Page 2 of 3

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Monday 23 July 2018 12:59
by dotms
You can try opening the debug console of your browser and see if any javascript errors show up.

If they do there's possibly some caching-related issue. Maybe you can try doing the same in private browsing mode, bypassing the cache?

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 02 August 2018 23:35
by ppan
Can I use Tado hardware with this plugin without letting the Tado hardware connect to internet?

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin - DNS weirdness

Posted: Friday 03 August 2018 9:20
by Andyf66
My Tado plugin seems to work OK, but I've noticed something odd.

I run my own local DNS server (Pihole) and looking at the logs, my Domoticz server seems to make *huge* amounts of DNS lookups for 'my.tado.com'. In the last 24 hours it appears to have made over 26,000 lookups on that one domain. These are cached, so don't really impact performance but it does seem pretty weird to me.

Any thoughts?

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Friday 03 August 2018 9:54
by dotms
ppan wrote:
Thursday 02 August 2018 23:35
Can I use Tado hardware with this plugin without letting the Tado hardware connect to internet?
Nope. Tado hardware only talks to the Tado servers. If you want to get something done on Tado devices you'll have to do it via the Tado servers. Local device is not able to do anything meaningful. Even the schedule is controlled by the Tado servers.
Andyf66 wrote:
Friday 03 August 2018 9:20
My Tado plugin seems to work OK, but I've noticed something odd.

I run my own local DNS server (Pihole) and looking at the logs, my Domoticz server seems to make *huge* amounts of DNS lookups for 'my.tado.com'. In the last 24 hours it appears to have made over 26,000 lookups on that one domain. These are cached, so don't really impact performance but it does seem pretty weird to me.

Any thoughts?
Your Linux installation probably does not have a caching dns resolver installed, so for every request it will have to resolve the my.tado.com domain again (which is cached by your PiHole installation, so in a certain way you do have a dns cache :lol: ). 26,000/day does not seem entirely unreasonable to me. Every 30 seconds or so about 4-10 or more requests are made to the Tado servers, depending on the number of zones and devices.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Friday 03 August 2018 10:46
by Andyf66
Your Linux installation probably does not have a caching dns resolver installed, so for every request it will have to resolve the my.tado.com domain again (which is cached by your PiHole installation, so in a certain way you do have a dns cache :lol: ). 26,000/day does not seem entirely unreasonable to me. Every 30 seconds or so about 4-10 or more requests are made to the Tado servers, depending on the number of zones and devices.
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. I've got 4 zones in total so I guess that makes sense. The load on the Pihole is negligible so I'm not too worried about adding an extra layer of DNS cache on my Domoticz Pi (A different device).

Is there any concern that Tado may start to rate limit requests at any point, as we're hitting their servers pretty hard (compared to a web user or the native apps)?

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 09 August 2018 13:13
by Andyf66
Anybody else having Tado login problems? Since the 5th Aug my log has been spammed with this

2018-08-09 12:03:48.495 Tado: Attempting login.
2018-08-09 12:03:48.520 Error: Tado: Failed to retrieve API environment from 2018-08-09 12:03:48.495 Tado: Attempting login.
2018-08-09 12:03:48.520 Error: Tado: Failed to retrieve API environment from https://my.tado.com/webapp/env.js

All my Tado devices are offline in Domoticz. No Tado changes from my end - password etc. I can also wget the URL specified from my Domoticz server.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 09 August 2018 15:00
by ronschaeffer
Andyf66 wrote:
Thursday 09 August 2018 13:13
Anybody else having Tado login problems? Since the 5th Aug my log has been spammed with this

2018-08-09 12:03:48.495 Tado: Attempting login.
2018-08-09 12:03:48.520 Error: Tado: Failed to retrieve API environment from 2018-08-09 12:03:48.495 Tado: Attempting login.
2018-08-09 12:03:48.520 Error: Tado: Failed to retrieve API environment from https://my.tado.com/webapp/env.js

All my Tado devices are offline in Domoticz. No Tado changes from my end - password etc. I can also wget the URL specified from my Domoticz server.
All working for me. I only added Tado to Domoticz for the first time a few days ago, however.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 09 August 2018 15:54
by dotms
Working fine here too. Has anything changed in your installation? OS updates, Domoticz updates, ... anything?

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 09 August 2018 16:50
by Andyf66
Hmmm. I’m running a special beta trying to track down some threading issues. Might be related I guess. :-(

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 09 August 2018 16:54
by dotms
Just make sure to use libssl1.0-dev when building. Domoticz seems to have some issues when used with libssl-dev.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 09 August 2018 19:59
by Andyf66
Thanks.

Builds were provided for me.... Just switched to the beta release today and Tado works fine, so definitely a problem with my 'special' build.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 09 August 2018 21:30
by ppan
dotms wrote:
Friday 03 August 2018 9:54
ppan wrote:
Thursday 02 August 2018 23:35
Can I use Tado hardware with this plugin without letting the Tado hardware connect to internet?
Nope. Tado hardware only talks to the Tado servers. If you want to get something done on Tado devices you'll have to do it via the Tado servers. Local device is not able to do anything meaningful. Even the schedule is controlled by the Tado servers.
Thanks for your answer. Guess I'll be returning my Tado hardware then.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Saturday 11 August 2018 10:59
by demandt
dotms wrote:
Monday 30 April 2018 19:04

Current features implemented:
  • Zone setpoint
  • Zone temperature/humidity
  • Zone away
  • Zone Heating On (is zone currently being heated)
  • Zone heating power %
  • Zone heating enabled (is zone allowed to turn on heating)
  • Zone manual setpoint override (turn off only)
Great plugin! For presence detection it would be great to see wich individual Phone is present or away. Is there a possibility you add this to the list of features?

Thnxs!

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Monday 13 August 2018 15:51
by corederoma82
I have seen that Domoticz support Tado, but this product also?

https://www.tado.com/it/prodotti/climat ... telligente

Or thermostat only?


Thanks

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Friday 17 August 2018 13:43
by ronschaeffer
Hi there -When I check the log, Domoticz is chatting with each of my Tado thermostats every minute. I don't really need that amount of precision. Is it possible to reduce the checks to, say, every 10 minutes to reduce network traffic?

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 06 September 2018 12:21
by henk99
Silly question perhaps, but do I understand correctly that you can't really control anything from this plugin? I can use it mainly to see the status of certain items right?

I'm asking because I would like to be able to switch warm water heating on/off from domoticz. So far that doesn't seem to work with the 'Heating enabled' or 'manual setpoint override'. Or am I missing something? :?:

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Thursday 13 September 2018 10:21
by henk99
henk99 wrote:
Thursday 06 September 2018 12:21
Silly question perhaps, but do I understand correctly that you can't really control anything from this plugin? I can use it mainly to see the status of certain items right?

I'm asking because I would like to be able to switch warm water heating on/off from domoticz. So far that doesn't seem to work with the 'Heating enabled' or 'manual setpoint override'. Or am I missing something? :?:
Could somebody elaborate on this please? Trying all kinds of things but can't get it to work yet.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Sunday 28 October 2018 13:24
by Onrust
henk99 wrote:
Thursday 13 September 2018 10:21
henk99 wrote:
Thursday 06 September 2018 12:21
Silly question perhaps, but do I understand correctly that you can't really control anything from this plugin? I can use it mainly to see the status of certain items right?

I'm asking because I would like to be able to switch warm water heating on/off from domoticz. So far that doesn't seem to work with the 'Heating enabled' or 'manual setpoint override'. Or am I missing something? :?:
Could somebody elaborate on this please? Trying all kinds of things but can't get it to work yet.
No, you should be able to control Tado from Domoticz, i.e. override the Tado schedule and set a manual target temperature, or revert back to the schedule you created in Tado.

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Wednesday 07 November 2018 22:58
by jompie
I recently installed the newest -stable version of Domoticz which includes the TADO plugin. Great work. The only thing I see is that it consumes almost all CPU usage (90%) when the data is retrieved. When I deactivate the hardware in Domoticz, Domoticz only consumes about 2-5 %. Are there possibilities to fix the CPU usage?

Re: Tado Thermostat plugin

Posted: Saturday 15 December 2018 1:28
by Davince
Great work on the Tado plugin! I use the geofencing from Tado to trigger if domoticz notifications for events should be sent to my phone. So when I am not at home, i get many msgs informing me on when the doorbell rings and if the door is opened/closed. If I am at home, my phone keeps quiet.
However, I do have an issue with certain rooms: after changing names and reassigning valves to other rooms, a few sensors disappeared. Allowing new hardware doesn’t help. Is there anything I can do? Remove Tado hardware and add it again is a bit drastic (losing history and will it succeed or will I lose all remaining sensors too?).
Thanks for your help!