?

My server:
Openmediavault 4, Domoticz: Version: 3.9269 is running in Docker.
Domoticz Version: 3.9269
Platform: Openmediavault 4; Docker 4.0.1; HP Microserver Gen8
Plugin/Hardware: MySensors Gateway; Philips HUE Bridge;

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests