Moving from Control4 to Domoticz

Topics (not sure which fora)
when not sure where to post, post here and mods will move it to right forum.
Post Reply
Helpplz
Posts: 2
Joined: Saturday 01 April 2017 23:10
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Moving from Control4 to Domoticz

Post by Helpplz » Saturday 01 April 2017 23:25

Hi Everyone,

The wife and I have just moved into our first house, which has a Control4 System, put in by the previous owner (who was a dealer). The system currently controls:
  • Office Lights
    Living Room Lights (not working)
    Living Room Ceiling Speakers (not working)
    Living Room Amp
    TV & Cable (not working, as he had a different TV and Sky, we've got Virgin)
    Dining Room Ceiling Speakers
    Bedroom Chandelier
    Bedroom Bedside lights (one now not working)
    Bedroom Ceiling Speakers
The items not working, have only developed the fault in the last few days - I'm trying to get hold of the previous owner to help resolve, but either way, I'm quite frustrated with the locked-down nature of Control 4.

To that end, I'm looking to replace this set-up with:
  • Raspberry Pi w/ Domoticz
    Aeon Z-stick Gen 5 (for Z-wave items)
    Logitech Harmony for TV, Virgin & Amp control
    3x Neet Airstream for each pair of Ceiling Speakers (however, I will likely need a small amp to drive each speaker pair). I'll then run WHAALE on my phone to control the zones.
    Z-Wave Wall Switches (I've not worked out which ones I'd need - so open to any suggestions). These would need to replace the existing Control 4 Panels - and I'll likely get someone into help me wire them in, as I am a little clumsy
Beyond any and all product suggestions, does this design seem right for what I'm looking to do? I've not really built a system like this before, so want to make sure I've not missed anything obvious?

Thanks in advance for any help!

HP

Bigted
Posts: 35
Joined: Friday 12 December 2014 15:42
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Moving from Control4 to Domoticz

Post by Bigted » Tuesday 04 April 2017 15:59

Apart from the speakers which I'm not sure about as I use Sonos

The z-wave wall switches, have you checked to see if there is a neutral wire running to the current switches, as z-wave will require a neutral

Helpplz
Posts: 2
Joined: Saturday 01 April 2017 23:10
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Moving from Control4 to Domoticz

Post by Helpplz » Tuesday 04 April 2017 19:10

Hi Bigted,

Yes - I've got a neutral connection for each of these switches - but not for others in the house (so will likely need a mix of Z-Wave and RFXCOM devices I think.

Thanks,

HP

Rudyo
Posts: 1
Joined: Wednesday 06 September 2017 12:08
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Moving from Control4 to Domoticz

Post by Rudyo » Wednesday 06 September 2017 12:11

Hi HP,

I'm a Control4 dealer myself. Have you fixed your problem(s) yet... maybe i can help you out, so you can still stay using Control4.

Regards,
Ruud

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests