Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

For heating/cooling related questions in Domoticz
Post Reply
User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 584
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

Post by StanHD » Monday 29 January 2018 17:33

Hi,
Firstly thank you for the Evohome implementation within Domoticz. I have been using it for a couple of years now, and it's excellent.
In the last week or so I have noticed the following error in the log occurring every hour:-

2018-01-29 13:54:31.732 Error: evohome: ACTUATOR_STATE: Error decoding command, unknown packet size: 1
2018-01-29 13:54:31.732 Error: evohome: unable to decode payload for command 3ef0
2018-01-29 13:54:33.732 Error: evohome: ACTUATOR_STATE: Error decoding command, unknown packet size: 1
2018-01-29 13:54:33.732 Error: evohome: unable to decode payload for command 3ef0
2018-01-29 13:54:35.737 Error: evohome: ACTUATOR_STATE: Error decoding command, unknown packet size: 1
2018-01-29 13:54:35.737 Error: evohome: unable to decode payload for command 3ef0
2018-01-29 14:54:32.494 Error: evohome: ACTUATOR_STATE: Error decoding command, unknown packet size: 1
2018-01-29 14:54:32.494 Error: evohome: unable to decode payload for command 3ef0
2018-01-29 14:54:34.484 Error: evohome: ACTUATOR_STATE: Error decoding command, unknown packet size: 1
2018-01-29 14:54:34.484 Error: evohome: unable to decode payload for command 3ef0
2018-01-29 14:54:36.489 Error: evohome: ACTUATOR_STATE: Error decoding command, unknown packet size: 1
2018-01-29 14:54:36.489 Error: evohome: unable to decode payload for command 3ef0

Domoticz Version:- V3.8740
Windows 7
HGI80 on USB
Evohome WiFi. Firmware version 2.xx (can't remember the exact number)

Everything in Domoticz is reporting OK, and Evohome is all working fine without any logged errors. So there is no functional problem, but wondered if anyone else is getting this, or knows of a fix?

Thanks,
Stan
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 584
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

Post by StanHD » Tuesday 30 January 2018 18:34

Replying to myself with some more info:-

Searching around on Automated Home forum it would appear the the Evohome firmware has been recently updated and at least 2 users are reporting the same errors from Domoticz / HGI80 set-ups.

The suggestion is that the new Evohome WiFi firmware 02.xx-- (rolled out by Honeywell automatically) may be the cause.

Anyone else? ;)
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 584
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

Post by StanHD » Thursday 01 March 2018 12:16

Anyone?

I have updated to Version 8944. Same problem, plus, another symptom is that Domoticz now crashes and re-starts when set points are changed using the JSON interface.

If no one else is experiencing these problems then perhaps it's just my installation. That being the case perhaps I should delete then re-install the Domoticz Evohome hardware. Does anyone have any advice if that might help?

Thanks.
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

User avatar
philchillbill
Posts: 205
Joined: Monday 12 September 2016 13:47
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Eindhoven. NL
Contact:

Re: Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

Post by philchillbill » Thursday 01 March 2018 12:56

Those 'errors' have been there for a long time, not just since the recent firmware update. The Honeywell RF protocol is not fully understood by the reverse-engineering community and from time to time the HGI80 spits out stuff that the Domoticz implementation can't quite place correctly. It's all harmless and the HGI80 still does within Domoticz what it should do. Strange you only notice that stuff in your log now - I've had it for 18 months with every beta I've tried.
NUC/Ubuntu, Evohome Heating + HGI80, Evohome Security, 4x HikVision IP cams, Aeotec, Neo & Fibaro Z-Wave, Logitech Media Server (on Synology DS916+), 10x SqueezeBox, Kodi, Harmony Hub, 5x Amazon Echo, HA-Bridge, Hue.

User avatar
StanHD
Posts: 584
Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 16:09
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

Post by StanHD » Thursday 01 March 2018 18:02

@philchillbill,

Thanks for the reply, and I really appreciate the efforts made on this hardware.
I have always had some warnings but not errors. Perhaps something changed in my set-up, and as you point out the errors seem harmless.
I have turned off a few scripts that made adjustments to set points, and avoid using Domoticz for making any changes now, as this causes a crash and re-start. It's unfortunate because the JSON interface capability is a very useful feature.
Domoticz Main - Intel nuc, Windows, RFXTRX433E. Lan Relay Boards, Aeon Z-Stick Gen 5, Evohome HGI80, Milight WiFi, MySensors Ethernet Gateway, Harmony Hub
Domoticz Slave - Asrock Ion - Linux, Python:- Broadlink RM2, Sonos
HA-Bridge - Amazon Echo / Alexa

subtrEM
Posts: 2
Joined: Monday 06 November 2017 21:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

Post by subtrEM » Friday 02 March 2018 11:51

StanHD wrote:
Thursday 01 March 2018 12:16
Anyone?

I have updated to Version 8944. Same problem, plus, another symptom is that Domoticz now crashes and re-starts when set points are changed using the JSON interface.

If no one else is experiencing these problems then perhaps it's just my installation. That being the case perhaps I should delete then re-install the Domoticz Evohome hardware. Does anyone have any advice if that might help?

Thanks.
Domoticz v3.8975 on Raspberry Pi 3 (Raspbian Jessie) with HGI80 gateway
Evohome wifi controller v 2.00.17

Same symptom since 2 days: after upgrade of evohome controller, said 3ef0 command errors started appearing, but in increasing frequency: first every few hours, gradually increasing in the course of a day to about every 20 min. Rebooted Domoticz host (Raspi3) and HGI80, error frequency reduced to 2 messages in last 16 hours.

(Note on JSON problem: only seen - also in much earlier versions of Domoticz - when using Domoticz app for iOS v1.08 (free, as test) on iPad. AFAIK, this is indeed another phenomenon than the 3ef0 command error.)

User avatar
philchillbill
Posts: 205
Joined: Monday 12 September 2016 13:47
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Eindhoven. NL
Contact:

Re: Evohome WiFi with HGI80 under Windows

Post by philchillbill » Friday 02 March 2018 17:58

StanHD wrote:
Thursday 01 March 2018 18:02
I have always had some warnings but not errors.
I think you will find they were always called 'errors' by Domoticz. I have always had them every few minutes for 18 months and they are not an issue. Ask @DanD if you want clarification (he's the main developer on the evohome.cpp code).
NUC/Ubuntu, Evohome Heating + HGI80, Evohome Security, 4x HikVision IP cams, Aeotec, Neo & Fibaro Z-Wave, Logitech Media Server (on Synology DS916+), 10x SqueezeBox, Kodi, Harmony Hub, 5x Amazon Echo, HA-Bridge, Hue.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest