Watermeter

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 976
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by sincze » Tuesday 13 October 2015 9:22

dressie wrote:
roblom wrote:I use it but with a PiFace between it. So you have to use a non latest kernel version otherwise it doesn't work.
So you have to use a PiFace for it?
Sorry at the moment this sensor is to expensive for me can't help you at the moment.
Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

hyla
Posts: 47
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 16:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: current
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by hyla » Tuesday 13 October 2015 18:02

gizmocuz wrote: I think you should upgrade to the beta version of domoticz, remove the water meter devices, and power the mysensors node back up.
You should receive a meter, that you can edit, and set the type to 'water'
Since We talked about the energy meter I have switched to the beta version. I've tried Your suggestion as above. I DID find the button to change the type
to "water" so I can see the total amount of water used measured in liters (and not kWh ;) ). But I still get TWO devices from ONE sensor with the other
being the water flow in percentage (You are on to this, right? :) ). While on the energy meter the whole info is shown neatly in just one window (total kWh,
kWh today, current watt usage).
And I still don't really know where the second device comes from. In my sensor firmware I don't issue a second CHILD_ID:

Code: Select all

#define CHILD_ID 1              // Id of the sensor child

MyMessage flowMsg(CHILD_ID, V_FLOW);            // message for usage
MyMessage volumeMsg(CHILD_ID, V_VOLUME);        // message for volume
MyMessage pcMsg(CHILD_ID, V_VAR1);              // message for sending pulse count
and later

Code: Select all

gw.present(CHILD_ID, S_WATER);                // Register this device as water meter sensor
gw.present(CHILD_ID, V_VAR1);                 // present
No second ID ... (the IDs I get reported are as I wrote 00000010 for the water flow/percentage and 1001 for water/RFXMeter.
About the 8/l pulse problem, you should solve this in your sketch
Ah, but I was curious how the others are dealing with this. I know this is not a Domotizc topic :)
I could use some sort of "dead man switch". If no pulse has occured after a given period, a value of
"0" for current consumption is sent out. I'm probably preventing myself from detecting a tiny water
leakage. But I could only detect that anyway if we were all gone for a week. In our daily water usage
such a tiny amount is ... drowned ;)
But as I said, I was interested what others did about it ...

Thanks for Your input!
Christoph

User avatar
gizmocuz
Posts: 8684
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Top of the world
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by gizmocuz » Tuesday 13 October 2015 20:00

I'm not on it yet, this will be for a next stable version

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
Quality outlives Quantity!

hyla
Posts: 47
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 16:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: current
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by hyla » Sunday 18 October 2015 21:00

Hi,

I think :) I got it working. One thing though: as I wrote I get two separate devices, one for the flow (l/min) and one with
(I suppose ...) total water usage in cubic meters and the usage of the current day (in liters).
Now, I started the sensor today and get a reading of 40 l for today and 0.4 m3 in total which is off by a factor of
10, it should be 0.04 m3, shouldn't it? In the log I get a total of 400 l (again factor 10).

In my firmware I registered 40 pulse counts, with one count being one liter. The value for "volume" which is
send to domoticz is calculated by dividing the pulse count by my pulsefactor which is 1000, giving me a
value of 0.04 which is then sent.

Any explanation anyone?

Thanks,
Christoph

hyla
Posts: 47
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 16:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: current
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by hyla » Tuesday 20 October 2015 22:30

Silly me ;)

I stumbled across the settings page for the Meters/Counters. So that's settled then.
Flow rate and daily water consumption give plausible values. Nice.
Two down, one to go. The gasmeter will be hardest. No wheel, no internal
magnet, just numbers. Yuck.

Christoph

joshimosh
Posts: 97
Joined: Friday 29 May 2015 7:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by joshimosh » Sunday 25 October 2015 15:27

hyla wrote:Silly me ;)

I stumbled across the settings page for the Meters/Counters. So that's settled then.
Flow rate and daily water consumption give plausible values. Nice.
Two down, one to go. The gasmeter will be hardest. No wheel, no internal
magnet, just numbers. Yuck.

Christoph
I think I have a similar gasmeter, just digits - but take a close look at the rightmost digit (which turns fastest). In my case, number 6 has a reflecting spot in it. You can detect it with a barriet line track sensor (have a look at the MySensor wrb pages). Works very well and reliable. It is not too elegant to mount it at the meter, but since (in my case) the meter is down in the basement and not in my living room, so who cares ...

BTW, what number did you enter in the settings page for pulses per cubic meters ? I still have no idea how these numbers relate to the pulses I get from my gasmeter (100 pulses per cubic meter).

Cheers
Josh

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 976
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by sincze » Wednesday 01 June 2016 22:09

Anyone a suggestion why my daily counter is not set to reset to 0 when a new day starts :D ??
Mysensors_watermeter.JPG
Mysensors_watermeter.JPG (18.41 KiB) Viewed 1664 times
?

I am running:

Code: Select all

Domoticz V3.5187
Build Hash: 1660d9a
Build Date: 2016-05-29 10:24:10
I implemented watermeter in mysensors 1.5 not using the interrupts to avoid the false ones created by my tcrt-5000.
Code:
https://www.mysensors.org/build/pulse_water and
https://github.com/sincze/mysensors-watermeter

Sensor seems to be working however not resetting the daily counter.

I did wait 48 hours.... unfortunately no result yet.
https://forum.mysensors.org/topic/2143/ ... r-meter/12
Attachments
Mysensors_watermeter-usage.JPG
Mysensors_watermeter-usage.JPG (34.2 KiB) Viewed 1664 times
Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

User avatar
gizmocuz
Posts: 8684
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Top of the world
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by gizmocuz » Sunday 05 June 2016 9:35

I think the values you are sending are incorrect... 0E, 5E, 10E, 15E....
Quality outlives Quantity!

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 976
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by sincze » Sunday 05 June 2016 13:06

Oh no.
Did not know that.
If I should send countervalue+E you must be right.
Thx. I'm currently just sending plain 'integer' values.
Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

User avatar
gizmocuz
Posts: 8684
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Top of the world
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by gizmocuz » Sunday 05 June 2016 13:31

try to get the value right first, maybe sending a fixed value like 123456

The water divider in the domoticz settings is by default 100
Quality outlives Quantity!

michaelm86
Posts: 28
Joined: Friday 02 February 2018 12:36
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by michaelm86 » Tuesday 26 June 2018 12:47

Hi Guys,

I just bought this watermeter.
http://www.bestelsnel.nu/winkel/O212000 ... 0pulsgever

I have a lot of stuff connected to domoticz. But im new to the watermeters in domoticz.

Can you guys help met out how to connect te water meter to domoticz and what is need to do?

thanks in advance!
Domoticz 3.8153 on linux laptop ubuntu 17.10 | Toon Thermostat | RFlink usb gateway

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 976
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by sincze » Tuesday 26 June 2018 19:38

michaelm86 wrote:
Tuesday 26 June 2018 12:47
Hi Guys,

I just bought this watermeter.
http://www.bestelsnel.nu/winkel/O212000 ... 0pulsgever

I have a lot of stuff connected to domoticz. But im new to the watermeters in domoticz.

Can you guys help met out how to connect te water meter to domoticz and what is need to do?

thanks in advance!
Interested in an ESP solution?? With ESPEASY pulse counter ? :lol:
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

michaelm86
Posts: 28
Joined: Friday 02 February 2018 12:36
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by michaelm86 » Wednesday 27 June 2018 8:18

sincze wrote:
Tuesday 26 June 2018 19:38
michaelm86 wrote:
Tuesday 26 June 2018 12:47
Hi Guys,

I just bought this watermeter.
http://www.bestelsnel.nu/winkel/O212000 ... 0pulsgever

I have a lot of stuff connected to domoticz. But im new to the watermeters in domoticz.

Can you guys help met out how to connect te water meter to domoticz and what is need to do?

thanks in advance!
Interested in an ESP solution?? With ESPEASY pulse counter ? :lol:
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Hahaha! yes i am. i have already got some esps with espeasy in use. the only problem is that my watermeter in place is to old... at least i think. it only has a counter. no clocks..

or do you have another solution to that? :)
Domoticz 3.8153 on linux laptop ubuntu 17.10 | Toon Thermostat | RFlink usb gateway

freijn
Posts: 387
Joined: Friday 23 December 2016 17:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands Purmerend
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by freijn » Wednesday 27 June 2018 11:41

Micheal,

We ( small group) thought the same but.....

have a look "under" your meter. There might be a small hole where you can put a reed contact in and start counting.

Best would be if you upload a picture of it..

Cheers,

Frank

michaelm86
Posts: 28
Joined: Friday 02 February 2018 12:36
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Watermeter

Post by michaelm86 » Wednesday 27 June 2018 11:43

freijn wrote:
Wednesday 27 June 2018 11:41
Micheal,

We ( small group) thought the same but.....

have a look "under" your meter. There might be a small hole where you can put a reed contact in and start counting.

Best would be if you upload a picture of it..

Cheers,

Frank
Hi Frank,

Thanks i Will check it out tonight! and i will upload a picture. :)
Domoticz 3.8153 on linux laptop ubuntu 17.10 | Toon Thermostat | RFlink usb gateway

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest