Synology power usage, switch to RPi/windows?

On various Hardware and OS systems: pi / windows / routers / nas, etc
Post Reply
xces
Posts: 56
Joined: Thursday 05 February 2015 10:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Synology power usage, switch to RPi/windows?

Post by xces » Wednesday 02 August 2017 10:49

So i am a long timer user (and made some contributions to the code) of Domoticz, and i always had it running on my Synology. Since i want to become more energy efficient at home, i found out that my Synology is using 50w of power. Because the Z-Stick is plugged into the USB port, the Synology does not hibernate (at all).

I also had to install a windows PC (also consuming 40w/power) for my camera system at home.
Next to that, i also have a raspberry pi 1 which is my print server.

I am using Domoticz only for ZWave and i am using the dzVents system. Before i try anything i basically want to know if:
- Domoticz on windows is as stable/feature rich as on linux (this way i could add Domoticz to my windows security system)
- Which Raspberry Pi do you need for running the latest features of Domoticz, maybe the ODROID-XU4 is a better alternative..

pvm
Posts: 920
Joined: Tuesday 17 June 2014 22:14
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Synology power usage, switch to RPi/windows?

Post by pvm » Wednesday 02 August 2017 12:40

Raspberry PI 3 is faster (in user experience) than 2B.
In my setup 10-15 zwave devices and some additional scripts performance is perfect
Synology NAS, PI3, ZWave, Xiamo zigbee devices, BTLE plant sensor

dlefol
Posts: 31
Joined: Monday 21 December 2015 17:35
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Synology power usage, switch to RPi/windows?

Post by dlefol » Wednesday 02 August 2017 14:05

I've used a RPi 2B with domoticz and dzVents without problem for over a year. Just upgraded recently to a RPi 3 as I wanted have other software running on the same machine and the CPU is rarely over 10%. As far as I'm concerned I'm very happy with this setup (I selected it for the same reason as you : low power consumption at less than 5W).

xces
Posts: 56
Joined: Thursday 05 February 2015 10:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Synology power usage, switch to RPi/windows?

Post by xces » Sunday 06 August 2017 14:48

Anybody else with experience?

Jumper3126
Posts: 52
Joined: Thursday 31 December 2015 16:26
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Synology power usage, switch to RPi/windows?

Post by Jumper3126 » Friday 08 December 2017 11:47

I have mine running on a raspi 3. Also used to zero W without any issues.
I was considering to transfer to my new synology, but reading your post, I might they on the raspi as well :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest