Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post Reply
Tiesco
Posts: 2
Joined: Monday 21 December 2015 12:33
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 2.3530
Contact:

Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post by Tiesco » Monday 21 December 2015 15:11

Hi all,

I've got an AWMR-210 Mini inbouw dimmer (KAKU) but unfortunately I'm not able to connect this to Domoticz (which runs on Raspberry PI2 and RFXtrx433E). I installed the AWMR-210 as per the manual from KAKU and then did a reset. It works when I press the wall switch. However when I push the 'connect button' on the AWMR-210 and try to add the switch to Domoticz it doesn't succeed, nor manually and neither automatically. Manually I used AC as protocol with a unique ID and Unit Code. I really don't know what I'm doing wrong. Maybe the device is broken, however as mentioned the wall switch works as it should.

Is there probably anybody else experiencing the same kind of connection problems with this specific device?

Thanks in anticipation.

User avatar
a3vd
Posts: 67
Joined: Tuesday 25 February 2014 15:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post by a3vd » Monday 21 December 2015 20:33

Use the wall switch to active domoticz, that way you can use both !
Raspberry B / Raspberry B+ / Raspberry 2 / Raspberry 3 / Raspberry 3+
P1 smartcable / RFXtrx433 FW 182 / Several 1 wire Temp Sensors /DHT12
Several Kaku switches/ Weather Underground / Razberry / 2 Everspring 142 dimmers

User avatar
mrf68
Posts: 270
Joined: Monday 23 February 2015 13:45
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.4834
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post by mrf68 » Tuesday 22 December 2015 8:57

a3vd wrote:Use the wall switch to active domoticz, that way you can use both !
Not only can you use both. but also the status of the switch in the GUI of Domoticz will change when the wall switch is used. So try this:

- In Domoticz go to tab Switches
- Click on "Learn Light/Switch
- Press the wall switch to "On"
- When all goes well, Domoticz will show you a screen where you must give the switch a name
- Save this item and you will find it on the Switches tab

From now on you should be able to switch the light with the wall switch and Domoticz.

But you also can manually add the AWMR-210 to Domoticz. You say you have added a switch manually to Domoticz. Press the Learn button on the AWMR-210 and within 15 seconds press the switch in Domoticz. The AWMR-210 should then learn the code that is transmitted by Domoticz and you should be able to use it. But remember, when you turn on the light with the wall switch, Domoticz will in this case not show the switch as "On", but you can turn it "Off" in Domoticz by first pressing it "On" (then nothing should happen because the light is already on) and then pressing it "Off".
But again, the easiest way is to learn Domoticz the code from the wall switch.

Tiesco
Posts: 2
Joined: Monday 21 December 2015 12:33
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 2.3530
Contact:

Re: Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post by Tiesco » Tuesday 22 December 2015 20:43

Thanks for your help but connecting by pressing the wall mount doesn't work. Are you sure this works with a AWMR-210? I thought KAKU devices don't provide a return signal(?).

Unfortunately the second option doesn't work either.

User avatar
mrf68
Posts: 270
Joined: Monday 23 February 2015 13:45
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version: 3.4834
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post by mrf68 » Thursday 24 December 2015 13:02

Hi Tiesco,

I have a AWMR-230 and I assumed that the only difference would be the amount of Watts that it could handle, but I assumed wrong. After further inspection of the information on the site Klikaanklikuit I see another difference. The AWMR-210 has this:

Geschikt om verlichting (gloeilampen en halogeenverlichting) draadloos te dimmen met een zender naar keuze.

So it able to dim a light, but this what it says on the AWMR-230:

Geschikt om gloeilampen en halogeenverlichting draadloos te schakelen met een zender naar keuze.

This product is able to switch a light. What I discovered, is that I can dim a light as well with the AWMR-230. That is why I assumed that with the AWMR-210 this would also be possible, but then again: I'm wrong. I apologize for my incorrect support. As far as I understand now, you cannot switch a light using the AWMR-210, you can only dim it.

Oh, I have to correct myself again. At this moment I read the manual of the AWMR-210 and it says:

8. Draadloos bedienen
1. Druk op de aan-toets om de ontvanger aan te zetten


So it does support on and off switching? It is confusing me, but okay. I can't believe that we will not get it to work, so I will try again. I don't know how to embed little video's, so you have to open them in another tab of your browser. :mrgreen:

Let's start from the beginning. In Domoticz on the Switches tab click Manual Light/Switch.

Image

A window pops up, give your virtual switch a name, set the Switch Type to Dimmer, Type AC, choose any ID and Unit Code, do NOT press Test right now.

Image


First we have to set the dimmer in learning mode. Press the connect button on the AWMR for less than a second and the LED will start blinking.

Image

Instructionvideo 1

During the blinking of the LED, press the Test button. If there is already a light connected to the AWMR then they will go on and off 2 times.

Instructionvideo 2

Then press Add Device and the dimmer will be visible on your Switches tab.

Image

Now when you click somewhere on the slider of the new swicth ....

Instructionvideo 3

... the lights will turn on being dimmed.

Instructionvideo 4

I think I can't make it easier than this. And I hope it will work for you. If it doesn't, please specify exactly at what point it isn't working, otherwise it would be very difficult to troubleshoot.

mrjem
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 27 December 2015 18:54
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post by mrjem » Thursday 28 January 2016 21:22

I have a KaKu AWMR-210 but what ever i try it wond dimm

By mistake i got the wrong one this one cam be integrated in a wall switch but i just want tu build it in by my lamp, so in dont use te external switch wires.
Adding the dimmer to Domoticz works like a charm, i can switch it on and of bij Domoticz but pointing anywhare on the sliderbar dosn't do enything.

the slider bar wont even change, a failer in Domoticz ? my dimmer distroyed ?

i use the latest beta version of domoticz with a RFX E on a rasp pi

robhiddinga
Posts: 1
Joined: Monday 20 August 2018 22:01
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: 4.9700
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Connecting AWMR-210 to Domoticz

Post by robhiddinga » Wednesday 19 September 2018 15:36

I have exact the same issue with an awmr-210 and domoticz(4.97) .
Anyone found the rootcause / a solution?
I do not get same amwr-210 connected to an ics-1000 as well, it only reacts to an old (letter/number) control
Synology 716+II (Domoticz 4.9700) + RFXtrx433E + RPI
Kaku sensors, switches
Flamingo FA21RF
ICY

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest