Getting started with GEN 5 ZWave - help please?

Information about specific Z-Wave devices
Post Reply
900zenith
Posts: 4
Joined: Tuesday 02 February 2016 20:40
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Getting started with GEN 5 ZWave - help please?

Post by 900zenith » Tuesday 02 February 2016 21:07

Hello,

I am going to use my Windows PC to access some Z Wave devices from Aeon. I also bought a Gen 5 ZWave Stick from Aeon. and loaded all the Domoticz software.

My dumb question: what next? I installed the driver and all was OK, but what do I have to do in Domoticz to make the stick "seen", or is that it now? I think when I get going I will be OK, but for now it seems like a huge black hole....

Thanks in advance for any little pointers.

George ...

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 541
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: Getting started with GEN 5 ZWave - help please?

Post by StanHD » Tuesday 02 February 2016 23:19

Hi, have you added the Open Z-wave Hardware? (Settings > Hardware > Pull Down List)
Domotica - Intel nuc Celeron, Domoticz - Windows, RFXTRX433E. 1-Wire USB. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub, Broadlink RM2, HA-Bridge with Amazon Echo / Alexa.

900zenith
Posts: 4
Joined: Tuesday 02 February 2016 20:40
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Getting started with GEN 5 ZWave - help please?

Post by 900zenith » Wednesday 03 February 2016 2:08

Thanks. I had tried that but it didn't see the COM port that the Driver assigned to it. I changed the USB socket and then restarted the Browser. One of these did the trick and it is now added. So thanks for the suggestion.

Now that I see the screen I know something else new. I only thought I was lost before, now I am certain...

That said I think there is going to be some fun to be had. (if it doesn't beat me down first).

Thanks again.

Emmanuel
Posts: 2
Joined: Sunday 27 March 2016 11:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Getting started with GEN 5 ZWave - help please?

Post by Emmanuel » Sunday 27 March 2016 19:01

Hello,
Now you need to discover Zwave compatible devices (sensors, switches, etc.).
From the Setup /Hardware menu, select the setup button on the Zwave stick. In this screen, you can "Include node" (i.e. discover Zwave compatible devices you have installed)
Once a new node is added, the Setup / Devices screen will display the discovered device (sensor, switch...). You can give it a name (Rename button) and "Use" it (green arrow button) : it will create a switch or sensor in the Switch / Temp screens.
Emmanuel

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests