How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Wagoneermaster
Posts: 1
Joined: Friday 09 March 2018 0:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by Wagoneermaster » Friday 09 March 2018 0:48

Hello everybody,

I have been looking over again, but I can't just get it to work. Such a simple thing as a small preview box of my IP camera on the dashboard. No switching anything, just a simple preview!

No scripting whatsoever, just adding a box, selecting a cam and done. Please help!!!!

viruscz
Posts: 3
Joined: Friday 09 March 2018 2:24
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by viruscz » Friday 09 March 2018 2:46

hi,
1. make a new page in domoticz\www\templates nameit like: webcam.html and edit with notepad:

<br>
<h2>page name</h2>
<br>
<div style="float:center; width:520px; height:360">
<h2>Cam name</h2>
<br>
<a href="javascript:SwitchLayout('cam')"><img alt="video" id="imgDisplay" name="cam name" src="http://192.168.10.125:92/snapshot.cgi?user="user text"&pwd="password text"" width="480" height="360"></a>
</div>

2. add your cam in the domoticz setup cam with name of cam name from the page. then make a scene with this cam and use Aurora theme.

This are 2 variants how to add a cam to dashboard

User avatar
remb0
Posts: 1002
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 22:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by remb0 » Friday 09 March 2018 12:09

use the theme aurora that theme made it possible.

pandy
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 13 July 2017 11:39
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by pandy » Monday 19 March 2018 16:14

Hi, can you tell me how ?
I only see a widget with no preview..
Thanks

User avatar
remb0
Posts: 1002
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 22:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by remb0 » Monday 19 March 2018 16:53

check topic or wiki of aurora. It's really simple.
install aurora, check settings, setup camera, click on on dashboard.

User avatar
remb0
Posts: 1002
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 22:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by remb0 » Monday 19 March 2018 16:53

check topic or wiki of aurora. It's really simple.
install aurora, check settings, setup camera, click on on dashboard.

pandy
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 13 July 2017 11:39
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by pandy » Monday 19 March 2018 17:37

Hello and thanks for the reply..
I installed the Aurora theme, I created a switch and associated it with my IPCam but when I create the widget I see a gray rectangle and only if I click on the small icon in the shape of a webcam I open the preview of my IPcam..
in the wiky page you see the widget that has the webcam image as background .. maybe I'm wrong?

Image

viruscz
Posts: 3
Joined: Friday 09 March 2018 2:24
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by viruscz » Monday 19 March 2018 20:11

did you have the cam in the scene ?

pandy
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 13 July 2017 11:39
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by pandy » Wednesday 21 March 2018 19:13

Hello and thanks for reply..
I try to add cam in the scene but I find only the "button" that I created and associated with IPcam..
I create a scene with the IPcam button created but nothing happens.... surely I'm missing something..
but in the widget you see the preview of the IPcam or am I wrong?
Thanks

JasonLewitt
Posts: 1
Joined: Wednesday 25 April 2018 19:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by JasonLewitt » Wednesday 25 April 2018 19:45

pandy wrote:
Wednesday 21 March 2018 19:13

but in the widget you see the preview of the IPcam or am I wrong?
Yes you should i think...

leandrosaltori
Posts: 25
Joined: Tuesday 06 February 2018 21:04
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by leandrosaltori » Thursday 10 May 2018 21:41

pandy wrote:
Monday 19 March 2018 17:37
Hello and thanks for the reply..
I installed the Aurora theme, I created a switch and associated it with my IPCam but when I create the widget I see a gray rectangle and only if I click on the small icon in the shape of a webcam I open the preview of my IPcam..
in the wiky page you see the widget that has the webcam image as background .. maybe I'm wrong?

Image
Can you see the image in real time, or does it only show pictures when triggering a scene?

pandy
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 13 July 2017 11:39
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by pandy » Friday 11 May 2018 12:50

Hello,
I can't see the image in real time in the frame..
I see a gray rectangle and only when I click on the ip-cam icon, a window opens with the live of the ipcam.
thanks

edwinh81
Posts: 2
Joined: Wednesday 27 December 2017 18:20
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by edwinh81 » Thursday 12 July 2018 11:05

Have yoy been able to fix this one?

I run into the exact same problem.

nood
Posts: 21
Joined: Sunday 26 July 2015 13:33
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by nood » Wednesday 08 August 2018 10:30

edwinh81 wrote:
Thursday 12 July 2018 11:05
Have yoy been able to fix this one?

I run into the exact same problem.
I also had this problem, but I found a way to get it to work.

I added a scene to my camera instead of a switch. Also make sure you have the normal view and not the compact.

Edit: the solution is much more simple :roll:. just drag the camera switch to one of the top 3 positions.

lost
Posts: 198
Joined: Thursday 10 November 2016 10:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by lost » Tuesday 04 September 2018 11:39

Wagoneermaster wrote:
Friday 09 March 2018 0:48
I have been looking over again, but I can't just get it to work. Such a simple thing as a small preview box of my IP camera on the dashboard.
I'm also looking for a way to do this, without changing default theme... Some says you can create a switch on a camera, but didn't find how to do this (i'm still using "old-stable" v3.8153 as last stable seems to create many problems and reversing looks problematic because DB needs migration)?

Is there a standard way to do this (even from a custom web page tab)? This is really a missing feature, as my cameras (i'm not confident in their firmware security) are not allowed to directly connect to the outside (gateway defined to a bad IP + modem firewall not allowing external connection to/from cams IPs) I'm really interested in a convenient way to reach them from Domoticz web page.

User avatar
amplituda
Posts: 11
Joined: Thursday 23 August 2018 14:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by amplituda » Monday 10 September 2018 13:17

lost wrote:
Tuesday 04 September 2018 11:39
Wagoneermaster wrote:
Friday 09 March 2018 0:48
I have been looking over again, but I can't just get it to work. Such a simple thing as a small preview box of my IP camera on the dashboard.
I'm also looking for a way to do this, without changing default theme... Some says you can create a switch on a camera, but didn't find how to do this
If I understand you correctly, then you need to create a virtual switch Dummy and specify it as a slave on the desired camera - everything, the camera icon will appear on this switch.
Attachments
IMG_20180910_142225_409.jpg
1
IMG_20180910_142225_409.jpg (147.45 KiB) Viewed 2342 times
IMG_20180910_142250_659.jpg
2
IMG_20180910_142250_659.jpg (127.61 KiB) Viewed 2342 times

lost
Posts: 198
Joined: Thursday 10 November 2016 10:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by lost » Tuesday 11 September 2018 13:10

amplituda wrote:
Monday 10 September 2018 13:17
If I understand you correctly, then you need to create a virtual switch Dummy and specify it as a slave on the desired camera - everything, the camera icon will appear on this switch.
Your understanding is correct, but after adding a new virtual switch in tuning/hardware tab, when I want to add it manually to switches tab, selecting slave mode, the list for master device linking is empty (even if my camera setup is OK in tuning/other devices).

Is there something to do to enable a device being master of others I may have missed?

User avatar
Antori91
Posts: 109
Joined: Sunday 12 February 2017 18:12
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 4.97&3.5
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by Antori91 » Wednesday 12 September 2018 10:30

lost wrote:
Tuesday 11 September 2018 13:10
amplituda wrote:
Monday 10 September 2018 13:17
If I understand you correctly, then you need to create a virtual switch Dummy and specify it as a slave on the desired camera - everything, the camera icon will appear on this switch.
Your understanding is correct, but after adding a new virtual switch in tuning/hardware tab, when I want to add it manually to switches tab, selecting slave mode, the list for master device linking is empty (even if my camera setup is OK in tuning/other devices).

Is there something to do to enable a device being master of others I may have missed?
Hello Lost,
I'm not sure to understand well your issue. In the camera setup screen, you have *first* to select your camera, then the (dummy switch) device already linked to this camera appears...But...Even if I've installed my cameras in Domoticz, I don't display them using Domoticz. The Domoticz camera display mode is awful (I don't speak for the Aurora Theme, I didn't try it) especially with smartphone device. You better use motionEye for such feature. It is really nice for camera display. I use Domoticz to turn on/off my cameras, manage PTZ camera ("doing camera patrol"), take snapshots and arming/disarming motionEye motion alarm feature http://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopic ... 38&t=22436
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (226.67 KiB) Viewed 2225 times
Domoticz High Availability Cluster: Synology Dz V3.5877 (Main) - Raspberry Dz V4.97 (Backup) - Scripts Node.js
Alarm server: Raspberry - motionEye - iot_ALARM-SVR Node.js
Sensors/Actuators: ESP8266-Arduino
https://github.com/Antori91/Home_Automation

lost
Posts: 198
Joined: Thursday 10 November 2016 10:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by lost » Wednesday 12 September 2018 13:32

Antori91 wrote:
Wednesday 12 September 2018 10:30

I'm not sure to understand well your issue. In the camera setup screen, you have *first* to select your camera, then the (dummy switch) device already linked to this camera appears...
Problem is dummy switch must be slave of camera (what you mean by "link" I presume)... But when I try to edit dummy switch properties, after setting slave mode, the drop-down config list to setup a master device is empty!

Maybe there would be a solution with motion/motionEye, but looks using motion (especially using several cams/video flows) on a PI takes too much CPU.

As well, I've good wired cameras & wifi ones where there's no wire. So bandwith may also become a problem is cams (especially wifi) are continuously sending video over my LAN.

=> I rely on device integrated motion detection, even if not perfect (basic setup unable to prevent luminosity variations, even nigh/day mode switching, from generating false captures...). These captures are sent on a FTP (thus LAN bandwith only used when needed) managed by the PI on a tmpfs, with one subdir per cam checked every 10s by a python service that will notify captures to Domoticz using a virtual PIR switch (+7zip them encrypted & e-mail to a dedicated google account). So this can be linked to my global alarm management using real devices (PIR, door switches..), using a weighting mechanism (each switch type have it's own weight, based on device name with a prefix convention) to reject the few false positive that may occur from time to time with outside sensors: Weights are added on a 1mn sliding window base and if they exceed a figure, siren is started.

So, only feature needed is a way to get the video from Domoticz page when needed because the cams are not directly accessible from the outside. Your setup would hurt my current working way too much I think, even if I already considered using a motion daemon from the PI... but linked to the FTP captures: This may be the best of both worlds. Net bandwith only used when needed & better rejection of false positives using PI Linux motion detection (with low CPU use thanks to cam own motion detection use)!

At the time, I only use some utilities (based on jpg captures histogram) to remove files with low contrast (most of those resulting from day/night switching: I get a lot as I have a PIR managed outside lighting that kicks-in with every cats(/fox/weasel...) that gets there at night, triggering night vision switching 10's a night. Even those had to be carefully tuned to be able to analyse all images I can get in a 10s slice (so, motion would fit??)!

User avatar
Antori91
Posts: 109
Joined: Sunday 12 February 2017 18:12
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 4.97&3.5
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How to... show live feed from camera on dashboard

Post by Antori91 » Wednesday 12 September 2018 14:39

I've setup my cameras months ago so I don't remember everything (and you do it only once). But I don't understand why you speak from the beginning about slave device. As far as I remember, for each camera, I created a dummy switch device, then went to the camera setup screen to attach it to a camera. Done ! No slave/master issue here !

About motionEye Raspberry CPU Utilization, in my environment for VGA display and two frames per second for display (values I set in motionEye) :
Mjpeg camera : about 4% CPU
H264 camera : about 10% CPU
These figures are only for cameras display from a device using motionEye website. It is much more less in non display mode (i.e. motionEye just monitoring the cameras for motion detection or motionEye idle). When I stop motionEye detection from Domoticz (what I call motionEye idle mode), even if I use 5 cameras, the extra CPU utilization is about 1/2 %.

About bandwidth, I use only WiFi in my house and I didn't notice any WiFi issue with motionEye even if the WiFi architecture I use is not optimized. Depending on their localization in my house, my cameras don't use the same SSID WiFi range extender to reach my Internet box, then the camera frames go using WiFi to my Raspberry (alarm server), connected to a WiFi range extender, to feed motionEye and then the motionEye video frames go back (still using WiFi of course) to my Internet box. The only network optimization I have is an Internet fiber connection. OK, it can happen only because my WiFi range extenders work great in my environment (not so easy to find good WiFi range extender from my experience).
Domoticz High Availability Cluster: Synology Dz V3.5877 (Main) - Raspberry Dz V4.97 (Backup) - Scripts Node.js
Alarm server: Raspberry - motionEye - iot_ALARM-SVR Node.js
Sensors/Actuators: ESP8266-Arduino
https://github.com/Antori91/Home_Automation

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests