[120] opentherm gateway

For OpenTherm-gateway related questions in Domoticz
DaWauZ
Posts: 70
Joined: Wednesday 05 November 2014 11:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by DaWauZ » Monday 13 March 2017 8:55

I tried several times resetting the esp first.
I will figure out how to reset otgw only
Raspberry Pi 2 model B with domoticz
OMV NAS installed on thin client HP T610
Openelec Kodi Mediaplayer on thin client HP T520 (and with multiboot windows 10)

TyzzyT
Posts: 33
Joined: Saturday 11 March 2017 12:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by TyzzyT » Friday 17 March 2017 18:40

Hi all,

I have a problem with my OpenTherm Gateway. I have it connected to my PC and in otmonitor I see messages from the Thermostat to the Boiler and vice-versa. But I can't send any message from otmonitor to the gateway. When I, for example, send PR=A I don't get any response. Instead I receive error 03.
I already played with the VR= value, but without any luck. I measured the R5 & R6 resists, but those are around the desired value (33K and 4,7K).

Any idea what it can be, or what I can try/measure?

HFman
Posts: 37
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 21:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6635
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by HFman » Friday 17 March 2017 19:42

Did you measure the voltage at that point ( as describe at the OTGW webpage ?).
And you are sure it is in Gateway mode ?

Second, could you make a sharp photo of your PCBA ?
Could have a quick check if something else wrong.
Raspberry PI 2 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy - RF-Link -

TyzzyT
Posts: 33
Joined: Saturday 11 March 2017 12:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by TyzzyT » Saturday 18 March 2017 9:28

HFman wrote:Did you measure the voltage at that point ( as describe at the OTGW webpage ?).
And you are sure it is in Gateway mode ?

Second, could you make a sharp photo of your PCBA ?
Could have a quick check if something else wrong.
It probably isn't in Gateway mode. But whatever I send to the gateway, I get error 03 in response. So I can't switch it to gateway mode.

On Pin1 of IC1 I have a constant 1.07V, whatever VR= value I use.

I have to admit that there was a problem with IC3, which I soldered the wrong way. So there have been 13V on IC1 which may have blown the PIC. But because I see messages from the gateway, I assume that the PIC is not blown.

Image

HFman
Posts: 37
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 21:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6635
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by HFman » Saturday 18 March 2017 19:29

Looks like you have a bad soldering at pin 4 of the PC827, but this is the recieving side.. so should be fine.
Other thinks as far can see, looks OK.

Just to be sure, you didn't switch D10 and D11 ?

If this is not the case.. how do you contect the OTGW to your PC ?
Since you installed the MAX232CPE.. I am a little puzzeld.. you still have a PC with an RS232 ?
If not, which USB/RS232 interface you use ?
Normally when doing it by USB you shouldn't install the MAX232.
Raspberry PI 2 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy - RF-Link -

TyzzyT
Posts: 33
Joined: Saturday 11 March 2017 12:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by TyzzyT » Sunday 19 March 2017 12:24

HFman wrote:Looks like you have a bad soldering at pin 4 of the PC827, but this is the recieving side.. so should be fine.
Other thinks as far can see, looks OK.

Just to be sure, you didn't switch D10 and D11 ?

If this is not the case.. how do you contect the OTGW to your PC ?
Since you installed the MAX232CPE.. I am a little puzzeld.. you still have a PC with an RS232 ?
If not, which USB/RS232 interface you use ?
Normally when doing it by USB you shouldn't install the MAX232.
I'm very sure I didn't switch D10 & D11. Those are correct.
I still have a PC with RS232. I wanted to use the ESP8266 to translate serial to WiFi, and because my PC can still talk serial I figured that I'll install the MAX232.

TyzzyT
Posts: 33
Joined: Saturday 11 March 2017 12:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by TyzzyT » Monday 20 March 2017 21:14

But what can I do? My gateway is still not working correct :-)

HFman
Posts: 37
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 21:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6635
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by HFman » Tuesday 21 March 2017 23:19

Did you try to update to the diagnostic firmware (so from the pc directly ?)
Raspberry PI 2 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy - RF-Link -

TyzzyT
Posts: 33
Joined: Saturday 11 March 2017 12:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by TyzzyT » Wednesday 22 March 2017 11:12

HFman wrote:Did you try to update to the diagnostic firmware (so from the pc directly ?)
I flashed the PIC with the PIC-programmer and loaded the diagnostic firmware. With diagnostic firmware the gateway reports the diagnostics menu, but when I enter any digit (1-6) there is no response.
It really looks like the connection from PC to PIC is broken. I also tried to communicate via Putty (COM port selected) with the gateway, but nothing.
I did a loopback test (connecting pin 2&3 of RS232 connector on PC) and my com-port on PC is working.

Is it correct that I connect pin 3 of SV1 to pin 2 of RS232 connector? And SV1 pin 5 to RS232 pin 3, and SV1 pin 9 to RS232 pin 5?
Because according to MAX232 pin layout, pin 14 (which connects to SV pin 3) is a TX port. And pin 13 (which connects to SV pin 5) is a RX port.Which way is the TX & RX determined? Is this TX an seen from PC, or as seen from PIC.

TyzzyT
Posts: 33
Joined: Saturday 11 March 2017 12:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by TyzzyT » Friday 24 March 2017 12:38

Since no one has a clue, I'll ask another question.
Is it possible to create an USB version with the MAX232 installed? So when I short-wire the 11-14 and 12-13 of MAX232 with the MAX232 installed, can I connect the gateway via USB?

Templar
Posts: 14
Joined: Wednesday 14 August 2013 14:59
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: V3.8153
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by Templar » Saturday 25 March 2017 13:37

TyzzyT wrote:Since no one has a clue, I'll ask another question.
Is it possible to create an USB version with the MAX232 installed? So when I short-wire the 11-14 and 12-13 of MAX232 with the MAX232 installed, can I connect the gateway via USB?
Yes you can. The MCU feeds data to the MAX232 with a 5 volt uart connection (the RX and TX lines). It is possible to connect a 5 v TTL to USB cable. http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/Cables ... Serial.htm
It is also possible to connect a 5 V tolerant ESP8266 WiFi module like this one: OPEN-SMART ESP-12 ESP8266 Serial Wi-Fi Wireless Module for Arduino But you have to put in a bigger transformer and power regulator.
Synology DS114 NAS Domoticz package

TyzzyT
Posts: 33
Joined: Saturday 11 March 2017 12:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.5877
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by TyzzyT » Wednesday 29 March 2017 15:46

Templar wrote:
TyzzyT wrote:Since no one has a clue, I'll ask another question.
Is it possible to create an USB version with the MAX232 installed? So when I short-wire the 11-14 and 12-13 of MAX232 with the MAX232 installed, can I connect the gateway via USB?
Yes you can. The MCU feeds data to the MAX232 with a 5 volt uart connection (the RX and TX lines). It is possible to connect a 5 v TTL to USB cable. http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/Cables ... Serial.htm
It is also possible to connect a 5 V tolerant ESP8266 WiFi module like this one: OPEN-SMART ESP-12 ESP8266 Serial Wi-Fi Wireless Module for Arduino But you have to put in a bigger transformer and power regulator.
I did manage to connect the OT Gateway to my ESP8266, but also through my ESP8266 I can't get any communication from my PC to the Gateway.
Can this be a broken PIC? Or is the PIC working because communication from OT Gateway to my PC is working.
I can also flash the PIC with a PIC programmer. So to me it looks like to PIC is okay, but what else can block communication from PC to PIC?

Domotibart
Posts: 7
Joined: Tuesday 06 December 2016 19:53
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: V3.8153
Location: holland
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by Domotibart » Monday 16 October 2017 23:35

Domotibart wrote:
Sunday 19 February 2017 4:09
I have been using the opentherm gateway with usb connection for over a year with absolutely no issues.
Yesterday i wanted to change the USB connection to IP using a ESP8266. Everything went smooth but now i have the same issues that is mentioned by some other members.
I can connect to the esp with OTmonitor and read all data, but when i connect domoticz to the ESP8266 all i get is numbers;
2017-02-19 03:08:09.301 OTGW: BD0012B00

2017-02-19 03:08:09.302 OTGW: T101814A7

2017-02-19 03:08:09.302 OTGW: BD01814A7

2017-02-19 03:08:09.302 OTGW: T80190000

2017-02-19 03:08:10.305 OTGW: BC0192780

Anyone found a solution for this?
Last weekend i did a new attempt to get the gateway and the esp working. I started with the espeasy firmware. Same problem! PS=1 sometimes works but most of the time nothing happens. I decided to try the esp-link firmware. I found v2.2.3 This looked promissing, it works exactely 3 status updates and after that same problem. Finaly i found esp-link v3.2.47 and hurray it finally works immediately. I powered the gateway and esp at the same time and it works!
I have a Wemos esp8266 and flashed it with esp-link v3.2.47 and confirm that it is working for several hours now. Only disadvantage is that you cannot set a password on the web server and you cannot change the telnet port. It is always on port 23.
Synology DS214play - esp8266 Opentherm Gateway - esp8266 somfyremote - esp8266 poolcontrol - esp8266 energyreader - zwave - Philips hue

HFman
Posts: 37
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 21:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6635
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by HFman » Tuesday 17 October 2017 0:02

Good you have it working now !
My experience with ESP-link where different.. after some hours till 1 day it changed back to the old mode..

Now i use ESP easy 1.47 which works already for some weeks "stable".
I only see everytime one error in the log, (which i didn't see with esp-link).. not sure what this is, can't see it back in the sensors..
Recieving and sending is working...
Please be aware, that versions of esp-link older dan 1.47 seems not to work (in my case, 1.2 didn't work at all..).
When i first run ESP link on port 23, it didn't run stable, after change it to a high number is works ok.

"draw-back" from esp-link is that you can't see what i send to domoticz (at least i couldn't find that function).
In ESP-link you have (had ?) a nice terminal window..
So i can't "see" what command gives the error... (any suggestion how to see this ?)
Raspberry PI 2 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy - RF-Link -

Domotibart
Posts: 7
Joined: Tuesday 06 December 2016 19:53
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: V3.8153
Location: holland
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by Domotibart » Tuesday 17 October 2017 11:31

I tried 3 different versions of easyesp 1.23 1.47. And 2.00. I also had the error message, no clue what could be the error.
Somehow the easyesp does not work for me. The easy-link is stil going strong at this moment. Downside from the easylink is that I would like to connect a one wire temp sensor to the esp8266 because I do not have a return water temp sensor.
With easyesp I can do this easily but I don’t think this can be done with the easy-link software.
Synology DS214play - esp8266 Opentherm Gateway - esp8266 somfyremote - esp8266 poolcontrol - esp8266 energyreader - zwave - Philips hue

DaWauZ
Posts: 70
Joined: Wednesday 05 November 2014 11:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by DaWauZ » Tuesday 17 October 2017 12:23

I only get good results when I do the following:

Powerup the otgw and esp, wait about 2 minutes to be sure everything booted. Then use the reset button on the otgw, wait, and after that the esp is getting good data.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn XT1562 met Tapatalk

Raspberry Pi 2 model B with domoticz
OMV NAS installed on thin client HP T610
Openelec Kodi Mediaplayer on thin client HP T520 (and with multiboot windows 10)

HFman
Posts: 37
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 21:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6635
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by HFman » Tuesday 17 October 2017 16:52

With ESP easy 1.47, i don't need to reset.
Which software you use on your ESP ?
Raspberry PI 2 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy - RF-Link -

DaWauZ
Posts: 70
Joined: Wednesday 05 November 2014 11:14
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by DaWauZ » Tuesday 17 October 2017 17:19

HFman wrote:With ESP easy 1.47, i don't need to reset.
Which software you use on your ESP ?
I've got esp-link 2.1.7 . It has an terminal interface etc.
I can use it with domoticZ.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn XT1562 met Tapatalk

Raspberry Pi 2 model B with domoticz
OMV NAS installed on thin client HP T610
Openelec Kodi Mediaplayer on thin client HP T520 (and with multiboot windows 10)

HFman
Posts: 37
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 21:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6635
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by HFman » Saturday 28 October 2017 0:36

Although it was running for 5 weeks.. it suddenly crashed when the heating became more active...
Now also using ESP_link (latest beta) and running stable inclusief heating.
Still sometimes a 04 Error. But this can also be OTGW firmware related in combination with a Intergas heating.
Raspberry PI 2 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy - RF-Link -

domotest7766
Posts: 38
Joined: Monday 14 April 2014 18:28
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: [120] opentherm gateway

Post by domotest7766 » Wednesday 17 January 2018 21:43

Hello,

Is it possible to use this gateway with an OpenTherm compatible boiler and an incompatible thermostat just to use the OpenTherm protocol to get information from the boiler ? (even if it is not possible to alter its configuration).

Thanks,

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest