Cheap chinese z-wave products

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz
trixwood
Posts: 510
Joined: Friday 18 March 2016 8:20
Target OS: -
Domoticz version: Offline
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby trixwood » Saturday 07 January 2017 16:19

That's quoting from an unverified source. According to the box max is 12A (i am a bit rusty, correct me if I am wrong, but that makes it at 230V: 2760 Watt)

Photo on 07-01-17 at 15.09.jpg
Photo on 07-01-17 at 15.09.jpg (64.2 KiB) Viewed 505 times

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 629
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6833
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby sincze » Sunday 08 January 2017 3:08

trixwood wrote:That's quoting from an unverified source. According to the box max is 12A (i am a bit rusty, correct me if I am wrong, but that makes it at 230V: 2760 Watt)

Photo on 07-01-17 at 15.09.jpg


Maybe this is verified??
Quoting... :D http://www.szneo.com/en/products/show.php?id=189
coolcam.jpg
coolcam.jpg (299.61 KiB) Viewed 479 times
Running Domoticz since 2013 with Cubietruck
LAN: RFLink, P1, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

trixwood
Posts: 510
Joined: Friday 18 March 2016 8:20
Target OS: -
Domoticz version: Offline
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby trixwood » Sunday 08 January 2017 5:39

Too bad that sticker on the photo is not on the actual plug. And their non existing specification tab on their website is also not a great help. Besides I ordered us versions for use in those area's. Is that also the same with 110v?

Pierryck
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday 27 February 2016 21:39
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby Pierryck » Sunday 08 January 2017 8:50

A quick feedback on my first chinese products: I have installed 3 power plug and 2 door/windows sensors from Neo coolcam and they all work fine with domoticz.

mschut
Posts: 133
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby mschut » Sunday 08 January 2017 9:06

trixwood wrote:That's quoting from an unverified source. According to the box max is 12A (i am a bit rusty, correct me if I am wrong, but that makes it at 230V: 2760 Watt)

Photo on 07-01-17 at 15.09.jpg

Tanks, I am even a bit more rusty probably ;). This helps, explains even why my oven is shutting the plug down (3.5 kW).

However, after two plugs completely dying on my fridge I do not dare to try a third. But with 180W this cannot be the cause. Or, could a non grounded plug be the cause? It is grounded, but just for the sake of options it could be that the ground on this socket is not connected well.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

zalsson
Posts: 19
Joined: Friday 04 November 2016 16:18
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby zalsson » Sunday 08 January 2017 9:12

mschut wrote:
trixwood wrote:That's quoting from an unverified source. According to the box max is 12A (i am a bit rusty, correct me if I am wrong, but that makes it at 230V: 2760 Watt)

Photo on 07-01-17 at 15.09.jpg

Tanks, I am even a bit more rusty probably ;). This helps, explains even why my oven is shutting the plug down (3.5 kW).

However, after two plugs completely dying on my fridge I do not dare to try a third. But with 180W this cannot be the cause. Or, could a non grounded plug be the cause? It is grounded, but just for the sake of options it could be that the ground on this socket is not connected well.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

The plug that died for me is the only one that was connected with ground...

Skickat från min A0001 via Tapatalk

mschut
Posts: 133
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby mschut » Sunday 08 January 2017 9:21

zalsson wrote:The plug that died for me is the only one that was connected with ground...

Skickat från min A0001 via Tapatalk


Did you try another plug on the same socket successful afterwards?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

zalsson
Posts: 19
Joined: Friday 04 November 2016 16:18
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby zalsson » Sunday 08 January 2017 9:23

No didn't want it to die :) so skipped it, will try when the replacement comes.

Skickat från min A0001 via Tapatalk

mschut
Posts: 133
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby mschut » Sunday 08 January 2017 9:30

Smart. I did, unsuccessful though... However, my theory was that it was a malfunctional plug. However, two dying plugs is no incident anymore. So something in the situation causing it to die, rather than a unlucky bad manufactured plug.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 629
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6833
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby sincze » Sunday 08 January 2017 12:33

trixwood wrote:Too bad that sticker on the photo is not on the actual plug. And their non existing specification tab on their website is also not a great help. Besides I ordered us versions for use in those area's. Is that also the same with 110v?

Jups I spotted the difference blue vs sticker. Ah well it's Chinese products may differ after any batch production. whats on the box is only what's on the box not inside :) I would stay in the safe side. with the sticker it mimics the Fibaro

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Running Domoticz since 2013 with Cubietruck
LAN: RFLink, P1, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

User avatar
sincze
Posts: 629
Joined: Monday 02 June 2014 22:46
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.6833
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby sincze » Sunday 08 January 2017 12:40

mschut wrote:Smart. I did, unsuccessful though... However, my theory was that it was a malfunctional plug. However, two dying plugs is no incident anymore. So something in the situation causing it to die, rather than a unlucky bad manufactured plug.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

Should I watch out connecting these plugs to grounded sockets? All of my sockets are grounded and most devices I use SCHUKO as well. Except for my OTGW that has a flat EU connector ??

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Running Domoticz since 2013 with Cubietruck
LAN: RFLink, P1, OTGW, MySensors
USB: RFXCom, ZWave
WIFI: Mi-light Wifi-Bridge, Sonoff, ESP8266
Sensors: You name it I probably got 1.

zalsson
Posts: 19
Joined: Friday 04 November 2016 16:18
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby zalsson » Sunday 08 January 2017 14:08

sincze wrote:
mschut wrote:Smart. I did, unsuccessful though... However, my theory was that it was a malfunctional plug. However, two dying plugs is no incident anymore. So something in the situation causing it to die, rather than a unlucky bad manufactured plug.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

Should I watch out connecting these plugs to grounded sockets? All of my sockets are grounded and most devices I use SCHUKO as well. Except for my OTGW that has a flat EU connector ??

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

No if it work it work, should not be a problem to use with grounded socket.
I hope I just was unlucky.

Skickat från min A0001 via Tapatalk

jf2020
Posts: 2
Joined: Monday 12 December 2016 21:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby jf2020 » Sunday 08 January 2017 18:29

mschut wrote:However, after two plugs completely dying on my fridge I do not dare to try a third. But with 180W this cannot be the cause. Or, could a non grounded plug be the cause? It is grounded, but just for the sake of options it could be that the ground on this socket is not connected well.


The issue is that your fridge is asking for much, much more than 180W when the compressor is starting (can be 10-15 amps or more depending on the compressor - some use a starting capacitor others have a special windings). This a well-known issue with inductive loads (i.e. motors) especially with fridge compressors. So it is relatively likely that the surge when powering it on is frying the plug,

mschut
Posts: 133
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby mschut » Sunday 08 January 2017 21:10

Thanks. A technical explanation what my belly was thinking. Won't try another one ;)

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk

Luigi87
Posts: 38
Joined: Thursday 17 March 2016 15:58
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby Luigi87 » Monday 09 January 2017 10:24

mschut wrote:
trixwood wrote:That's quoting from an unverified source. According to the box max is 12A (i am a bit rusty, correct me if I am wrong, but that makes it at 230V: 2760 Watt)

Photo on 07-01-17 at 15.09.jpg

Tanks, I am even a bit more rusty probably ;). This helps, explains even why my oven is shutting the plug down (3.5 kW).

However, after two plugs completely dying on my fridge I do not dare to try a third. But with 180W this cannot be the cause. Or, could a non grounded plug be the cause? It is grounded, but just for the sake of options it could be that the ground on this socket is not connected well.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G920F met Tapatalk


You are right 230V * 12A = 2760 Watt.
But i would not go higher than 10A on the plugs (they are from china after all).

It is a bit weird they die on you.
I have 4 plug in use, 2 are grounded and in use for my washing machine and dryer (no problems here), and 2 plug for 2 lamps who are not grounded.

I had also one plug who was bad, he died on me when useing it in an ungrounded lamp.

jf2020 wrote:
mschut wrote:However, after two plugs completely dying on my fridge I do not dare to try a third. But with 180W this cannot be the cause. Or, could a non grounded plug be the cause? It is grounded, but just for the sake of options it could be that the ground on this socket is not connected well.


The issue is that your fridge is asking for much, much more than 180W when the compressor is starting (can be 10-15 amps or more depending on the compressor - some use a starting capacitor others have a special windings). This a well-known issue with inductive loads (i.e. motors) especially with fridge compressors. So it is relatively likely that the surge when powering it on is frying the plug,


Cooling compressors are always a pain in the ..... they common have a high startup spike, which is not measured by simple current meters

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 304
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby LouiS22 » Tuesday 10 January 2017 10:50

Just a quick note: according to domoticz github, latest beta (6327) contains an OZW update, among other things the Neo Siren and Motion Sensor got an updated xml. I remember some of us had problems with these devices. I don't own these ones, so can't tell what's working or not though.

Luigi87
Posts: 38
Joined: Thursday 17 March 2016 15:58
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby Luigi87 » Tuesday 10 January 2017 14:19

LouiS22 wrote:Just a quick note: according to domoticz github, latest beta (6327) contains an OZW update, among other things the Neo Siren and Motion Sensor got an updated xml. I remember some of us had problems with these devices. I don't own these ones, so can't tell what's working or not though.


Ah nice, i have a sirene divice whitout parameters.
But i am a bit reserved about running the Beta versions. Don't like to introduce (more) bugs in my system.

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 304
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby LouiS22 » Tuesday 10 January 2017 14:28

Luigi87 wrote:
LouiS22 wrote:Just a quick note: according to domoticz github, latest beta (6327) contains an OZW update, among other things the Neo Siren and Motion Sensor got an updated xml. I remember some of us had problems with these devices. I don't own these ones, so can't tell what's working or not though.


Ah nice, i have a sirene divice whitout parameters.
But i am a bit reserved about running the Beta versions. Don't like to introduce (more) bugs in my system.


you can always grab the relevant xmls to test your gear ;)

Luigi87
Posts: 38
Joined: Thursday 17 March 2016 15:58
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby Luigi87 » Tuesday 10 January 2017 14:44

LouiS22 wrote:
Luigi87 wrote:
LouiS22 wrote:Just a quick note: according to domoticz github, latest beta (6327) contains an OZW update, among other things the Neo Siren and Motion Sensor got an updated xml. I remember some of us had problems with these devices. I don't own these ones, so can't tell what's working or not though.


Ah nice, i have a sirene divice whitout parameters.
But i am a bit reserved about running the Beta versions. Don't like to introduce (more) bugs in my system.


you can always grab the relevant xmls to test your gear ;)


How does this works? I know how to place a XML in the Open Z-wave folder, but not to get it from the Domoticz data.
And when the XML is in the folder, do i need to exclude and include the sirene again?

User avatar
LouiS22
Posts: 304
Joined: Friday 27 February 2015 14:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Cheap chinese z-wave products

Postby LouiS22 » Tuesday 10 January 2017 15:02

Ithink you have to exclude, so do that.

1. make a backup of your manufacturer_specific.xml.
2. Then visit domoticz github: https://github.com/domoticz/domoticz/tree/master/Config
3. grab the manufacturer_specific.xml and the files from shenzen_neo folder.
4. Place the neo folder files into your neo folder files
5. place the new specific.xml
6. reboot your pi
7. include your device

Hopefully you'll have a fully working stuff.


Return to “Z-Wave”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests