How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

On various Hardware and OS systems: pi / windows / routers / nas, etc
Domotics
Posts: 5
Joined: Monday 09 October 2017 11:54
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by Domotics » Friday 13 October 2017 14:34

Anyone?
Domoticz V3.8153
Platform: Synology NAS
Plugins/Hardware: RFXCOM (RFXtrx433E), Xiaomi Gateway, InComfort LAN2RF Gateway, Weather Underground

User avatar
EdwinK
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sunday 22 January 2017 22:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: BETA
Location: Rhoon
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by EdwinK » Friday 13 October 2017 14:39

As far as I can tell, there is no security risk. Unless you open up all kinds of ports.
Running latest BETA on a Pi-3 | Toon Thermostat | RFxcom | Dashticz V2 |

schumi2004
Posts: 3
Joined: Tuesday 17 October 2017 19:38
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by schumi2004 » Tuesday 17 October 2017 19:47

@jumbotroll
I'm running your package on a Synology DS715 but once in a while Domoticz crashes and i have no idea why because the logging is empty when launched. I also could not find any log history setting or something like that.
Is there a simple way to keep all the logging or send logging to a syslog server?
I was told to use the domitcz.sh for this but the Synology package doesn't have it.
What do you suggest?

febalci
Posts: 306
Joined: Monday 03 July 2017 19:58
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by febalci » Tuesday 17 October 2017 22:49

After a crash, don't start domoticz. When it starts, it deletes the previous logs. Go to /usr/local/domoticz/var directory. Domoticz.log is your file, it's a text file; you can open it with a text editor and see what's going on.

jojje
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 November 2017 23:38
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by jojje » Friday 10 November 2017 23:46

I recently got my DS918+, but can´t install the Domoticz package from Jadahl.
Since there is no package for the DS918+, I tried the one for the DS916+, but I get an error message when trying to install that indicates that it´s not compatible with my version of the DSM (version 6.1.4-15217).

Is it because of the DSM version or because it´s a 918+?

User avatar
jumbotroll
Posts: 597
Joined: Tuesday 13 January 2015 15:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Oslo,Norway
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by jumbotroll » Saturday 11 November 2017 0:31

jojje wrote:
Friday 10 November 2017 23:46
I recently got my DS918+, but can´t install the Domoticz package from Jadahl.
Since there is no package for the DS918+, I tried the one for the DS916+, but I get an error message when trying to install that indicates that it´s not compatible with my version of the DSM (version 6.1.4-15217).

Is it because of the DSM version or because it´s a 918+?
Did you try the Apollolake version?
DS916+ use Braswell, but DS918+ Use Apollolake
http://www.jadahl.com/domoticz_beta_6.1 ... 8720-7.spk
Regards
Jumbotroll
http://www.jadahl.com

jojje
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 November 2017 23:38
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by jojje » Saturday 11 November 2017 22:55

jumbotroll wrote:
Saturday 11 November 2017 0:31
jojje wrote:
Friday 10 November 2017 23:46
I recently got my DS918+, but can´t install the Domoticz package from Jadahl.
Since there is no package for the DS918+, I tried the one for the DS916+, but I get an error message when trying to install that indicates that it´s not compatible with my version of the DSM (version 6.1.4-15217).

Is it because of the DSM version or because it´s a 918+?
Did you try the Apollolake version?
DS916+ use Braswell, but DS918+ Use Apollolake
http://www.jadahl.com/domoticz_beta_6.1 ... 8720-7.spk
Yep, that´s it! Cheers mate! I appreciate it.

jojje
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 November 2017 23:38
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by jojje » Tuesday 14 November 2017 21:35

Uhh, uhh..!

Had Domoticz up and running fine on my DS918+. Then I decided to go to Settings - System (Domoticz) and change the username and password for protection.
Shouldn´t have done that... When I try to login now the only message I see after completing the loginscreen is "Domoticz Offline".
Any ideas, or should I just remove and reinstall? That would suck since I was done configuring everything...
Tried to stop and the restart the Domoticzpackage from packagecenter, and also rebooting the DS918+. Didn´t help.

Please, anyone?

jojje
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 November 2017 23:38
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by jojje » Tuesday 14 November 2017 23:39

jojje wrote:
Tuesday 14 November 2017 21:35
Uhh, uhh..!

Had Domoticz up and running fine on my DS918+. Then I decided to go to Settings - System (Domoticz) and change the username and password for protection.
Shouldn´t have done that... When I try to login now the only message I see after completing the loginscreen is "Domoticz Offline".
Any ideas, or should I just remove and reinstall? That would suck since I was done configuring everything...
Tried to stop and the restart the Domoticzpackage from packagecenter, and also rebooting the DS918+. Didn´t help.

Please, anyone?
Actually, I think I´m on to something. After changing the username and password, Domoticz is NOT offline as the page says.
It´s just Chrome that doesn´t understand...
In Safari it is possible to log in with the new credentials, so it is in IE. Just not Chrome, and I tried clearing the cache, disable all addons for Chrome, and deleting all cookies. Rebooting the computer, restart Chrome etc etc. Nothing.

Well, as long as I can reach the Domoticzsettings in another browser than Chrome it´s not the end of the world. But the hunt goes on...

jojje
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 November 2017 23:38
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by jojje » Saturday 18 November 2017 20:33

How the heck do I install a new theme to Domoticz on Synology..?

I know in Windows it´s easy just copying the folder containing the theme to www/styles/, but it´s not that easy reaching that folder on Synology, right?
Using Synology filemanager I can´t reach anything else than the shared folders, but can I transfer the whole folder to www/styles/ using a magic line in SSH/commands/terminal or whatever it´s called?
I´ve been searching and reading a lot about reaching the filestructure of the Synology, but most articles involves steps to edit configfiles and root password using SSH, and... I don´t feel that I have those unixskills since I´ve been using Windows most of my life.

Anyone..?

User avatar
wizjos
Posts: 81
Joined: Monday 07 March 2016 20:35
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by wizjos » Tuesday 21 November 2017 23:29

jojje wrote:
Saturday 18 November 2017 20:33
I don´t feel that I have those unixskills since I´ve been using Windows most of my life.

Anyone..?
Have a look at WinSCP

Regards,
Wizjos

Aad3229
Posts: 23
Joined: Wednesday 07 January 2015 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by Aad3229 » Friday 15 December 2017 17:48

Ik heb een Synology DS218+. Daarop heb ik in docker de Linuxserver/domoticz docker container geinstalleerd. Ik kan domoticz daarna opstarten en krijg logischerwijs alleen lege tabbladen en geen devices. Bij de "Volumes" in de settings van de container heb ik /docker/domoticz gemapped naar /config; in die directory op de Synology kan ik nu de domoticz.db vinden. Als ik deze vervang door een copy van de domoticz.db van m'n Pi en daarna de Synology docker container weer opstart is er echter niets veranderd, alle tabbladen en devices nog steeds leeg. Ook kan ik nergens de domoticz.sh vinden.

Kan iemand mij hier op weg helpen?
Domoticz V3.8922, RFXtrx433E USB 433.92MHz Transceiver, RaspberryPI 3, 9 x KAKU Switch (APA3-1500R), 1 x ABST-604 KAKU Dusk sensor, MiLight iBox V6, OpenZwave USB-stick Aeon LabS, Zwave PIR, Zwave door sensors

Domotics
Posts: 5
Joined: Monday 09 October 2017 11:54
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by Domotics » Friday 15 December 2017 21:06

Hi Aad3229,

I can't help you with this specific problem, but are you aware of the fact there is a package available for Synology? See http://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Synology and/or http://domoticz.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 20&p=47544. Maybe a lot easier than installing Domoticz on a virtual server.

Regards
Domoticz V3.8153
Platform: Synology NAS
Plugins/Hardware: RFXCOM (RFXtrx433E), Xiaomi Gateway, InComfort LAN2RF Gateway, Weather Underground

Aad3229
Posts: 23
Joined: Wednesday 07 January 2015 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by Aad3229 » Friday 15 December 2017 21:11

Yes, thanx, but I would like to run it in a docker container. This should be possible. But as I want to be able to restore database and to edit domoticz.sh. Otherwise it is not flexible enough.
Domoticz V3.8922, RFXtrx433E USB 433.92MHz Transceiver, RaspberryPI 3, 9 x KAKU Switch (APA3-1500R), 1 x ABST-604 KAKU Dusk sensor, MiLight iBox V6, OpenZwave USB-stick Aeon LabS, Zwave PIR, Zwave door sensors

Aad3229
Posts: 23
Joined: Wednesday 07 January 2015 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by Aad3229 » Monday 18 December 2017 14:24

I now installed the package from Jadahl. Still not able to find the domoticz.sh on the Synology. Database restore works fine now. Where can I find the domoticz.sh?
Domoticz V3.8922, RFXtrx433E USB 433.92MHz Transceiver, RaspberryPI 3, 9 x KAKU Switch (APA3-1500R), 1 x ABST-604 KAKU Dusk sensor, MiLight iBox V6, OpenZwave USB-stick Aeon LabS, Zwave PIR, Zwave door sensors

Kedryn
Posts: 2
Joined: Tuesday 19 December 2017 15:29
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by Kedryn » Tuesday 19 December 2017 15:34

I've installed the DSM6.1 version from Jadahl site (the repository is not working), but i have DSM 6.2 beta, and when i "start" the package, it does not really start (dont know how to debug).

There is no 6.2 package for cedarlake (I have a Snology 1513+) so i can't try it

Is the 6.1 version not working in 6.2?

User avatar
jumbotroll
Posts: 597
Joined: Tuesday 13 January 2015 15:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Oslo,Norway
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by jumbotroll » Tuesday 19 December 2017 16:19

Kedryn wrote:
Tuesday 19 December 2017 15:34
I've installed the DSM6.1 version from Jadahl site (the repository is not working), but i have DSM 6.2 beta, and when i "start" the package, it does not really start (dont know how to debug).

There is no 6.2 package for cedarlake (I have a Snology 1513+) so i can't try it

Is the 6.1 version not working in 6.2?
There is the same cedarview kernel in 6.1 and 6.2.
There is no another rapports on problem with DS1513+ and domoticz package, so I don't know what problem is, but if did test the python version, you have to install Python version 3.5.1 on you NAS.
You can try this beta: domoticz_cedarview-6.1_3.0.8770-7.spk without Python plugin.
http://www.jadahl.com/domoticz_beta_6.1 ... 8770-7.spk
Regards
Jumbotroll
http://www.jadahl.com

Kedryn
Posts: 2
Joined: Tuesday 19 December 2017 15:29
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by Kedryn » Tuesday 19 December 2017 17:41

This version seems to be working. Now i have to read some docs. Will i be able to connect an Arduino Uno via usb directly to my Nas?

RR1974
Posts: 10
Joined: Tuesday 19 December 2017 21:46
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by RR1974 » Wednesday 20 December 2017 0:46

Hello I have a synology Ds212J and would like to install domoticz. I can not do it. I select myself on the site www.jadahl.com and which version I try I get an error message every time. Install node js and with the other version i need to install node js v4. What can I do about it?

Thank you for the assistance.

RR1974
Posts: 10
Joined: Tuesday 19 December 2017 21:46
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to install Domoticz on a Synology NAS

Post by RR1974 » Wednesday 20 December 2017 21:00


Anywone ?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G955F met Tapatalk


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest