Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz
Post Reply
przemhb
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 12 September 2018 23:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by przemhb » Thursday 11 October 2018 15:52

I am wondering do I have to manually configure Z-Wave nodes, for example mains powered ones, to act as repeaters for battery powered? If so, then how? By proper grouping them?

Or maybe each Z-Wave node acts as repeater out of box, without any extra configuration?

User avatar
emme
Posts: 901
Joined: Monday 27 June 2016 11:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: latest
Location: Milano, Italy
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by emme » Thursday 11 October 2018 16:38

zwave mesh and routing is normally helded automatically by the controller (the zWave stick itself, not the server)

there are few options you can try to forse routings.... one is healing the network that forse the controller to ping each node and find a better way to communicate with it

another way (for a specific route) is going to the OpenZWaveControl Panel and select operation TEST AND HEAL and select the 2 nodes and HEAL RETURN ROUTES
both of them would take time to complete
The most dangerous phrase in any language is:
"We always done this way"

User avatar
jvdz
Posts: 1423
Joined: Tuesday 30 December 2014 20:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Westland/Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by jvdz » Thursday 11 October 2018 20:52

They will automatically act as router when the device supports that an ddo not need to be configured.

Jos

przemhb
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 12 September 2018 23:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by przemhb » Thursday 11 October 2018 21:04

Thank you for your explanations :)

kimhav
Posts: 104
Joined: Tuesday 01 October 2013 8:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.10053
Location: Malmo, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by kimhav » Thursday 11 October 2018 22:33

You can also verify if this works as it should by checking Setup/Hardware and click on Setup for the Zwave controller and under Node Management/Groups & Network which would provide you a map of the mesh network:

ozw_zwave_mesh_network.png
ozw_zwave_mesh_network.png (118.58 KiB) Viewed 148 times
Member of Domoticz Sweden Telegram Group

przemhb
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 12 September 2018 23:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by przemhb » Thursday 11 October 2018 23:09

In my case it looks like this. Node ID 28 is a newly added light switch. Nodes 18 and 26 are door locks. Node 18 was last time seen on 30.09. Before that time it worked and I got configured notification. Unfortunately it stopped for a reason unknown to me.
Nodes 20-25 are previous instances of the current node 26. I've factory reset and re-included it.
Attachments
zwave-routes.png
zwave-routes.png (116.13 KiB) Viewed 142 times

przemhb
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 12 September 2018 23:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by przemhb » Thursday 11 October 2018 23:13

zwave-sensors.png
zwave-sensors.png (84.3 KiB) Viewed 141 times

kimhav
Posts: 104
Joined: Tuesday 01 October 2013 8:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.10053
Location: Malmo, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by kimhav » Thursday 11 October 2018 23:47

Have you enabled polling for the zwave devices else you'll have some devices going red for sleeping after not receiving an update for a while. I've set my poll interval (under controller settings) to 60 sec.
Member of Domoticz Sweden Telegram Group

przemhb
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 12 September 2018 23:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by przemhb » Friday 12 October 2018 0:16

For nodes 15 and 16 only. I've read it is advised to avoid polling when only it is possible.

User avatar
jvdz
Posts: 1423
Joined: Tuesday 30 December 2014 20:25
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Westland/Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by jvdz » Friday 12 October 2018 9:36

Correct, polling is only needed when the devices shows an issue updating itself.

Jos

kimhav
Posts: 104
Joined: Tuesday 01 October 2013 8:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi
Domoticz version: 4.10053
Location: Malmo, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by kimhav » Friday 12 October 2018 12:18

Agree the polling should be used wise due to the limited bandwidth that the zwave mesh network have and some general guidelines can also be applied:
  • Devices that update their state automatically such as a motion sensor being triggered or a switch turning on do not need to be polled.
  • Devices such as temperature sensors (including those embedded within a motion sensor) may require polling if no option exists to send a report of the sensors state regularly.
  • The Fibaro and Aeotec Multi Sensors all have options to send a report at regular intervals of their temperature, humidity, lux, etc. states. However, by default this option is turned off.
  • Any device that does not have an option to send a regular report a a specific interval will need to be polled.
  • Devices that sleep will ignore polling requests.
Member of Domoticz Sweden Telegram Group

przemhb
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 12 September 2018 23:55
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Do nodes act as repeaters by themselves or need to be configured for this?

Post by przemhb » Tuesday 16 October 2018 23:25

Thank you kimhav for you reply.

How can I delete previous occurrences of a node, which later was included with a new ID? In the screenshot above nodes 20-25 are such an old occurrences of the node 26. The node was factory reset and re-included. Unfortunately each time it the node stayed with old ID in OZW control panel.

I've tried to use the OZW control panel Controller->Remove Device. I've selected a node to be removed and clicked Go button. It changed it's label to Cancel suggesting something is going on, but there was no effect. I've left it overnight. Nothing changed.

The same applies for Remove Failed Node.

Maybe I shouldn't worry about those nodes? I'd be thankful for help on the matter, as this is unclear to me and I cannot find any explanation nowhere.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: morilm and 2 guests