Evohome controlling

For heating/cooling related questions in Domoticz
jenssen
Posts: 30
Joined: Wednesday 13 July 2016 22:13
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by jenssen » Sunday 02 October 2016 20:41

Does anyone know if this problem is only on the Pi, or also in Windows?

GaryC
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday 23 September 2016 20:35
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by GaryC » Monday 03 October 2016 15:43

Hi All,

I don't know if my problem is also relevant but here goes. I'm using a PI with the current beta 3.5691. I have an EvoHome WiFi with a HGI80. It used to work fine but for some time now:
1) The temperatures are not updating for Zones that have multiple HR924UK rad valves. Zones with a single rad valve still update OK. The individual HR924UK (temperatures) still update too, but not the EvoHome zones with multiple rad valves.
2) I can no longer control the set point temperatures via Domoticz. Domoticz seems to send the commands but on the next update from the controller/valve the set point disappears.

I thought this could be a problem with the controller so I deleted it from the devices list thinking that it would be re-detected. It isn't. I deleted all of the devices and re-detected. The Zones came in, the individual HR924UK (relays) and HR924UK (temperatures) show up as device. But no controller.

I think that Honeywell rolled out an update for the controller recently but I couldn't say for sure that the above problems started following this.

I'm a relative noob so any advice please bear this in mind. Thanks.
Gary

mschut
Posts: 137
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by mschut » Tuesday 25 October 2016 20:52

Just curious, some progress to report anyone? Winter is coming... ;)

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

jenssen
Posts: 30
Joined: Wednesday 13 July 2016 22:13
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by jenssen » Saturday 29 October 2016 19:14

I switched to a Raspberry 3 two weeks ago, I am running the latest version, and having the same issue.

Any update on this?

Many thanks

DanD
Posts: 129
Joined: Saturday 05 March 2016 10:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by DanD » Monday 07 November 2016 10:37

Hi,

Unfortunately still no fix yet for the Domoticz Evohome commands failing problem. I've replicated the problem in Windows and on a Pi, but the variable amount of time for the problem to occur (between a few hours and many days on my systems) means that the troubleshooting is taking a very long time. My best guess at the moment is that its a memory allocation problem within the SendQueue function. Hopefully I'll get this fixed before next Winter :)!

A potential temporary workaround for those installations where it runs OK for a day or so might be to automatically stop and restart the Domoticz service each day.

Dan
Windows 7, Raspberry Pi3, Honeywell Evohome Wifi, HGI80 + RFBee(s)

jenssen
Posts: 30
Joined: Wednesday 13 July 2016 22:13
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by jenssen » Wednesday 09 November 2016 22:15

DanD wrote:Hi,

Unfortunately still no fix yet for the Domoticz Evohome commands failing problem. I've replicated the problem in Windows and on a Pi, but the variable amount of time for the problem to occur (between a few hours and many days on my systems) means that the troubleshooting is taking a very long time. My best guess at the moment is that its a memory allocation problem within the SendQueue function. Hopefully I'll get this fixed before next Winter :)!

A potential temporary workaround for those installations where it runs OK for a day or so might be to automatically stop and restart the Domoticz service each day.

Dan
Hello,

Dan, thanks for your efforts. I am now back to Windows since Saturday last weekend (I was on Windows before), but no problem so far. The problem happened only on the Pi for me.

Kind regards,

Jenssen

mschut
Posts: 137
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by mschut » Wednesday 09 November 2016 22:35

jenssen wrote:Dan, thanks for your efforts. I am now back to Windows since Saturday last weekend (I was on Windows before), but no problem so far. The problem happened only on the Pi for me.
Unfortunately I can confirm I also had the issue on my Synology NAS. Cannot test again, since I am not able anymore to connect the HGI-80 succesfully to my NAS....

jenssen
Posts: 30
Joined: Wednesday 13 July 2016 22:13
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by jenssen » Sunday 13 November 2016 22:31

mschut wrote:
jenssen wrote:Dan, thanks for your efforts. I am now back to Windows since Saturday last weekend (I was on Windows before), but no problem so far. The problem happened only on the Pi for me.
Unfortunately I can confirm I also had the issue on my Synology NAS. Cannot test again, since I am not able anymore to connect the HGI-80 succesfully to my NAS....
I am running Domoticz a week now on Windows 10, together with a HGI, without a reboot to fix communication issues.

No problems so far.

mschut
Posts: 137
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by mschut » Sunday 13 November 2016 22:46

Hmm. Too bad I don't have a spare Windows 10 device lying around.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

DanD
Posts: 129
Joined: Saturday 05 March 2016 10:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by DanD » Monday 14 November 2016 16:30

Hi All,

Thanks for all the feedback it's really helpful. For some unknown reason, I've been unable to replicate the error since simply adding some debugging lines to the code which is very strange. I had to give up testing on my Windows 7 machine after about a week as it ran continuously with no problems. I've now switched to my Pi and seeing the same behaviour and it's been running OK for the last 6 days. I'm using the v3.5874 source as the basis for my testing. I'll give the Pi a few more days to see if it fails and then I might try compiling with earlier source versions to see if I can re-produce the problem and identify the cause.

@Lisa, do you know how long Domoticz runs OK until the problem starts on your system?

@GaryC:
1) The temperatures are not updating for Zones that have multiple HR924UK rad valves. Zones with a single rad valve still update OK. The individual HR924UK (temperatures) still update too, but not the EvoHome zones with multiple rad valves.
It sounds like your multi-rad zones are all set-up as 'Multi-room' zones on the Evohome controller and the section of the Domoticz code which is failing specifically requests the temps from these zones as the controller doesn't automatically send them. Hence, these temps stop updating in Domoticz when the code fails.

Dan
Windows 7, Raspberry Pi3, Honeywell Evohome Wifi, HGI80 + RFBee(s)

stuiow
Posts: 184
Joined: Saturday 18 April 2015 18:56
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.6857
Location: Isle of Wight, United Kingdom.
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by stuiow » Monday 14 November 2016 17:10

Lisa wrote:
GaryC wrote:Hi All,

I don't know if my problem is also relevant but here goes. I'm using a PI with the current beta 3.5691. I have an EvoHome WiFi with a HGI80. It used to work fine but for some time now:
1) The temperatures are not updating for Zones that have multiple HR924UK rad valves. Zones with a single rad valve still update OK. The individual HR924UK (temperatures) still update too, but not the EvoHome zones with multiple rad valves.
2) I can no longer control the set point temperatures via Domoticz. Domoticz seems to send the commands but on the next update from the controller/valve the set point disappears.

I thought this could be a problem with the controller so I deleted it from the devices list thinking that it would be re-detected. It isn't. I deleted all of the devices and re-detected. The Zones came in, the individual HR924UK (relays) and HR924UK (temperatures) show up as device. But no controller.

I think that Honeywell rolled out an update for the controller recently but I couldn't say for sure that the above problems started following this.

I'm a relative noob so any advice please bear this in mind. Thanks.
Gary
I'm having the same problem with the latest 10/11 stable domoticz on Ubuntu...
Receiving: fine, updating: nope. Updates are overwritten at the first update from the hgi80...

Sounds like a similar issue i used to have when there were multiple "Controller Mode" devices in my device list.

Deleting the older ones and a reboot fixed it for me.

You only want 1 Evohome Controller mode device and 1 evotouch colour (that's what mine are anyway).
If there are multiple's, delete the oldest ones.
Now setup on a RPI3.
Also using Evohome HGI80, RFXTRX433E and a Aeotec Gen5 stick. Mainly a Gen5 Z-Wave system.
My weather (Davis vantage Pro2) data is obtained by weatherunderground
Now collecting rtl_433 data from Apollo Ultrasonic meter

GaryC
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday 23 September 2016 20:35
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by GaryC » Monday 14 November 2016 17:13

"Original Quote - The temperatures are not updating for Zones that have multiple HR924UK rad valves. Zones with a single rad valve still update OK. The individual HR924UK (temperatures) still update too, but not the EvoHome zones with multiple rad valves."

It sounds like your multi-rad zones are all set-up as 'Multi-room' zones on the Evohome controller and the section of the Domoticz code which is failing specifically requests the temps from these zones as the controller doesn't automatically send them. Hence, these temps stop updating in Domoticz when the code fails.
Hi Dan - You're spot on. I do have the multi-rad zones configured as 'Multi-room'. At least I figured out why my controller was not being listed in the devices. It only appears when you change a controller mode (economy/away/off etc) and the controller transmits commands to the rad valves. Doh!

Gary
Last edited by GaryC on Saturday 07 January 2017 15:29, edited 1 time in total.

ettore1969
Posts: 2
Joined: Sunday 20 November 2016 16:32
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by ettore1969 » Sunday 20 November 2016 16:46

Dear All,

good afternoon to everyone.

I'm a new user that actually experiment trying to insert various functionality inside my Domoticz installation, in order to get it fully working when I will migrate to the new house I have to buy.

I'm trying to use my old Evotouch Black & White controller with Domoticz via an HGI80 Gateway, but as actually I have the following firmware:

Boot Loader Version: 5 Jul 28 2010
Application Software Version: 20 6.Oct.2010
Ext. Module Software Version: no Ext. Module

I'm only able to see the different zones in Domoticz without having the possibility to change they.

Reading in Evohome wiki I understand that to use the Evohome system with Domoticz I need at least to have V23 firmware installed.

Please there's someone in this forum that can help me sending this new V23 firmware with instructions on how to update it ?

In that way I can update my controller unit and get it fully working under domoticz.

Thank you in advance for your attention.

Bye

jenssen
Posts: 30
Joined: Wednesday 13 July 2016 22:13
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by jenssen » Tuesday 22 November 2016 22:35

mschut wrote:Hmm. Too bad I don't have a spare Windows 10 device lying around.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk
More then two weeks running on Windows 10, Domoticz version 3.5864, no problems so far..... What workaround do you use on the pi, scheduled reboots?

Kind regards

mschut
Posts: 137
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by mschut » Tuesday 22 November 2016 22:38

No work arounds. Rebooted every day is not going to make things stable or reliable. Bought a second hand Mac Mini in order to install and run Domoticz. Hoping to find the same result as you have on the windows machine. Keep you updated, in need of a monitor first to get things going (who does have a spare monitor these days ;) )

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

DanD
Posts: 129
Joined: Saturday 05 March 2016 10:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by DanD » Tuesday 13 December 2016 17:24

@Lisa

I've been testing my Evohome set-ups over the last few weeks to try and understand what's causing the Domoticz message sending crash. Unfortunately, I'm no longer able to reproduce the problem on either of my installations (Linux RPi3 and Windows 7). I've tested both installations for at least a week and neither will crash anymore. I've tried various versions of Domoticz, old device lists and new ones, but they all refuse to crash. My best guess is that the problem might possibly be something due to a synchronisation between the Evohome controller and Domoticz, which causes the HGI80 messages to be rejected by the controller. When I was still able to reproduce the crash, all my debugging indicated that the messages were being sent OK from the HGI80. I think it's worth trying switching off your controller by removing its batteries and then restarting, as this is the only thing I can guess that might have fixed my setup (I accidentally did this a few times a month or so ago as my controller has a bad battery contact and I wonder if this has fixed my problem).

Let me know if you have any success.
Thanks,

Dan
Windows 7, Raspberry Pi3, Honeywell Evohome Wifi, HGI80 + RFBee(s)

DanD
Posts: 129
Joined: Saturday 05 March 2016 10:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by DanD » Thursday 15 December 2016 23:38

@lisa

Excellent! Thanks for sharing your success. I'll remember next time I hit this problem to troubleshoot the USB status and see if it has died.

Dan
Windows 7, Raspberry Pi3, Honeywell Evohome Wifi, HGI80 + RFBee(s)

jenssen
Posts: 30
Joined: Wednesday 13 July 2016 22:13
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by jenssen » Saturday 13 May 2017 18:23

DanD wrote:Hi,

Unfortunately still no fix yet for the Domoticz Evohome commands failing problem. I've replicated the problem in Windows and on a Pi, but the variable amount of time for the problem to occur (between a few hours and many days on my systems) means that the troubleshooting is taking a very long time. My best guess at the moment is that its a memory allocation problem within the SendQueue function. Hopefully I'll get this fixed before next Winter :)!

A potential temporary workaround for those installations where it runs OK for a day or so might be to automatically stop and restart the Domoticz service each day.

Dan
Hello Dan, do you know if this problem is solved now on Linux?

DanD
Posts: 129
Joined: Saturday 05 March 2016 10:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by DanD » Saturday 13 May 2017 19:09

@jenssen

Hi,

I can confirm that I've not experienced this problem with the latest Domoticz beta code since late last year (I run and test Domoticz on Linux & Windows 7 and compile the latest beta code every 2-3 months). I didn't make any updates to the Domoticz code to fix the problem, but it disappeared from my systems last year (I run Domoticz on 4 different machines). I've since used additional USB devices (RFBee's) which function the same as the HGI80 and my guess is that the problem is most likely related to either a USB driver problem or its lock-out feature, as I do occasionally hit brief problems with the HGI80 refusing to send any messages, but it still receives perfectly OK. The RFBee USB devices allow me to monitor whether the HGI80 is actually sending messages. The HGI80 has a lock-out feature which blocks message sending if too many messages are sent within a fixed period of time. It is possible that some of my changes to the Domoticz code have reduced the frequency of messages sent and hence the problem has disappeared, but this is just a guess.

Are you still experiencing this problem on your system and if so, what version of Domoticz are you running?

Dan
Windows 7, Raspberry Pi3, Honeywell Evohome Wifi, HGI80 + RFBee(s)

jenssen
Posts: 30
Joined: Wednesday 13 July 2016 22:13
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Contact:

Re: Evohome controlling

Post by jenssen » Saturday 13 May 2017 20:28

DanD wrote:@jenssen

Hi,

I can confirm that I've not experienced this problem with the latest Domoticz beta code since late last year (I run and test Domoticz on Linux & Windows 7 and compile the latest beta code every 2-3 months). I didn't make any updates to the Domoticz code to fix the problem, but it disappeared from my systems last year (I run Domoticz on 4 different machines). I've since used additional USB devices (RFBee's) which function the same as the HGI80 and my guess is that the problem is most likely related to either a USB driver problem or its lock-out feature, as I do occasionally hit brief problems with the HGI80 refusing to send any messages, but it still receives perfectly OK. The RFBee USB devices allow me to monitor whether the HGI80 is actually sending messages. The HGI80 has a lock-out feature which blocks message sending if too many messages are sent within a fixed period of time. It is possible that some of my changes to the Domoticz code have reduced the frequency of messages sent and hence the problem has disappeared, but this is just a guess.

Are you still experiencing this problem on your system and if so, what version of Domoticz are you running?

Dan
Hello Dan,

Thanks for your fast answers. At this moment I am still running the same OS that I switched to last year (Windows 10), I do not have any problems. I only had the problem on my other setup, Linux on PI3. I want to switch back to Linux (Debian) so that why I was asking. When I am switched I can let u know if this is working properly.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest