Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz
Post Reply
ngblume
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday 16 October 2015 23:13
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by ngblume » Friday 16 October 2015 23:56

Hey everyone,

I recently started putting together my Domoticz system.
I started from this tutorial:
http://www.vesternet.com/resources/appl ... iFqInrtmkp
Everything works great with all the devides (currently only two devices) listed in my signature.
The branch for updates is stable and no newer version than 2.2563 is available via check for update.
It works great!!

Hardware: Raspberry Pi 2 Modell B
OS: Domoticz image
Domoticz branch: Stable
Version number / build hash: 2.2563
OpenZWave Version: 1.3-293-ga4ea66b-dirty
Bug/problem or a question: Problem
Occurs: When including Popp Indoor Switches
Problem:
Today I bought two POPP 009006 Z-Wave Wall Plug Switch Schuko (EU) (IP20)[http://www.popp.eu/products/actuators/wall-plug-switch/] and one POPP 009105 Wall Plug Switch Schuko for Outdoor Use (EU) (IP44)[http://www.popp.eu/products/actuators/w ... h-outdoor/].
I started the inclusion process with the outdoor switch. Works great and is recognozed as "Popp Unknown: type=0003, id=0001" which makes sense, since acc. to manufacturer_specific.xml this device is not listed. It has certain config options which are therefore not directly available to my knwoledge but for now I'm happy with ON/OFF switch binary behavior.

The problem arises when I add one of the indoor switches. They included fine, a node id is assigned and I see an accordingly labeled devices. When I switch that device, unfortunately I don't get any reaction. The same is true for the other indoor switch.
I looked into the OZW_Log.txt and found the following entry:
"Node010, ERROR: Dropping command, expected response not received after 1 attempt(s)", which is the affected node.
In the Domoticz log, the entries show a time-out:
"OpenZWave: Received timeout notification from HomeID: 3952219047, NodeID: 10 (0x0a)"

Steps already tried::
I tried changing the manufacturer_specific.xml by changing the Popp section to the following:

Code: Select all

<Manufacturer id="0154" name="Popp">
        <Product type="1100" id="0001" name="123601 Plug-in Switch" config="popp/123601.xml" />
        <Product type="1100" id="0002" name="123580 Plug-in Dimmer" config="popp/123580.xml" />
        <Product type="0001" id="0001" name="123658 Plug-in Switch plus Power Meter" config="popp/123658.xml" />
        <!-- Added by ngblume -->
        <Product type="0003" id="0001" name="009006/009105 Plug-in Switch" />
        <!-- END Added -->
</Manufacturer>
This resulted in correct labeling of the nodes after reinclusion, but the behavior regarding time-outs didn't changed.

I also tried copying and modifying the popp/123601.xml to popp/009006.xml with the following content and including this file via "<Product type="0003" id="0001" name="009006/009105 Plug-in Switch" config="popp/009006.xml"/>". Something wasn't quite right, since these options never showed up for the devices, even after reinclusion.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Product xmlns='http://code.google.com/p/open-zwave/'>

<!-- Popp: 009006 Plug-in Switch -->

        <!-- Configuration  -->
        <CommandClass id="112">
                <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="1" label="Led mode" size="1">
                        <Help>Set LED indication mode</Help>
                        <Item label="Show switch state (Default)" value="1" />
                        <Item label="Disabled" value="0" />
                        <Item label="Operated by Indicator Command Class" value="2" />
                </Value>

                <Value type="short" genre="config" instance="1" index="2" label="Automatically switch off after" size="2" min="1" max="65535" value="0">
                        <Help>If not zero, automatically switch off after a user defined time. Unit: Sec, Min: 0, Max: 65535, Default: 0</Help>
                </Value>

                <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="3" label="What to do on RF off command" size="1">
                        <Help>Defines how to interpret RF Off command. Can be used in conjunction with Auto Off function: Ignore - to switch on the light by motion det$
                        <Item label="Switch off (Default)" value="0" />
                        <Item label="Ignore" value="1" />
                        <Item label="Switch on" value="2" />
                        <Item label="Switch on if load is off else switch off" value="3" />
                </Value>

                <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index="5" label="Restore switch state after power cycle" size="1">
                        <Help>Defines if the switch should restore switch state to the last state prior to device power off (power cycle).</Help>
                        <Item label="Yes (Default)" value="1" />
                        <Item label="No, turn off" value="0" />
                </Value>

                <Value type="short" ganre="config" instance="1" index="20" label="Energy consumption" size="2" min="1" max="3500" value="0">
                        <Help>If not zero, specified the consumption of the load in Watts for the calculation of power consumption. Unit: Watts, Min: 0, Max: 3500, Def$
                </Value>

                <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index=21" label="Color for OFF state" size="1">
                        <Help>What color is shown, when devide is OFF</Help>
                        <Item label="Off (Default)" value="0" />
                        <Item label="Red" value="1" />
                        <Item label="Green" value="2" />
                        <Item label="Blue" value="3" />
                        <Item label="Yelow" value="4" />
                </Value>

                <Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index=22" label="Color for ON state" size="1">
                        <Help>What color is shown, when devide is ON</Help>
                        <Item label="Blue (Default)" value="3" />
                        <Item label="Off (Default)" value="0" />
                        <Item label="Red" value="1" />
                        <Item label="Green" value="2" />
                        <Item label="Yelow" value="4" />
                </Value>

        </CommandClass>

        <!-- Association Groups -->

        <CommandClass id="133">
                <Associations num_groups="1">
                        <Group index="1" max_associations="1" label="Group 1" auto="true"/>
                </Associations>
        </CommandClass>

</Product>
To further investigate this issue, I excluded the outdoor switch, and included indoor switches without positive result.
After several tries, the outdoor switch works again now, but the indoor switches still don't work.

But, I have run out of ideas to test / try.
Does anyone have experience with these Popp Switches?
They look identical to the "Popp / Duwi ZW ZS 3500 Plugin Switch", which I have also one of, which works perfectly.

Any recommendation or something I could try is highly appreciated!
Thank you!

EDIT: Apparently, I posted to the wrong forum. Would one of the admins please move this to the Z-Wave subforum? Thank you!

Best regards
Niels
Domoticz 2.2563
Raspberry Pi 2 Modell B
Controller:
RaZberry via OpenZWave USB (Z-Wave.Me RaZberry Controller ZWave+)
Nodes:
Popp / Duwi ZW ZS 3500 Plugin Switch
FIBARO System FGRGBWM441 RGBW Controller

djoeney
Posts: 21
Joined: Sunday 17 May 2015 21:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by djoeney » Wednesday 04 November 2015 20:40

Hi,

Dont know if this solve your'e issues, if you still have them.
There are are few things that are incorrect:
<Help>Defines how to interpret RF Off command. Can be used in conjunction with Auto Off function: Ignore - to switch on the ligh$ no close </Help>
<Value type="list" genre="config" instance="1" index=21"

Can you confirm you got this device working including all the options?
Compute RPi 2 : Domoticz latest beta, Synology : Domoticz tested beta on failover system.
Peripherals RFXCOM - RFXtrx433, Z-Wave.Me ZME_UZB1 USB Stick,P1 cable on smartmeter, Logitech Harmony Hub, 3 IP camera's

djoeney
Posts: 21
Joined: Sunday 17 May 2015 21:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by djoeney » Wednesday 04 November 2015 21:17

Have been playing around with it this is the result. Only no power measurement. I didn't get openzwave from git so can't do a dist update.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Screenshot Domoticz Popp
Capture.PNG (141.04 KiB) Viewed 2940 times
Compute RPi 2 : Domoticz latest beta, Synology : Domoticz tested beta on failover system.
Peripherals RFXCOM - RFXtrx433, Z-Wave.Me ZME_UZB1 USB Stick,P1 cable on smartmeter, Logitech Harmony Hub, 3 IP camera's

rope
Posts: 3
Joined: Wednesday 11 November 2015 16:20
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by rope » Wednesday 11 November 2015 16:59

I'm New to Domoticz and started using it today on my Synology DS1812+. Managed to get P1 metering of power and gas working (USB Smart Meter Cable). Also got a Z-Stick gen5 connected and working and two POPP 009006 Plug-In switches. On/Off is working fine but the Watt and Kwh readings remain from the POPP 009006 remain 0. (The P1 readings are working OK).

Any ideas where to look?

I'm using the latest build from Jadahl and also tried using a local install on an Windows machine with version V2.3570. Both with the same result. There is polling because I see the following in de logs:

2015-11-11 15:35:33.324 (P1 Meter) P1 Smart Meter (P1 Energy)
2015-11-11 15:35:43.325 (P1 Meter) P1 Smart Meter (P1 Energy)
2015-11-11 15:35:53.327 (P1 Meter) P1 Smart Meter (P1 Energy)
2015-11-11 15:36:03.330 (P1 Meter) P1 Smart Meter (P1 Energy)
2015-11-11 15:36:03.805 (Z-Stick) General/kWh (Koffiemachine)
2015-11-11 15:36:03.942 (Z-Stick) Usage (Koffiemachine)
2015-11-11 15:36:03.943 (Z-Stick) General/kWh (Koffiemachine)
2015-11-11 15:36:13.331 (P1 Meter) P1 Smart Meter (P1 Energy)
2015-11-11 15:36:23.332 (P1 Meter) P1 Smart Meter (P1 Energy)
2015-11-11 15:36:24.092 (Z-Stick) General/kWh (Koffiemachine)
2015-11-11 15:36:24.229 (Z-Stick) Usage (Koffiemachine)
2015-11-11 15:36:24.230 (Z-Stick) General/kWh (Koffiemachine)
2015-11-11 15:36:33.334 (P1 Meter) P1 Smart Meter (P1 Energy)

djoeney
Posts: 21
Joined: Sunday 17 May 2015 21:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by djoeney » Wednesday 11 November 2015 21:01

Hi rope,

I think there is something wrong with device class discovery. I only see one device "binary switch", i don't see the General/KWh at all. I'm using an RPi2 with the latest beta of domoticz installed.
Compute RPi 2 : Domoticz latest beta, Synology : Domoticz tested beta on failover system.
Peripherals RFXCOM - RFXtrx433, Z-Wave.Me ZME_UZB1 USB Stick,P1 cable on smartmeter, Logitech Harmony Hub, 3 IP camera's

ngblume
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday 16 October 2015 23:13
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by ngblume » Wednesday 11 November 2015 23:12

Hey everyone,

thank you for your reply.
Unfortunately, I'm not able to try out your suggestion(s), since I already returned the product and went with a different version, that works a lot better, actually completely stable.
I switched to the "original" Popp / Duwi ZW ZS 3500 Plugin Switch(es) and they work without a hitch right out of the box.
I found a supplier, that offered them even cheaper than the POPP ones.

Thanks for your suggestion and keep up the good work with Domoticz!!
Great software !

Best regards
Niels
Domoticz 2.2563
Raspberry Pi 2 Modell B
Controller:
RaZberry via OpenZWave USB (Z-Wave.Me RaZberry Controller ZWave+)
Nodes:
Popp / Duwi ZW ZS 3500 Plugin Switch
FIBARO System FGRGBWM441 RGBW Controller

rope
Posts: 3
Joined: Wednesday 11 November 2015 16:20
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by rope » Thursday 12 November 2015 3:44

Hi All,

I choose these plug-in's because they are Z-Wave Plus (and plus is always better than regular right ? :lol: )

I found out some extra info here:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!searc ... f12ij2BAAJ

Using that xml file I can change the way the leds work and use the switching but indeed no metering.

Looks like the METER Version 4 Class needs to be added to OpenZWave? I'm new to all of this so don't know who should/could do this and when I can expect support for this device in a Domoticz build for Synology but I'm patient.

Regards,
Wim

djoeney
Posts: 21
Joined: Sunday 17 May 2015 21:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by djoeney » Thursday 12 November 2015 20:44

Hi Wim,

I have requested on to add the xml files to the openzwave git repository, I don't know how to use git to upload the changes I made because I don't use git to update openzwave, domoticz does this for me. When you update domoticz / openzwave the changes made in the manufacturer_specific.xml are lost. Now this is not a problem when you already added the device because the the manufacturer_specific.xml and the popp/009009.mxl are merged in a config file called zwcfg_####.xml.

Only when you re add the device it comes up as an unknown device without the configuration parameters.

I'm really hoping that the right device classes are added in a future release version of openzwave.

Does someone know a way of manually adding a device class to openzwave?
Compute RPi 2 : Domoticz latest beta, Synology : Domoticz tested beta on failover system.
Peripherals RFXCOM - RFXtrx433, Z-Wave.Me ZME_UZB1 USB Stick,P1 cable on smartmeter, Logitech Harmony Hub, 3 IP camera's

User avatar
heggink
Posts: 598
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 21:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V4.9999
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Popp 009006 Plug-In Switch - Timeout

Post by heggink » Friday 07 September 2018 11:44

Regarding the power reporting, here is what's mentioned in their brochure (http://www.popp.eu/wp-content/uploads/2 ... P20_En.pdf):

A built in virtual power meter will report the power consumption of the load attached. However the user must configure the assumed constant power draw of the load.

In other words, the power meter is complete rubbish as you have to provide your estimation of power usage on the plug and it has to be constant. I have a massive coffee machine attached and as soon as I enter anything in the config parameter, I get a reading but it's completely useless since the machine switches its heating on/off but the plug assumes constant draw.

Why anyone would want to build a functionality like that is beyond me but hey, it switches right?

H
Pi3, latest beta
RFXCOM, z-wave (AEOTEC, switches, temhum, pir, contacts),
Plugwise2py, P1 'smart'meter & solar panel
Alexa, Wifi Cams motion detection
ESP: relays, PIR & Temp/TempHum
Geofence iCloud, Bluetooth & Wifi ping
Harmony hub, Nest

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests