Harmony hub and air conditioning

For heating/cooling related questions in Domoticz
Post Reply
corederoma82
Posts: 38
Joined: Saturday 14 January 2017 22:34
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Harmony hub and air conditioning

Post by corederoma82 » Sunday 20 August 2017 12:16

Hi guys,
I have a question.
I have read many post about integration of air conditionig into domoticz; I would like to know if Harmony hub (http://www.logitech.com/it-ch/product/h ... oduct-hero) is compatible with IR of my air conditioner (manufacturer Kelon), because harmony hub is fully compatible with domoticz so I prefer it; eventually which are the compatible features? (i means "on/off", "fan", "dry, hot, cold" etc).
Another question: the harmony hub need to be pointing to the conditioner to work?

Thanks

corederoma82
Posts: 38
Joined: Saturday 14 January 2017 22:34
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Harmony hub and air conditioning

Post by corederoma82 » Monday 21 August 2017 16:02

Nobody can help me?

Thanks

mvzut
Posts: 295
Joined: Thursday 12 November 2015 11:55
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Marum, The Netherlands
Contact:

Harmony hub and air conditioning

Post by mvzut » Monday 21 August 2017 16:20

I don't know if it is compatible, but I believe you can check compatibility of devices on the Logitech website. Google is your friend ;-)

Please note that the Harmony hub plugin that is provided with Domoticz only supports switching of activities, so no direct commands such as fan speed up/down. But (provided it supports your device) you can make activities like "Hot", "Cold" (and obviously "Off") which will probably give you most basic functionality.
There are other (command line) tools which you can install for e.g. Raspberry Pi which support more functionality, but these are slightly harder to integrate with Domoticz. I never tried those myself.

The Hub has a very strong IR transmitter, so it doesn't have to point exactly in the direction of the air conditioner.
Raspberry Pi 2B - RFXtrx433 - Aeon Z-Stick gen5 - Opentherm Gateway - P1 smart meter - Netatmo - Philips Hue - ELV Max! - ESP8266 DIY water meter - Sonos Connect & PLAY:1 - Kodi - Wall mounted tablet + Imperihome - MANY switches/sensors

Andree
Posts: 76
Joined: Wednesday 07 June 2017 11:19
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Harmony hub and air conditioning

Post by Andree » Monday 21 August 2017 20:42

I have harmony hub and,if your condioner isn't compatible you can tech the on/off command with the original remote.
But logitech work for activity and if you run "watch tv" activity and want to turn on conditioner the harmony switch off "watch tv" and switch on "conditioner on".
For your goal the best way is Broadlink Remote and the plugin for domoticz!
You can tech the command to broadlink and use this for send command like on,off,fan + or -,temp ecc..ecc..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest