Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Client tools or tools that can connect with Domoticz. Tools for Windows, iOS, Android, Linux etc.
randytsuch
Posts: 87
Joined: Sunday 20 March 2016 19:56
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: LA, Ca USA
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by randytsuch » Friday 01 September 2017 22:51

I'm looking at https with letsencrypt. I tried a while ago to create my own certs on my pi and didn't have much success, so hoping this will go better.
If I can get letsencrypt and domoticz working, I would be OK to open one port for controlicz to my pi.

But don't I have to give you the letsencrypt cert?

Sorry if I'm asking stupid questions, I know just enough to be dangerous, I'm a HW type by day.

Randy

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Friday 01 September 2017 22:57

Nope, don't need your cert!
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

Jem101
Posts: 43
Joined: Saturday 02 May 2015 21:26
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Jem101 » Friday 01 September 2017 23:57

Well it's taken me the best part of a day but finally I've managed to get it all working. I created one account on Controlicz, set up the SSL connection to my Domoticz installation, tested the remote access, linked the skill, set the Echo to discover and absolutely nothing. Tried it many times, no idea why it wouldn't work, but eventually I created a new account with a different email address and simpler password for the Domoticz user account (would your code have an issue with an _ in the password?). And this time success, the Echo found all the devices I wanted (in fact it found a few too many, so I had to change my room plans slightly and rediscover - but no biggie).

So all seems to be working - it's a more elegant solution that the HABridge method (which oddly enough has stopped working completely for me this morning, before I even started with Controlicz, but that's something to be thought about tomorrow) and I'll probably need to spend a bit of time fine-tuning the Alexa_Name parameters to get it to better fit with how I like to name things.

I did have an issue with two scenes, both defined in Domoticz OK, both in the same room plan but only one was being picked up by the Echo. Tried the discovery many times but no luck. I eventually created a new scene with the same settings in the same room plan and that one was picked up first time - go figure!

Anyway money (via Paypal) is duly dispatched, have a drink on me, I used to Iive in Bromley but now moved to the next door borough of Bexley - I haven't been to the Bromley shopping centre for about ten years, I bet it's changed quite a bit!

One last thing, if I PM you the original email address I used to sign up and which I won't be using now, did you want to delete it? Purely for the purpose of keeping things clean and tidy.

Best wishes

John

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 02 September 2017 8:27

Hi John -
thanks for the feedback, and the donation is very kind!
PM me the details and i'll clean them out, definitely :)
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

joshmosh
Posts: 19
Joined: Monday 06 April 2015 7:01
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by joshmosh » Saturday 02 September 2017 13:14

Any idea what could be wrong ?
I have Domoticz (latest stable version) on my Raspberry Pi. Access via https enabled, user and password in Domoticz.
Controlicz skill in Alexa enabled, user on Controlicz.com created. Got message that I should allow Controlicz access to my Domiticz installation -> granted.

In Alexa app I look for devices - nothing. I have a number of devices with Alexa_Name in the description part.

What am I doing wrong ?
Thank you very much for your help

Josh

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 02 September 2017 13:44

Are your devices in room plans in Domoticz?
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

fecus
Posts: 14
Joined: Monday 20 February 2017 16:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.7708
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by fecus » Saturday 02 September 2017 14:35

I'm in a same situation as joshmosh. But, what is the uid? Maybe i messed up this number?
Is it a "MyDomoticz Instance ID:"?
Can cause mistake the hungarian language? e.g. the name of switch?
Is it any tool to make sure the controlicz see my equipment?

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 02 September 2017 14:37

uid = domoticz username you can use to log into Domoticz
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

joshmosh
Posts: 19
Joined: Monday 06 April 2015 7:01
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by joshmosh » Saturday 02 September 2017 14:43

Madgeni wrote:
Saturday 02 September 2017 13:44
Are your devices in room plans in Domoticz?
Yes, they are. Currently I have three different room plans and a number of devices (not all) are in those plans.

fecus
Posts: 14
Joined: Monday 20 February 2017 16:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.7708
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by fecus » Saturday 02 September 2017 15:20

Madgeni wrote:
Saturday 02 September 2017 14:37
uid = domoticz username you can use to log into Domoticz
I'm stupid!!
Thank you. It is working.

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 02 September 2017 17:06

@joshmosh - can you PM me your email address and i'll take a look? thx
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

fecus
Posts: 14
Joined: Monday 20 February 2017 16:24
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 3.7708
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by fecus » Saturday 02 September 2017 19:35

Can I set "Source IP address" in router in firewall port forwarding setup? Has Controlicz fix IP?

quack3d
Posts: 33
Joined: Sunday 26 March 2017 17:03
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by quack3d » Saturday 02 September 2017 21:14

fecus wrote:
Saturday 02 September 2017 19:35
Can I set "Source IP address" in router in firewall port forwarding setup? Has Controlicz fix IP?
Yes. Ping controlicz.com to get IP. Works fine here.

Kerel
Posts: 17
Joined: Friday 02 December 2016 9:38
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Kerel » Sunday 03 September 2017 11:55

Madgeni wrote:
Friday 01 September 2017 22:09
that's weird - i'd say it should discover it. It's in a Room Plan right?
Jep, it's in a room plan:

Image

Other devices are working fine:

Image

But Sofa light, TV and dining room light are not discovered..

Kerel
Posts: 17
Joined: Friday 02 December 2016 9:38
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Kerel » Sunday 03 September 2017 13:49

Found the problem:

I have 2 domoticz users: admin and Alexa.
The devices I recenlty added: I forgot to allocate them to the Alexa domoticz user as well...

Image

What about adding a checklist to the topicstart, mentioning all the required steps in case of problems? :)

1. Check if HTTPS port is public accessible
2. Check if the devices are added to a roomplan
3. Check if the user configured in Controlicz has access to the devices withing Domoticz
4. Check if Alexa already ran a rediscovery.
5. etc.

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Sunday 03 September 2017 14:02

or you could read the FAQs ;-)

https://www.controlicz.com/faq
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

Kerel
Posts: 17
Joined: Friday 02 December 2016 9:38
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Kerel » Sunday 03 September 2017 14:07

True ;)
But since I already created the Alexa user, the FAQ didn't remind me of adding the devices to the Alexa domoticz user as well :).

What about an addition to the FAQ?:

To control the device discovery, Controlicz will only discover devices/scenes/Groups that are in Domoticz Room Plans and added to the Alexa domoticz user as well.

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Sunday 03 September 2017 14:09

honestly! Users are a pain :)
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

kaigame
Posts: 7
Joined: Monday 04 September 2017 11:48
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by kaigame » Monday 04 September 2017 11:56

Hi everyone, I'm having lots of fun with Controlicz and Domoticz, finally have the ability to change colour by command, which is working quite well.

A couple quirks, probably due to my lights more than the software, and was wondering if anyone knew of a solution.

I'm using the Milight/limitless RGBW bulbs with the v6 lamp controller. I've also got a RGBWW(v6) bulb but it's not in use at the moment. So have the V5 and V6 added to Domoticz. The RGBW bulb colour wheel is a little off, i believe this is a milight/limitless issue, rather than a Domoticz issue, but it does affect which colours are represented.

If i say: Change lamp colour to Blue, it changes to blue
Red - purple
orange - red
yellow - orange

All of this i can live with, but would be nice if i could 'shift' the colour wheel to match. The big issue i have is white.

If i say Change lamp colour to white, nothing happens at all, it remains on whichever colour it was on prior to the command.
If i say change lamp colour to black, the lamp changes to white and dims the light, i then have to increase the brightness in order to restore the lamp to normal.

Is there an easy fix for this?

Also is the Controlicz ip static? as in can i create a firewall rule to specifically allow traffic from that IP inbound instead of having a hole in my home network? Thanks in advance.

Madgeni
Posts: 430
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Monday 04 September 2017 12:22

Hi - firstly, pleased you're enjoying Controlicz :)

Yep, it's running on one EC2 instance (at the moment, this might change) - so the IP is 35.176.67.167

Re: colours, it does sound like the issue is with the RGBW handling in Domoticz for those lights - however, I confess i've not *really* tested the whites. It's not handled the same way within Alexa that RGB is, and provides degress Kelvin for the white shades, which I then have to convert for the Domoticz API to understand, so it's possible it's my fault :)
I do have a white hue lamp, so will test it and see what happens
Like my code? Want to buy me beer? https://paypal.me/madgeni
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests