Controlicz - Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Alexa, Google Home and Siri
Alcloud
Posts: 10
Joined: Sunday 18 June 2017 22:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Alcloud » Thursday 12 October 2017 19:01

Danke Nick!

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Thursday 12 October 2017 20:11

no problem - so is it working now?
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

Alcloud
Posts: 10
Joined: Sunday 18 June 2017 22:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Alcloud » Thursday 12 October 2017 20:59

Yes, now its working perfect!

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Friday 13 October 2017 18:13

So, not sure how many Indian users there are, but Controlicz is now available natively in India :)
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

dgilbert2
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 16 August 2017 8:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by dgilbert2 » Friday 13 October 2017 22:01

Just setup my new Echo DOT with Controlicz and Domoticz and all worked first time, brilliant, thanks! :D

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Friday 13 October 2017 22:35

phew! Really pleased :)
Can you do me a favour and leave a review? Thanks!
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

hayman
Posts: 26
Joined: Tuesday 15 March 2016 19:08
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Nerthland
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by hayman » Friday 13 October 2017 23:58

Sorry late reaction I'm using. .Com

Swifty
Posts: 77
Joined: Saturday 31 December 2016 22:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Swifty » Saturday 14 October 2017 1:31

Can anyone advise on how I should name my devices in domoticz to get the correct behaviour when using them with Alexa?

Lets say I've the following devices; Livingroom Lamp, Livingroom TV, Livingroom Lights, Bedroom Lamp, Bedroom Temperature, Bedroom Thermostat

I'd like to be able to say 'Alexa, switch on the <room> <device>' - which in the above examples, will mostly work OK.
I'd also like to be able to just say, 'Alexa, switch off the livingroom' and have all the livingroom devices turn off - this is where I'm coming unstuck.. is this possible?

Lastly, how can I make a request 'Alexa, whats the temperature of <room>' ? - the names of these devices make the request sound odd.. eg: 'Alexa, whats the temperature of bedroom temperature'

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 14 October 2017 9:32

hmm it is a pain. Amazon have decided to use fuzzy logic. For the groups, maybe use ' Livingroom Group' - that should work.
Re: Temperature - 'Alexa - what is the bedroom temperature set to?' *should* work
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

bozidar
Posts: 3
Joined: Saturday 09 September 2017 16:17
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by bozidar » Saturday 14 October 2017 9:39

hi all

I would like some inputs towards this as well ,i have played around with controlicz and it works really nice ,but as Swifty is stating it is very "touchy" regarding names. Especially when there is several eg lights in same room you want to be able to control separately.

My initialt test/experiences indicate that names in Domoticz are not that critical ( some of my names are different in domoticz than Alexa due to language at first .but that seems to have helped me a bit ), but they are very critical in the Alexa app.

But if you a simple setup and have say 5 lights/lamps in one room and 1 scene ,naming them can be a challenge ,or at least have been for me.

using same word (like living room) in several names have teased me quite alot.

Furthermore using Phillips Hue there is one additionen naming process that needs to be adressed.

All that is challenging me and have not cracked the code yet.

So any naming inputs are very welcome.

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 14 October 2017 10:01

if you check the Alexa app, is it hearing you correctly when you try and control a specific device?

Also, can you let me know more about your Hue problem?
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

bozidar
Posts: 3
Joined: Saturday 09 September 2017 16:17
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by bozidar » Saturday 14 October 2017 14:56

I am still very new to domoticz ,controlicz and hue.

so issue is likely on my end. But still trying to learn.

Controlicz is an excellent skill and i am very happy with it. It does work very nicely and yes sometimes the issue is my pronunciation.

But i have received many "please give unique name" from Alexa ,which led me to believe i have a Naming issue..

regarding the Philips HUE issue is that i suddenly had 3 different names for same unit. and had not really established a structure thru Domoticz , HUE and Alexa.

But you are stating that parts of name CAN be redundant if just the "string " is unique ?

So i could name my lamps "living room lamp 1-2-3 " and so and it would work ?

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Saturday 14 October 2017 16:01

theoretically yes. That's what Amazon say - but the documentation on the accepted speech/device names is basically missing!

re: Hue - yes, I have the same thing - as i've integrated Hue with Alexa independently, it finds them twice (1 from Hue, 1 from Domoticz) - again, renaming via Alexa_Name is a way of getting round that if you want to keep direct Hue interactions as well
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

dgilbert2
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 16 August 2017 8:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by dgilbert2 » Sunday 15 October 2017 23:48

Review left, thanks again.

dgilbert2
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 16 August 2017 8:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by dgilbert2 » Monday 16 October 2017 23:33

I have added a couple of Scenes to Domoticz and my respective Floorplan which work fine from Domoticzs. I cannot get the Alexa app to "discover" them though? Any suggestions? (All my other devices in the floorplan are discovered without any issues).

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Monday 16 October 2017 23:39

I only discover Room Plans
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

dgilbert2
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 16 August 2017 8:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by dgilbert2 » Tuesday 17 October 2017 11:18

I have added the Scene button to the Room Plan also and it operates from Domticzs. I cannot get Alexa to discover it though?

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Tuesday 17 October 2017 11:26

ok, so that is weird. Can you PM me your email address?
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

dgilbert2
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 16 August 2017 8:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by dgilbert2 » Tuesday 17 October 2017 17:28

Thank you, PM sent and Scene now appeared :-)

Madgeni
Posts: 480
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 18:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Easy Domoticz to Alexa Integration

Post by Madgeni » Tuesday 17 October 2017 19:18

hah! I promise I didn't do anything!
Like Controlicz? Want to help keep the lights on? https://paypal.me/madgeni :)

Native Alexa skill - register at http://www.controlicz.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests