Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

In this subforum you can show projects you have made, or you are busy with. Please create your own topic.
User avatar
heggink
Posts: 177
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 21:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.7067
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby heggink » Tuesday 11 April 2017 20:25

Did you put your devices in a room? Unless they are in a room, alexa won't be able to find them.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn HUAWEI NXT-L29 met Tapatalk
Pi3, latest beta
RFXCOM, z-wave (AEOTEC, switches, temhum, pir, contacts),
Plugwise2py, P1 'smart'meter & solar panel
Alexa, Wifi Cams motion detection
ESP: relays, PIR & Temp/TempHum
Geofence iCloud, Bluetooth & Wifi ping
Harmony hub, Nest

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Tuesday 11 April 2017 20:45

heggink wrote:Did you put your devices in a room? Unless they are in a room, alexa won't be able to find them.



thanks, I did no know that. But almost all my devices are in a room. In the AWS test results I don't see any off my defined rooms. Should I see something there?
{
"applianceId": "1313",
"manufacturerName": "Razberry",
"modelName": "Switch",
"version": "On/Off",
"friendlyName": "Bewegingsmelder hal",
"friendlyDescription": "Light/Switch",
"isReachable": true,
"actions": [
"incrementPercentage",
"decrementPercentage",
"setPercentage",
"turnOn",
"turnOff"
],
"additionalApplianceDetails": {
"maxDimLevel": 100,
"switchis": "On/Off",
"WhatAmI": "light"
}
},

However I have over 800 active devices, can that be a problem, as far as you know?

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Tuesday 11 April 2017 20:48

I have another issue, when testing in AWS I see requests coming in on my reverse proxy, when using Alexa there is nothing in my log.

markk
Posts: 380
Joined: Tuesday 14 January 2014 15:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby markk » Tuesday 11 April 2017 23:25

Madgeni wrote:
markk wrote:Hi. I followed the original instructions weeks ago and was so pleased to get this working. The update to allow renaming of devices is drawing me in but I don't want to start the whole process again in case I break anything. Is someone able to tell me what are the bits I need to amend please?


All you need to do is:
In Domoticz - under switches
in the Description - put: Alexa_Name:Your Name For Alexa - where Your Name For Alexa is the name you want.

Then Forget and Discover in Alexa app.

This is after you've downloaded, zipped and uploaded the code from github (making sure to update the conf.json to your own settings).

To be sure, download your code from your lambda first, so you can revert back to it with no problem


Thanks Madgeni

I've been messing with this all evening now but still can't get it to work. I changed the name on a couple of switches and then forgot these from Alexa. I then asked Alexa app to discover devices again and I can see the request going through Lambda but the devices don't reappear on the app again and neither does Alexa recognise them. I reloaded the old zip file and they all reappear again but obviously without the renaming functionality. Ive attached the log in lambda in case it gives any clues. Any idea please?

Code: Select all

[attachment=0]Alexa.txt[/attachment]
Attachments
Alexa.txt
(4.2 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Running Domoticz on Pi3 with RFXtrx433e. LWRF power sockets and dimmer switches. Integrated my existing wirefree alarm PIRs and door contacts with domoticz. Geofencing with Pilot. Harmony Hub. Tado for Heating. Now playing with mysensors.

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Wednesday 12 April 2017 7:20

markk wrote:
I've been messing with this all evening now but still can't get it to work. I changed the name on a couple of switches and then forgot these from Alexa. I then asked Alexa app to discover devices again and I can see the request going through Lambda but the devices don't reappear on the app again and neither does Alexa recognise them. I reloaded the old zip file and they all reappear again but obviously without the renaming functionality. Ive attached the log in lambda in case it gives any clues. Any idea please?

Code: Select all

[attachment=0]Alexa.txt[/attachment]


Hi Markk, what do you mean with: I can see the request going through lambda.

When you Ask Alexa to discover, then on the AWS website you can follow that process ??
Should the Alexa actions be logged with /aws/lambda/{projectname] ?
There I can only find the tests I did from the AWS website. but none of all the alexa tests I did.

I hope this can help me find my problem.

gr.
Aren

HarryDutch
Posts: 8
Joined: Sunday 03 January 2016 12:57
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby HarryDutch » Wednesday 12 April 2017 9:59

When signing up for an AWS account you need to enter your credit card information. To be honest I'm quite reluctant to leave my credit card information on the internet. I already know that a prepaid credit card is not accepted. Does anyone of you know another way to get an AWS account without a credit card or by using another payment option?

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Wednesday 12 April 2017 10:15

HarryDutch wrote:When signing up for an AWS account you need to enter your credit card information. To be honest I'm quite reluctant to leave my credit card information on the internet. I already know that a prepaid credit card is not accepted. Does anyone of you know another way to get an AWS account without a credit card or by using another payment option?


Hi Harry,

a prepaid credit card is accepted . I used pay2d.nl ( for the Dutch)
mycard2go.com is an alternative (same company)

Don't put to much money on the card, after 1 year you have to pay or it is all lost ;-)

HarryDutch
Posts: 8
Joined: Sunday 03 January 2016 12:57
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby HarryDutch » Wednesday 12 April 2017 10:43

qwerk wrote:
HarryDutch wrote:When signing up for an AWS account you need to enter your credit card information. To be honest I'm quite reluctant to leave my credit card information on the internet. I already know that a prepaid credit card is not accepted. Does anyone of you know another way to get an AWS account without a credit card or by using another payment option?


Hi Harry,

a prepaid credit card is accepted . I used pay2d.nl ( for the Dutch)
mycard2go.com is an alternative (same company)

Don't put to much money on the card, after 1 year you have to pay or it is all lost ;-)


Ah! That's great. Thanks very much for this information!

markk
Posts: 380
Joined: Tuesday 14 January 2014 15:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby markk » Wednesday 12 April 2017 12:40

qwerk wrote:
markk wrote:
I've been messing with this all evening now but still can't get it to work. I changed the name on a couple of switches and then forgot these from Alexa. I then asked Alexa app to discover devices again and I can see the request going through Lambda but the devices don't reappear on the app again and neither does Alexa recognise them. I reloaded the old zip file and they all reappear again but obviously without the renaming functionality. Ive attached the log in lambda in case it gives any clues. Any idea please?

Code: Select all

[attachment=0]Alexa.txt[/attachment]


Hi Markk, what do you mean with: I can see the request going through lambda.

When you Ask Alexa to discover, then on the AWS website you can follow that process ??
Should the Alexa actions be logged with /aws/lambda/{projectname] ?
There I can only find the tests I did from the AWS website. but none of all the alexa tests I did.

I hope this can help me find my problem.

gr.
Aren


On the page where you upload the zip file in AWS theres an option to test. I tested using the device discovery code at the very end of the manual and all showed up in AWS. Then I went to the alexa app on my phone and pressed discover devices and I could see the progress of this on the same test page in AWS. However, none of my devices are actually updated/discovered with the new version. Works perfectly with the old one though :(
Running Domoticz on Pi3 with RFXtrx433e. LWRF power sockets and dimmer switches. Integrated my existing wirefree alarm PIRs and door contacts with domoticz. Geofencing with Pilot. Harmony Hub. Tado for Heating. Now playing with mysensors.

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Wednesday 12 April 2017 13:02

markk wrote:On the page where you upload the zip file in AWS theres an option to test. I tested using the device discovery code at the very end of the manual and all showed up in AWS. Then I went to the alexa app on my phone and pressed discover devices and I could see the progress of this on the same test page in AWS. However, none of my devices are actually updated/discovered with the new version. Works perfectly with the old one though :(



ok, thanks. So it seems we have a version issue. I have to wait for a version update.

markk
Posts: 380
Joined: Tuesday 14 January 2014 15:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby markk » Wednesday 12 April 2017 13:12

I think it's far more likely to be user error on my part than a version issue. I think I'm missing something somewhere. others have this working just fine.
Running Domoticz on Pi3 with RFXtrx433e. LWRF power sockets and dimmer switches. Integrated my existing wirefree alarm PIRs and door contacts with domoticz. Geofencing with Pilot. Harmony Hub. Tado for Heating. Now playing with mysensors.

Madgeni
Posts: 203
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby Madgeni » Thursday 13 April 2017 9:49

qwerk wrote:I have another issue, when testing in AWS I see requests coming in on my reverse proxy, when using Alexa there is nothing in my log.


Hi qwerk

So your lambda is in the EU-West, are you using English(UK) or English(US) in your skill? Clearly the lambda is working ok, as the discovery is running (the room plan thing finds devices that are in plans, but does NOT return the room names)
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Thursday 13 April 2017 12:12

Madgeni wrote:Hi qwerk

So your lambda is in the EU-West, are you using English(UK) or English(US) in your skill? Clearly the lambda is working ok, as the discovery is running (the room plan thing finds devices that are in plans, but does NOT return the room names)



Hi Madgeni,

my Lambda is in EU-west, I am using English(US).
I have a feeling that my skill is not communicating with Lambda ( if that is possible)
Is there a way to see that my skill is actually using, or trying to use "my" lambda

Madgeni
Posts: 203
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby Madgeni » Thursday 13 April 2017 22:35

Try English(UK) please
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Thursday 13 April 2017 22:54

I Tried UK even German. all gave the same result. ( not a complete rebuild)
Do you think it could be a language issue. If so I will rebuild all with UK and give that a try tomorrow

Madgeni
Posts: 203
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby Madgeni » Friday 14 April 2017 10:15

Hi -

there seems to be an issue with the discovery, have reverted to the last working version. Please try that one before you start debugging your setup!

Update - think i've fixed it - pull the latest version and try again for me?
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni

Madgeni
Posts: 203
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby Madgeni » Friday 14 April 2017 10:42

qwerk wrote:
Madgeni wrote:Hi qwerk

So your lambda is in the EU-West, are you using English(UK) or English(US) in your skill? Clearly the lambda is working ok, as the discovery is running (the room plan thing finds devices that are in plans, but does NOT return the room names)



Hi Madgeni,

my Lambda is in EU-west, I am using English(US).
I have a feeling that my skill is not communicating with Lambda ( if that is possible)
Is there a way to see that my skill is actually using, or trying to use "my" lambda


you can check the Cloudwatch logs in your lambda to see if your skill is calling it or not
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Friday 14 April 2017 11:07

Hi, I used the fresh code from github.
now on the AWS test it only gives me 2 devices back. I only added alexa_name to 2 devices, so that looks normal.
But I still think, that my skill is never getting to the code on the AWS site.


I Cross exchanged referenced the ARN and the Skill trigger.
What else can I do to test?
The accounts that I use on developer and aws are NOT the same, but that shouldn't matter, I guess.

qwerk
Posts: 131
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby qwerk » Friday 14 April 2017 11:22

Do you know if there is a way to test at the developer site. I can make typos and I do not get errors.
IS there a skill logging?

Madgeni
Posts: 203
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Postby Madgeni » Friday 14 April 2017 11:31

hmm - it should return all devices in room plans, and if they have "alexa_name" set, change their description. Do you have more than 2 devices in room plans?

Re: accounts, I would imagine it *does* need the same accounts. When you use a custom skill, you can use IAM to permission more widely, but i think Smart Home Skill has canned permissioning.

Yes, as I said before, you can use the CloudWatch logs to check the skill - Lambda > Monitoring tab> View logs in Cloudwatch - and where are you putting typos? You don't need to touch the code other than the conf.json
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni


Return to “Show your projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: manjh and 7 guests