Page 1 of 2

Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Monday 23 January 2017 21:16
by Justmenl
I love domoticz and applaud the develpment team.

I know we keep asking for more and more ...

Would it be possible to create a custom sensor with more than one value like the thermometer/hygrometer combo?
This way we can create bandwith sensors with up- and download speeds in one graph or other combination sensors like lightning with number of discharges and distance in one graph.

The sensor could then be filled by scripts using json or mqtt.

Regards,

Justme

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Wednesday 01 February 2017 18:36
by ben53252642
+1, I'd combine my internet usage upload and download custom sensors into a single custom sensor.
Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 6.43.33 am.png
Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 6.43.33 am.png (173.91 KiB) Viewed 6037 times
viewtopic.php?f=63&p=117531#p117531

Would really appreciate this feature.

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Wednesday 08 February 2017 23:47
by chatainsim
ben53252642 wrote:+1, I'd combine my internet usage upload and download custom sensors into a single custom sensor.

Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 6.43.33 am.png
viewtopic.php?f=63&p=117531#p117531

Would really appreciate this feature.
Same for me !
And for other sensors too like my Mi Flora.

It would be very nice !

And btw dev make a really good work !

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Monday 13 February 2017 11:58
by mraichura
Same here. Although I'm using ISP's bandwidth page and node-js scrap-it module + mqtt to post data to Domoticz.

Thanks dev for such an awesome platform.

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Friday 03 March 2017 21:47
by Damnet
+1 would really like that!

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Sunday 05 March 2017 14:29
by blauwebuis
Couldn't groups kind of fullfill this idea?

I recently created a wireframe for a usability redesign.
https://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopi ... =8&t=16255

In it I still had devices as horizontal blocks. But I now think it would be way easier if anything on the dashboard can scale arbitrairily in height. A masonry javascript could then stack everything together optimally.

If a number of things are grouped, then the display of that group could show an interface that is is smart about what is inside that group.

- Only sensors: show sensor values in a list.
- 3 sensors and a switch: show sensor values and a toggle button.
- 4 buttons: show 1 toggle button.
- 3 buttons and one slider: show 1 toggle button and 1 slider.
etc

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Sunday 05 March 2017 15:46
by Justmenl
@blauwebuis

I don't know if the groups from your proposal could do this. I for one would like to see the sensors details combined. So I can see multiple values in one graph like you can do with the temperature and see correlations.

But with the temperature, although you can do this, you need to "reprogram" the settings each time you request them.

So the request for multi value custom sensors is beyond what is shown on the dashboard.

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Tuesday 14 March 2017 17:21
by rickvanakkeren
+1

I really like this suggestion!

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Thursday 16 March 2017 3:07
by blauwebuis
Ah I now see I totally misunderstood what you wanted :-)

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Tuesday 18 April 2017 23:37
by Pepsi92
+1 ... custom sensors (CS) with double values / axis would be great :)

This would allow us to reduce the number of CS by merging similar values into one graph. By example :
- bandwidth (upload & download)
- counters (value & percentage)
- power (watt & VA)
...

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Wednesday 19 April 2017 7:24
by Nautilus
blauwebuis wrote: - Only sensors: show sensor values in a list.
- 3 sensors and a switch: show sensor values and a toggle button.
- 4 buttons: show 1 toggle button.
- 3 buttons and one slider: show 1 toggle button and 1 slider.
etc
Even if this is not the solution sought in this thread, I think this would be as awesome feature for the dashboard page! :)

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Friday 21 April 2017 13:02
by devros
+1 for Multi value custom sensor

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Saturday 27 May 2017 12:20
by axello2
+1
I already asked something similar in another post. Somewhere.

But in general the possibility to create graphs with flexible legenda and multiple values will be a godsend.
e.g. I have a fine-dust meter which outputs ppm for 2.5µ and 10µm particles...

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Thursday 01 June 2017 23:52
by ChrisP
Hi,

I totally join the crowd to ask for such a feature.

Regarding the particule sensor, I am creating one as well that provide multiple values (PM, particule counts of various sizes) and feed Domoticz through a MQTT broker, but at the end I have so many different virtual devices that it make the analysis unreadable.

My sensor software is available here: https://github.com/ChrisP-Git/PartSense, and the hardware/3D files here: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2320020

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Friday 18 August 2017 12:33
by bertbigb
+1
I would love to have such a type of multiple value sensor.
It would solve the problem of all clustered pages full of sensors.
Also it would make it easier to implement homebrew sensors with EspEasy or what so ever.

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Wednesday 25 October 2017 21:17
by MaikelK
I would also love to have the option for multi value sensor.

I'm now measuring my floorheating water in and out temperature and calculate the delta T(temp difference) and would love to push these into 1 sensor and thus graph. Im now cluttering my Temperature tab with 5 lines of in, out and delta T values.

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Friday 27 October 2017 6:21
by korniza
+1 I like to get a custom multi sensors device. I face the issue with a fridge that I want to get as "device" in one place. For example the door of fridge was recognized as switch, internal temp/hum found on temperature tab and power usage on utility tab....what a mess!

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Wednesday 15 November 2017 20:24
by bluepi
Another +1 for custom sensor with multiple values

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Wednesday 06 December 2017 13:01
by inzuno
+1

I use a DSM501 dust sensor sending PM10 and PM2.5 to domoticz.
It runs on a Wemos D1 mini with custom ESPeasy using plugin 114.

Thanks!

Re: Multi value custom sensor

Posted: Wednesday 06 December 2017 18:44
by febalci
+1
something like P1 Smart Meter device which can hold 6 values. But instead of:

Code: Select all

typedef struct _tP1Power {
	uint8_t len;
	uint8_t type;
	uint8_t subtype;
	uint32_t powerusage1;
	uint32_t powerusage2;
	uint32_t powerdeliv1;
	uint32_t powerdeliv2;
	uint32_t usagecurrent;
	uint32_t delivcurrent;
	int32_t ID;
	_tP1Power()
	{
		len = sizeof(_tP1Power) - 1;
		type = pTypeP1Power;
		subtype = sTypeP1Power;
		ID = 1;
		powerusage1 = 0;
		powerusage2 = 0;
		powerdeliv1 = 0;
		powerdeliv2 = 0;
		usagecurrent = 0;
		delivcurrent = 0;
	}
} P1Power;
it can hold customnumber1, customnumber2, text1, switch1 at the same time with configurable units?