Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Use this forum to discuss possible implementation of a new feature before opening a ticket.
A developer shall edit the topic title with "[xxx]" where xxx is the id of the accompanying tracker id.
Duplicate posts about the same id. +1 posts are not allowed.
Post Reply
marcoschaap
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by marcoschaap » Friday 02 March 2018 22:11

Hi!

Short version on bottom!!

I'm the owner of a Honeywell Lyric T6 Thermostat and I'd like to be able to control several features / retrieve some information off the device. I did some testing with the API of Honeywell on: https://developer.honeywell.com/api-met ... ags_tid=39, but fairly soon I realized that a simple HTTP GET or POST wouldn't do the trick because the usage of OAUTH authentication method.

Afther that I've searched for some scripts in Python or LUA to get info or set some options for the thermostat, as I'm not exactly a script star, that project died a soon but certain dead. I've searched for some news on the support of Lyric for Domoticz and found a few old topics that didn't seem very hopefull.

As for some background I'll try to explain my Home Automation and specific needs for the thermostat integration:

I started using Domoticz last year July for monitoring my Solar Panels (Omnik converter read by from Domoticz Wiki Python script). Soon after that a Landis Gyr Smart Meter (Electric and Gas) got installed in my home and I've started monitoring it by reading values from the USB P1 Meter. Also in July I've let install a solar boiler with central heating support, which I'm monitoring via DS18B20 temp sensors in combination with an Universal Binary Sensor from Fibaro via Z-Wave. I measure the hot water outlet, central heating supply and central heating return channels.

Now I'd like to be able to heat my house adaptively by monitoring Solar Boiler temp using Blockly. Also for measuring Gas usage per degree day I'd like to be able to read the current measured temp by the thermostat. The thermostat shows all received OpenTherm values in an "advanced OpenTherm menu", if possible I'd like to be able to read the requested central heating temp to compare Delta T values for the return feed.

Short version :-)

I have a Honeywell Lyric T6 thermostat which I'd like to control in Domoticz. Please see the Honeywell Developer Portal for an API guide here: https://developer.honeywell.com/t-serie ... stat-guide

Options I'd like to control:

- Read Indoor Measured Temperature
- Read and Set Current Setpoint
- Read OpenTherm properties
- Apply Blockly actions to the Thermostat, so I can adaptively heat the house by using solar heated water

If I forgot something, bored you to bits or you want to hear anymore about My Domoticz configuration do not hestitate to reply or send a message :-)

Thank you in advance!

marcoschaap
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by marcoschaap » Sunday 11 March 2018 13:56

I don't know who, but somehow somebody implemented the Indoor/Outdoor Temp sensor / Temp Setpoint for the Lyric in the latest beta build!! I'm very gratefull for helping me with this. Thank you very much!!
Lyric.png
Lyric.png (17.03 KiB) Viewed 2406 times

maninblack30
Posts: 18
Joined: Thursday 10 November 2016 1:17
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by maninblack30 » Tuesday 13 March 2018 11:36

Wow! that is amazing! It worked for me straight away.
Only one problem, here in Australia I use the Cooling side of the thermostat much more than the heating.
do you have any more information?
Ta,
Fraser

marcoschaap
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by marcoschaap » Tuesday 13 March 2018 14:31

I'm not really experienced with the cooling capabilities on the device. For me it looks like the Switch (Heating) On or Off situation defines whether heating or cooling is active. But offcourse I can be totally wrong here, I don't use cooling at all here in The Netherlands, most of the time it rains in the summer :lol:

leonhannink
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 March 2017 14:29
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by leonhannink » Friday 16 March 2018 0:14

marcoschaap wrote:I don't know who, but somehow somebody implemented the Indoor/Outdoor Temp sensor / Temp Setpoint for the Lyric in the latest beta build!! I'm very gratefull for helping me with this. Thank you very much!!
Lyric.png
Hi Marco, on what kind of sydtem is domoticz running? Nas or rasperry? Wich beta Version you are using?


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

marcoschaap
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by marcoschaap » Saturday 17 March 2018 16:20

Hi Leon,

Running Domoticz Béta v3.9047 on a Raspberry brother (Solidrun I2EX) on ARMBIAN 5.38. Are you running stable or another platform?

Kind regards

leonhannink
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 March 2017 14:29
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by leonhannink » Sunday 25 March 2018 16:18

marcoschaap wrote:Hi Leon,

Running Domoticz Béta v3.9047 on a Raspberry brother (Solidrun I2EX) on ARMBIAN 5.38. Are you running stable or another platform?

Kind regards
Hi, i’m running Domoticz on a synology nas VDS 3.08153-7 from Jadahl.

So i’d try to connect this Version with my Lyric Thermo. How did you ad this Thermo?


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPad met Tapatalk

leonhannink
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 March 2017 14:29
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by leonhannink » Sunday 25 March 2018 16:29

leonhannink wrote:
marcoschaap wrote:Hi Leon,

Running Domoticz Béta v3.9047 on a Raspberry brother (Solidrun I2EX) on ARMBIAN 5.38. Are you running stable or another platform?

Kind regards
Hi, i’m running Domoticz on a synology nas VDS 3.08153-7 from Jadahl.

So i’d try to connect this Version with my Lyric Thermo. How did you ad this Thermo?


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPad met Tapatalk
What kind of type you chose voor de lyric Thermo?


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPad met Tapatalk

marcoschaap
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by marcoschaap » Friday 30 March 2018 17:28

I chose the following hardware option:
honeywell.png
honeywell.png (15.24 KiB) Viewed 2076 times
To get both the tokens press the "provide" link and enter the credentials associated with your Honeywell account (same credentials as entered in the Honeywell Lyric App). If you copy / paste the tokens from the website and after that Add the device, 4 devices will be created for the hardware.

leonhannink
Posts: 5
Joined: Friday 10 March 2017 14:29
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by leonhannink » Wednesday 04 April 2018 12:22

THanks, but i’m using Domoticz on my Synology NAS and the latest version is V3.8153. So there is nog type of Honeywell, unfortunily. So i have to wait i quess. Or do you have a suggestion?


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPad met Tapatalk

marcoschaap
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by marcoschaap » Thursday 12 April 2018 21:26

Is that the latest stable version? You could try to update from beta channel. You can change the option in Settings --> System Tab --> Option Software Updates. I don't exactly know if there are any Bèta versions for Synology, but you could always try.

HermanGroeneveld
Posts: 3
Joined: Wednesday 25 July 2018 21:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by HermanGroeneveld » Thursday 30 August 2018 17:26

Since the latest release of Domoticz v 4.9700 the Honeywell Lyric is implemented( view topic "Domoticz version 4.9700 released (Stable)":viewtopic.php?f=3&t=23948). The posts of @marcoschaap are seeming to confirm this (but it's on a beta release).

Anyone experience with the Honeywell Lyric and Domoticz v4.9700? Straight-out-of-the-box or installation with headache? And whatabout scripting with LUA? I'm planning to buy a smart thermostat and I'm starting to like the Lyric but I would like some advice/feedback first. I have a raspberry 3 with Stretch and Domoticz v4.9700.

@marcoschaap: I'm sorry if this is hijacking your post to you, but it seems to make more sense to add my question to this post rather then to start a new, similar post.

marcoschaap
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 20 February 2018 11:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by marcoschaap » Sunday 16 September 2018 19:54

@HermanGroeneveld,

Not a problem at all. Since the Lyric was implemented in the stable build I've upgraded to this version. Works straight out of the box for me, with a 1 time registration on the Honeywell Developer site. I haven't used scripts yet to control the heating but Domoticz handles the In/Outdoor Temp sensors as normal Lacrosse TX3 sensors. The setpoint is controllable via Blockly, so probably Lua aswell.

The only problem I sometimes have is that I see error messages that the Thermostat (API) cannot be reached. This is probably due to stability issues on the Honeywell server side. This in general does not interfere with my day to day experience. I also use the device indoor temp readings for degree day calculations, this comes in handy for me so I can measure the effect of energy saving investments.

I hope I've helped you ;)

nicobilardie
Posts: 1
Joined: Saturday 29 September 2018 20:27
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by nicobilardie » Saturday 29 September 2018 21:09

Hi,

It works for me in the stable version and now I want to switch off the Lyric when the patio door is open and switch back on when its closed again.

Until lastweek I did that without any problem with a Homekit doorsensor but since I had to replace that sensor with a z-wave sensor I need to do that from Domoticz.

This can easily be done with a blocky, however, when my thermostat is switched on again it has a setpoint of 5 degrees instead of the scheduled setpoint.
I have to remove that 5 degree setpoint in the app on my phone to make it resume the scheduled setpoint again.
This happens from blockly but also when i switch off / on the "Heating switch" on the switches panel.

First I can see the 5 degree setpoint on my thermostat and on phone app and it does take a while before it shows in the setpoint in Domoticz.
Probably that has to do with the "Error getting thermostat data" I get sometimes.

2018-09-29 20:48:18.900 Status: User: Admin initiated a switch command (273/Heating (Lyric T6 Thermostat)/On)
2018-09-29 20:48:20.477 (Honeywell Lyric T6 Thermostaat) Lighting 2 (Heating (Lyric T6 Thermostat))
2018-09-29 20:48:20.483 (Honeywell Lyric T6 Thermostaat) Lighting 2 (Heating (Lyric T6 Thermostat))
2018-09-29 20:49:03.320 Honeywell: Storing received access & refresh token
2018-09-29 20:49:04.315 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
Schermafdruk 2018-09-29 20.47.53.png
Schermafdruk 2018-09-29 20.47.53.png (46.58 KiB) Viewed 727 times
Schermafdruk 2018-09-29 21.07.43.png
Schermafdruk 2018-09-29 21.07.43.png (46.59 KiB) Viewed 727 times
Anyone else seen this behavior?

HermanGroeneveld
Posts: 3
Joined: Wednesday 25 July 2018 21:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by HermanGroeneveld » Tuesday 09 October 2018 17:17

Hmmm... When I turn the thermostat Heating On/Off the Setpoint remains the same, in my case 18 degrees.

EDIT: I'm wrong, here exactly the same: It changes my setpoint to 5 degrees!

But my log shows the error you provided us a lot:
2018-10-09 11:43:52.404 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 11:48:54.600 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 11:53:57.061 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 11:58:59.322 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:19:05.498 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:24:07.836 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:29:10.176 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:34:12.393 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:39:14.581 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:44:16.738 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:49:18.859 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:54:21.127 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 12:59:23.373 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:19:30.383 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:24:33.064 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:29:35.468 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:34:40.304 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:40:04.416 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:45:15.616 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:50:28.453 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 13:55:30.827 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 14:20:38.149 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 14:25:40.614 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 14:30:42.953 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!
2018-10-09 14:35:45.234 Error: Honeywell: Error getting thermostat data!

Looks like kind of regular: after an whole hour for 20 minutes everything is fine. After 20 minutes the error appairs every 5 minutes.
Another thing: when my piece of code in LUA tries to change the target temperature, the target temp stays 18degrees, nothing happens:

Code: Select all

commandArray['Target temperature (Lyric T6)'] = tostring(20.5)
Am I missing something here?

EDIT2:
I was to quick with asking, should have looked better. I found out it should be something like:

Code: Select all

commandArray['SetSetPoint:49']='20.0'
--or
commandArray['UpdateDevice']= "49 | 0 | 20.0"

devguy
Posts: 1
Joined: Saturday 17 November 2018 10:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Honeywell Lyric Thermostat

Post by devguy » Saturday 17 November 2018 12:43

I was having the same issues as HermanGroeneveld. The Honeywell API could only be requested in the first 10-15 minutes of each hour.

In the source code of Domoticz (hardware/Honeywell.cpp) there is a static API key declared which is being used for all Domoticz users. According to the FAQ of the Honeywell API there is a rate limit: "Our limit is designed to allow you to poll device status every 5 minutes for up to 20 devices per hour, with a little cushion to make changes. If you need a higher rate limit, please contact us: HoneywellAPISupport@honeywell.com".
By using the same API key for all users the rate limit gets exceeded. I've asked Honeywell to increase the limit for this API key.

Meanwhile I've changed the API key in the source code to my own API key and recompiled Domoticz. It's working fine now.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest