Cheap chinese z-wave products

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz
nisak
Posts: 2
Joined: Tuesday 03 May 2016 12:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by nisak » Thursday 25 January 2018 12:32

Anyone been able to controll another node with the neo coolcam switch?
I have a "Neo CoolCam Wall Switch (2 channels)+" where I want switch #2 to control a "Neo CoolCam Power plug 12A+".
I have assigned group3 in the switch to the powerplug (as shown in dump), but it wont work.
Although as you can see in the dump it does not seem like the switch is comunicating with the plug (marked in green circle)
Image
Help and tips is very appreciated

rrozema
Posts: 118
Joined: Thursday 26 October 2017 13:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Delft
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by rrozema » Thursday 25 January 2018 20:07

@nisak: The circular diagram does not indicate which device communicates with what other devices. It indicates the available direct routes between devices. 2 devices do however not need to be connected directly to communicate with each other. Even if no direct link exists between 2 devices, they can still communicate with each other via another device that both can communicate with. In this case the intermediate device simply receives the sending device's information and sends it on to the receiving device and vice versa. And it doesn't even stop at a single node in between: there can be up to 4 hops between the 2 devices. This is called a mesh-network.

Your conclusion that the switch doesn't communicate with the plug seems therefor incorrect. The both devices do communicate, but they do not understand each other. This is -as far as I know- because of a problem in openzwave, but it may as well be in domoticz. Nobody has responded to my question on this same topic: http://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopic ... 66#p166466. The problem is that this "Neo CoolCam Wall Switch (2 channels)+" is a multi channel device (technically it even consists of 3 channels), but your associations dialog (the right part of your picture), does not allow you to create associations for a multi channel device. If you run the beta version of domoticz, you see that the number in "Gruppe 1" is not "1", but "1.1" for multi channel devices. This apparently indicates that channel "1" of this device sends its notifications to device "1", the controller. I think this is an improvement over the stable version. However, I also think that this is not completely correct yet. I have exactly the same devices, the "Neo CoolCam Wall Switch (2 channels)+" and the "Neo CoolCam Power plug 12A+" in my setup, and one of the 2 channel wall switches even happens to have device id 030 like yours too. So I'll show you what it looks like in my beta domoticz:
zwave setup.JPG
zwave setup.JPG (81.26 KiB) Viewed 2604 times
As you see "Groep 1" now has "1.1". Plus there are now *5* association groups:
  • lifeline
  • On/Off S1
  • Dimmer S1
  • On/Off S2
  • Dimmer S2
I have no idea what to use the "Dimmer Sx" groups for (this device is not able to dim the lights), but the idea for the "On/Off Sx" groups seems pretty clear: if I add a device id in group 2 - "On/Off S1", that device should be switched when the left switch is switched. A device added in group 4 - "On/Off S2" turns On and Off with the right switch. I will test this tonight when I am at home and let you know the result. If it works, updating to the latest beta and excluding and re-including should solve your problem.

My problem is however the other way around: I want to control one of the both channels in the 2 channel switch from a (single channel) PIR device. The dialog does however not let me enter the "x.y" notation into a group that is on a single channel device. So I would think I need to enter "30.2" into group 2 - "Control COmmands BASIC_SET" on device 029 and the light attached to S1 should turn on and off when the pir device is triggered. However, if I enter "30.2", every time the ".2" is stripped off and only "30" gets inserted into the association group. And the light doesn't switch off and on :-(. I haven't been able to figure this one out and think it is a bug... The same setup does work when I use the same PIR and a single channel wall switch. For now I use a script for the 2 channel switches, but that causes annoying delays sometimes and it stops working when the controller is down... I would like to use associations for multi channel devices too.

rrozema
Posts: 118
Joined: Thursday 26 October 2017 13:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Delft
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by rrozema » Friday 26 January 2018 23:07

B.t.w. I've had the same problem in my kitchen and worked around it by writing a dzVentz script. This actually works even better. z-wave associations works only in one direction: if the slave switch toggles, the master switch is toggled too. If however the master switch is toggled, the slave doesn't automatically toggle too. This little script does toggle the slave switch too if the master gets toggled:. Replace the names of the devices in the top of the script by your devices names and paste the script into a dzVents event window. 'Keuken: Aanrecht' is my plug, 'Keuken: S2' is the right switch of a 2 channel wall switch.

Code: Select all

local MASTER = 'Keuken: Aanrecht'
local SLAVE = 'Keuken: S2'

return {
	on = {
		devices = {
			MASTER,
			SLAVE
		}
	},
    logging = {
        level = domoticz.LOG_INFO
    },
    execute = function(domoticz, device)
        if (device.name == MASTER) then
            if (device.state ~= domoticz.devices(SLAVE).state) then
                domoticz.devices(SLAVE).setState(device.state).silent()
            end
        elseif (device.name == SLAVE) then
            if (device.state ~= domoticz.devices(MASTER).state) then
                domoticz.devices(MASTER).setState(device.state).silent()
            end
        end
	end
}
Last edited by rrozema on Friday 09 March 2018 14:51, edited 1 time in total.

berkens
Posts: 40
Joined: Tuesday 06 October 2015 13:03
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.8891
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by berkens » Saturday 27 January 2018 15:20

In the circulair diagram with the nodes, you can click on one specific node, that displays only that interconnection.

Here you see where only node 2 is going to.
Screenshot_20180122-204008.jpg
Zwave network info
Screenshot_20180122-204008.jpg (242.71 KiB) Viewed 2550 times
Windows 10 laptop, Synology DS214 + DSM6.1, Zwave.me USB, Neo CoolCam powerplugs & dual wall switches, Heiman gasdetector, Eurotronic Spirit heatvalve, Samsung SmartThings hub v2 UK

User avatar
Arkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tuesday 03 December 2013 16:24
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Arkie » Saturday 03 February 2018 19:41

Heiman Smart Smoke Sensor HS1SA-Z+

Is there a way to launch these smoke alarms yourself, would be nice to warn people in the entire building when 1 sensor is activated?
And you can use them for the alarm system!!!

When you add the Heiman Smart Smoke Sensor HS1SA-Z+
you get 5 nwe idx, but nothing happens if you click one of them!

Regards
Synology DS412+
Philips Hue
LightwaveRF dimmers
kaku
Fibaro
Logitech Hamony elite
Foscam 9804 ip cam
RFXtrx433E USB 433.92MHz
ZXT 120 eu AC controller
Heatmiser NEO stat thermostats and Hub

rrozema
Posts: 118
Joined: Thursday 26 October 2017 13:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Delft
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by rrozema » Sunday 04 February 2018 9:39

Arkie wrote:
Saturday 03 February 2018 19:41
Heiman Smart Smoke Sensor HS1SA-Z+

Is there a way to launch these smoke alarms yourself, would be nice to warn people in the entire building when 1 sensor is activated?
There is no way to activate the sensors internal siren. But think about it, do you not want to know where the source is? If all sensors sirens would be triggered at once you could get panic and nobody knows where the fire is...
A better alternative is to add external sirens that are triggered by all sensors. That way you will know where the fire is (the one sensor that activated) and all people in the building are alerted by the sirens (and lights).

User avatar
Arkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tuesday 03 December 2013 16:24
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Arkie » Sunday 04 February 2018 14:56

There is no way to activate the sensors internal siren. But think about it, do you not want to know where the source is? If all sensors sirens would be triggered at once you could get panic and nobody knows where the fire is...
A better alternative is to add external sirens that are triggered by all sensors. That way you will know where the fire is (the one sensor that activated) and all people in the building are alerted by the sirens (and lights).
Your're absolutely right, that's a good solution, but you need an extra component, the more fuctions with less components is also nice!
Thanxs for your reply
Synology DS412+
Philips Hue
LightwaveRF dimmers
kaku
Fibaro
Logitech Hamony elite
Foscam 9804 ip cam
RFXtrx433E USB 433.92MHz
ZXT 120 eu AC controller
Heatmiser NEO stat thermostats and Hub

User avatar
Arkie
Posts: 97
Joined: Tuesday 03 December 2013 16:24
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by Arkie » Wednesday 07 February 2018 0:32

After 2 days i'm getting false alarms on the Heiman Smart Smoke Sensors HS1SA-Z, not the alarm of the sensor, but in domoticz i see there has been a fire, so it looks like they are not reliable!

Every idx of the sensors (2 sensors) has been switched on at the same time.
Every sensor at a different time!

Anyone else these complains?
Synology DS412+
Philips Hue
LightwaveRF dimmers
kaku
Fibaro
Logitech Hamony elite
Foscam 9804 ip cam
RFXtrx433E USB 433.92MHz
ZXT 120 eu AC controller
Heatmiser NEO stat thermostats and Hub

User avatar
gijsje
Posts: 152
Joined: Saturday 19 August 2017 14:28
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Berkel Enschot, NL
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by gijsje » Wednesday 07 February 2018 0:34

I do see the same things it is a bit funny as the detector itself does not make a noise but only an alarm in domoticz
Synology DS218+ - RFXtrx433 - Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5 - Toon Thermostat - Neo CoolCam plug - Neo CoolCam PIR - FIBARO PIR - Heiman Smart Smoke Senso - Neo CoolCam Leakage Detector - BeNext Tag Reader - P1 and S0 USB - many Mi-Light lights - KAKU switches

zenit
Posts: 6
Joined: Wednesday 25 March 2015 18:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Berg aan de Maas
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by zenit » Wednesday 14 February 2018 23:36

Same issue here. I have placed 2 of these since yesterday. This afternoon they both gave a false alarm. It was approximately 24 hours after commisioning them. Maybe it's some kind of selftest I'am thinking. There was almost half an hour between the 1st en the 2nd one when I put the battery in and included them in Domoticz . Concerning the false alarm today this gap in time was almost the same. I've got 5 different "sensor ID's" per smoke detector. Maybe the eventdata should be taken from a another "sensor ID".
Can somebody who is also using these devices compare in this situation?


HarR
Posts: 19
Joined: Saturday 30 December 2017 15:32
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by HarR » Sunday 18 February 2018 21:55

zenit wrote:Same issue here. I have placed 2 of these since yesterday. This afternoon they both gave a false alarm. It was approximately 24 hours after commisioning them. Maybe it's some kind of selftest I'am thinking. There was almost half an hour between the 1st en the 2nd one when I put the battery in and included them in Domoticz . Concerning the false alarm today this gap in time was almost the same. I've got 5 different "sensor ID's" per smoke detector. Maybe the eventdata should be taken from a another "sensor ID".
Can somebody who is also using these devices compare in this situation?
Similar experience here after I had installed them. Now I haven’t had an alert for the last 6 days anymore though.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

HarR
Posts: 19
Joined: Saturday 30 December 2017 15:32
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by HarR » Monday 19 February 2018 11:13

Guess what....

Got a false alarm again this morning.
Maybe found sort of a solution. There are 2 on/off devices associated with this Smoke sensor. When I added both, and looked in the sensor’s logs, I noticed one of them only showed the on and offs matching the times I pressed the test button. So let’s see if there will be no more false alarms using the other sensor instance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
gijsje
Posts: 152
Joined: Saturday 19 August 2017 14:28
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Berkel Enschot, NL
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by gijsje » Monday 19 February 2018 11:39

I was testing the same thing and it looks better with the other one selected
Synology DS218+ - RFXtrx433 - Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5 - Toon Thermostat - Neo CoolCam plug - Neo CoolCam PIR - FIBARO PIR - Heiman Smart Smoke Senso - Neo CoolCam Leakage Detector - BeNext Tag Reader - P1 and S0 USB - many Mi-Light lights - KAKU switches

rrozema
Posts: 118
Joined: Thursday 26 October 2017 13:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Delft
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by rrozema » Saturday 10 March 2018 7:05

Also Heiman's CO sensor (HEI HS1CA-Z) does trigger one of its sensors at random times. This sensor has an id that ends in 2A and you better not trigger an alarm from this, as you will get false alarms. The sensor that is most useful -i.e. does not give false alarms- is the one for which the id ends in 00. Sadly this sensor doesn't report the devices battery level. So you still need to add both sensors to get the full experience.

at4500
Posts: 10
Joined: Wednesday 14 December 2016 13:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.9052
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by at4500 » Friday 23 March 2018 14:41

NEO COOLCAM Z-wave NAS-WR01Z Wireless Smart Power Plug Socket kWh graphs stopped working, discussing a couple of pages back:

has anyone resolved it? Re-pairing doesn't help. Full zwave controller reset hasn't been done yet.

Also, a question outside this scope, has anyone actually changed the security key on controller, or left originally set:
actual: 0x01, 0x02, 0x03, 0.....***

Any security breach on this one? :)
Attachments
zerokWh----Capture.PNG
zerokWh----Capture.PNG (29.18 KiB) Viewed 1565 times

rrozema
Posts: 118
Joined: Thursday 26 October 2017 13:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Delft
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by rrozema » Wednesday 28 March 2018 13:39

Today until March 30th 2018, there is a sale on aliexpress with great discounts. For example coolcam's power plug:
NEO COOLCAM NAS-WR01ZE z-wave EU Smart Stekker Socket Domotica Alarmsysteem home for only 19.17 euro if you order via the aliexpress app. Get them while they last ;-)

I've already ordered 4 times multiple items from this shop "Coolcam Offical Store" already and I can tell you their service is excellent. They ship the items very fast and they respond fast -even during the weekend-. When one of my plugs became defective, I had to send a picture of the plug and received a new one after a few days. The packaging of the items is a bit cheap for our standards (they usually ship the item in the box, wrapped in bubble plastic and a plastic sealing bag), but if anything get's damaged in transport, all you need to do send a message and a new one will be resent. So I can really recommend this shop. And no, I don't get anything for this promotional talk, I just want to share with you this very good offer (I've already ordered some more plugs and switches for myself ;-) ).

rowanbradley
Posts: 33
Joined: Wednesday 07 March 2018 21:28
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.9025
Location: Newmarket, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by rowanbradley » Wednesday 28 March 2018 14:02

Has anyone seen a chinese (cheap) z-wave temperature sensor? Neo doesn't seem to have one on their pages.

Thanks - Rowan

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 962
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by sincze » Wednesday 28 March 2018 14:04

unfortunately not, for that I had to switch to XIAOMI temp sensors and ofcourse the Xiaomi gateway
Using Pass2php since 2016-12
LAN: RFLink, P1-Port, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266, Xiaomi Gateway
Solar: Omnik Inverter, PVOutput
Video: Kodi clients with Harmony HUB
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

rrozema
Posts: 118
Joined: Thursday 26 October 2017 13:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Delft
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Post by rrozema » Wednesday 28 March 2018 14:43

rowanbradley wrote:
Wednesday 28 March 2018 14:02
Has anyone seen a chinese (cheap) z-wave temperature sensor? Neo doesn't seem to have one on their pages.

Thanks - Rowan
Neo's NAS-PD02Z is sometimes advertised as having a temperature sensor and its priced as 20.84 a.t.m ((link)). I have not tested this device myself though and one the "Official Coolcam Store" the device is sold but there is no mention of a temperature sensor in it.

One cheap sensor from another brand and store is Z-wave Temperatuur & Vochtigheid Sensor Smart Home EU Versie 868.42 mhz Z wave Smart detector. Proced at 20.60 euro. Also for this one I can't talk from experience; I haven't tested the device nor the store. This store does have lots of coupons, so you may get an even better price. Let us know your experience on the device and the store if you decide to buy it :-).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gianni and 2 guests