How To Replace Domoticz Certificate

On various Hardware and OS systems: pi / windows / routers / nas, etc
Post Reply
ftsikogi
Posts: 10
Joined: Wednesday 10 June 2015 9:21
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

How To Replace Domoticz Certificate

Post by ftsikogi » Friday 15 September 2017 12:35

Version: v3.8153
Platform: Windows 10
Plugin/Hardware: Intel NUC
Description:

I am interested in learning how to replace domoticz certificate on a windows 10 machine. Lets assume that i own a certificate from comodo or another authority and i want to change my domoticz server to run that certificate. How this is accomplished?

Thank you

KevinR
Posts: 22
Joined: Saturday 07 May 2016 22:10
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: How To Replace Domoticz Certificate

Post by KevinR » Saturday 04 November 2017 19:13

Hi ftslkogl,
I am struggling to setup SSL on Domotics / Windows 10. HTTP works well, now want to add the default certificate, initially.

All of the web posts refer to 'domoticz.sh' file to setup the config, but I cannot find it in my installation folders!

Are you able to give me any pointers?

Thanks

Regards
KevinR

ftsikogi
Posts: 10
Joined: Wednesday 10 June 2015 9:21
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How To Replace Domoticz Certificate

Post by ftsikogi » Tuesday 07 November 2017 11:26

Domoticz has native HTTPS / SSL support since Version 2.2563 (June 14th 2015). Are you using an old version?

Thanks

KevinR
Posts: 22
Joined: Saturday 07 May 2016 22:10
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: How To Replace Domoticz Certificate

Post by KevinR » Tuesday 07 November 2017 20:41

Hi ftsikogi,
With a little help from friends I got it sorted by initiating the native SSL via the command line on my start icon (Windows does not use 'domoticz.sh')

I added: -www 8080 -sslwww 443 -loglevel=0 -sslcert "C:\Program Files (x86)\Domoticz\server_cert.pem"

it worked immediately. e.g. it works remotely with my iPhone using Domotix app with SSL.

However, it does not work properly with Browsers:
Safari - will not connect - invalid certificate and you cannot continue
Explorer, Edge & Chrome - shows as 'insecure' which you can ignore and carry on.

I am trying to connect Alexa via 'Controlicz', but Alexa will not 'find' my 'FloorPlan/RoomPlans or Switches' - invalid certificate!!!

Tried 'Let’s Encrypt' the free, automated, and open Certificate Authority - but I need a .PEM file and I am struggling with this.

Thanks for your replies.

Regards

Kevin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest